Lesson Plans - EDEL 335 - Elementary Social Studies - Subject Guides at University of Alberta Libraries

Lesson Plans - General

Many of the resources listed in this guide include lesson plans or activities so be sure to look for a "For Teachers" or similar section!

Teaching Indigenous History & Culture (FNMI) / Indigenizing Instruction

Alberta Education and others are providing teachers with lesson plans to help bring First Nations, Métis and Inuit history and contributions to life in classrooms across the province.

Sample Lesson Plans from Learn Alberta
Includes samples for ELA, Art, Science and Social
Education for Reconciliation
FNMI Education - Alberta Education
Understanding and Finding Our Way – Decolonizing Canadian Education All Canadians are responsible for reconciliation. Teachers have a unique opportunity to contribute by advocating for change to eliminate inequity and racism. Understanding and Finding Our Way – Decolonizing Canadian Education is a powerful film that exposes education inequities within public education in Canada. It challenges viewers to help decolonize education so that all students can succeed. The film was produced by Dr. Verna St. Denis, an internationally renowned scholar in anti-racist education. It was directed by award-winning filmmaker Alison Duke following appropriate protocols and under the guidance of Elder Mary Lee. The 32-minute film is divided into three parts.
Secret Path Lesson Plans
From The Manitoba Teachers' Society.
Guiding Voices: A Curriculum Development Tool for Inclusion of First Nation, Métis and Inuit Perspectives Throughout Curriculum
Association of Canadian Deans of Education Accord on Indigenous Education
Empowering the Spirit: Classroom Supports
Lesson Plans - Rupertsland Institute
RLI’s Education Team has developed engaging lesson plans based on the Five Foundational Knowledge Themes.

First Nations, Metis and Inuit Teacher Resources

High interest Aboriginal theme book strategies
Call Number: LB 1575 S59 2009

Cree language and culture kindergarten to grade 12 : Alberta authorized resource list and annotated bibliography
This list contains Cree language and culture resources that have been authorized for use in
Alberta schools. Alberta Education selects and authorizes the best possible instructional
materials for the implementation of approved programs of study. The resource authorization
categories are student basic, student support or teaching, and the status is noted for each
resource.
Education Is Our Buffalo: A Teachers’ Resource for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Education in Alberta
First Nations, Métis and Inuit Education (FNMI) - Alberta Education
First Nations Children's Action Research and Education Service (FNCARES)
Our Words, Our Ways: Teaching First Nations, Métis and Inuit Learners
This resource was developed in collaboration with the Aboriginal Learning Services department of Edmonton Catholic Schools. The resource provides information about First Nations, Métis and Inuit (FNMI) cultures and perspectives, and sample strategies for meeting the needs and recognizing the gifts of FNMI students.
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada - Teaching Resources
Prairie Indigenous Ebook Collection (via Edmonton Public Library)
The first of its kind in Canada, the Prairie Indigenous eBook Collection increases access to books by Indigenous authors and writings about Indigenous culture. Over two hundred eBooks published on the prairies are available to all Albertans, with no holds, through the province’s public library systems. (Text from readalberta.ca.)
U of A staff and students can access EPL services including ebooks (regardless of geographic location) with the L-Pass.
Edmonton Public Library Indigenous Collection
The Aboriginal Collection at EPL focuses on materials written, performed and/or produced by Aboriginal Peoples.
Walking Together
First Nations, Metis and Inuit perspectives in Curriculum.
The Virtual Museum of Metis History and Culture
Gabrielle Dumont Institute of Native Studies and Research
Four Directions Teachings
Four Directions Teachings is a visually stunning audio narrated resource for learning about indigenous knowledge and philosophy from five diverse First Nations in Canada.
100 Years of Loss Timeline
Residential Schools History and Information
First Nations Education Resources - Teacher Resources
Teacher's Resource Guide for Honouring the Buffalo: A Plains Cree Legend
This teacher’s resource guide provides a variety of activities to help young readers (Grades 2 to 5)
discover and appreciate the cultural importance of the buffalo to the Indigenous people
of the Plains. The proposed exercises were chosen to permit students to understand
better the importance and place occupied by the venerable buffalo in the culture of the
Plains Cree people.
Deepening Knowledge
Infusing Aboriginal Perspectives into Your Teaching Practice. University of Toronto.
First Nations, Métis and Inuit Playlist
Educational & Curriculum Video. McIntyre Media Inc.
Promising Practices in Supporting Success for Indigenous Students
Indigenous peoples are diverse, within and across nations. However, the Indigenous peoples have experienced colonisation processes that have undermined Indigenous young people’s access to their identity, language and culture. Published by OECD.
Native-Land.ca
interactive map allows you to see what the languages, traditional territories, and treaties in an area.
Empowering the Spirit: Educational Resources to Support Reconciliation
This website provides support for all levels within school jurisdictions to increase awareness, understanding and application of First Nations, Métis and Inuit histories, perspectives and ways of knowing for the purpose of implementing treaty and residential schools education and Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action for education.
Alberta Education: Applying Foundational Knowledge
This foundational knowledge about First Nations, Métis and Inuit is critical for teachers, school leaders and education stakeholders to understand and apply new ways of knowing necessary to advance reconciliation and shift thinking and attitudes. It will also help to ensure the education system continues to build capacity to include First Nations, Métis and Inuit perspectives in the classroom and curriculum.
more...less...
Competency 5 in the Teaching Quality Standard document.
Inviting Indigenous Speakers to Class
FNMI Edukits
FNMI artifacts, clothing, traditional foods, examples of modes of transportation, & games - all mini sized. Includes recorded music, too.
Rupert's Land Teaching and Learning Resources
esson plans designed to support and build Alberta educators’ competency to meet the new Alberta Teacher Quality Standard.
Cree Dictionary of Mathematical Terms for Elementary Classes
Resources for Learning Blackfoot
Indigenous Perspectives in Science
Inuvialuit Digital Library
Includes Text, Audio, Video, Image, and Language
Collections from the Inuvialuit Cultural Centre.
more...less...
In May 1998, the Inuvialuit Cultural Resource Centre (now the Inuvialuit Cultural Centre) opened as a regional centre in Tuktoyaktuk with the following mandate:

- Preserve the Inuvialuktun language with the assistance of elders.
- Provide support and a language curriculum for Inuvialuktun teachers.
- Promote the on-going development of the Inuvialuktun language.

Alberta Distance Learning Centre (ADLC)

Send an email to info@adlc.ca including a photo of your ONEcard and ask to be registered in the "non affiliated category". The account will provide you with view-only access to ADLC curriculum materials.

AB Teacher Sharing Sites

Engaging Students - Black Gold School Division
Includes links to resources & some exemplars/lesson planning materials for Social Studies grades 1-9, and Division IV (grades 10-12). Also includes a "resources and templates" section.

Critical Challenges

Summaries of the Critical Challenges

Digital & Media Literacy

Alberta Assessment Consortium

Alberta Assessment Consortium
Includes authentic performance assessments, rubric materials, scaffolding materials, and sefl-directed PD resources.
- Click on 'Login' in the upper right hand corner
- First time users, must select the 'Create Account' link option and use a @ualberta.ca email address to create an account.