Supporting Materials - EDEL 335 - Elementary Social Studies - Subject Guides at University of Alberta Libraries

Social Studies Literature Connections

Social Studies Literature Connections (K–12) This resource contains bibliographical information and annotations for a selection of books organized by grade. A template for screening literature connections for social studies is included; teachers can use this to identify literature, videos, pictures, and music samples that best meet the learning outcomes of the Social Studies program of studies.

Library Puppets

Our puppet collection includes multicultural and occupation puppets, as well as traditional aboriginal folktale characters that could be used to support some Elementary Social Studies unit/lesson plans.

Check out the subject guide to learn more.

Puppets Puppets Puppets

Teaching Using Historical Fiction

"Dear Canada" Series
"Dear Canada" series website - Scholastic
Includes activities and teacher resources.
"I am Canada" Series

All About Canada - Scholastic Books Scholastic books about Canada. Search the library catalogue by title to find it at the Coutts Library.

Book Banks

CCBC Teacher's Book Bank
These titles in CCBC Teacher's Book Bank may be used by teachers to introduce topics and themes in Canadian history and by students carrying out research projects. Many of the books also offer opportunities for cross-curricular connections in language arts, geography, the arts, science and other subjects. In most cases, publishers have indicated specific grade levels and age ranges to guide selection.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find children's literature by theme, grade/age, etc. See the tip sheet below for more details.
TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of instructional and enrichment resources focused on children's and young adult books. Contains author and illustrator interviews, teaching ideas, lesson plans, book trailers, vocabulary and pronunciation help, audiobook performances, and more. Covers tens of thousands of books with new ones added regularly.

Resources by Topic

Combine your subject keyword terms with JUVENILE to limit to resources appropriate for K-12 when you search the Library Catalogue.

Juvenile Literature = non-fiction
Juvenile Fiction = fiction
Juvenile = fiction and non-fiction

Check the Catalogue Only box to search for books, ebooks, and other items in our collection (but not journal articles).

Try the Advanced Search to combine more keyword terms (scroll down toward the bottom of the page to check the Catalog Only box).

Elementary Social Studies Subject Keyword Terms

FNMI Edukits

FNMI Edukits contain FNMI artifacts, clothing, traditional foods, examples of modes of transportation, & games - all mini sized. Includes recorded music, too.

First Nations, Metis and Inuit Children's Books

Diverse Books Toolkit (TeachingBooks)
As you infuse diverse, inclusive, and culturally relevant materials into fiction and nonfiction reading experiences, this toolkit helps analyze collections, identify and bring to life diverse texts, and encourage reflection on cultural representation.
Children’s and young adult books about residential schools
This list is a starting point to discovering resources on the topic of residential schools for children and young adults.
From Sea to Sea to Sea: Celebrating Indigenous Picture Books
2021 Edition - 25 of the best Indigenous picture books published in Canada between 2018–2020 were selected for this collection.
more...less...
“The previous edition of the collection was released in 2018 and contains 100 picture books by First Nations, Métis, and Inuit authors and illustrators. The 2018 edition of the catalogue is also available for download.” (Text from IBBY Canada website.)
Books to Build On: Indigenous Literatures for Learning
Interactive web resource designed to assist educators with weaving Indigenous ways of knowing, being, and doing into their teaching and learning, starting with story. Audience: preservice and professional teachers.
FNESC - Authentic First Peoples Resources for Use in K-9 Classrooms
The annotated listings provided in this guide identify currently available authentic First Peoples texts that students can work with to meet educational standards related to literacy as well as a variety of specific subject areas.
Hear Our Stories: Celebrating First nations, Metis & Inuit Literature
Book Week 2015 Theme Guide. Each annotation provides age ranges and grade levels recommending the suggested audience for each book.
K-12 Infusing Indigenous Texts in the Classroom - Annotated Booklists
Annotated book lists from the Alberta Regional Professional Development Consortia (ARPDC) featuring recommended titles for students in our local context.
Taanishi series - Metis Language and Culture
Leveled reading series featuring the Michif language and culture for elementary readers.
Under One Sun Series
Invites Kindergarten-Grade 8 students and teachers to connect with Indigenous history, culture and perspectives. See the website: https://school.nelson.com/under-one-sun/
Aboriginal-Themed Books for Kids & Teens
Canadian Children's Book Centre themed list.
Aboriginal Literatures in Canada: A Teacher’s Resource Guide
The narrative comments along with the annotated bibliographies and related reading lists, explanations, interpretations, and suggestions are meant to encourage teachers to find their own voice in teaching Aboriginal literatures, engage in a dialogue with these texts, and bring in their own background.
Indigenous Reads Rising - Book Lists
Our book lists showcase the diversity of Native children’s books. Arranged by topic and age category, the lists are intended to introduce readers and educators to Native books they may not have known about.