Subject Guides: ESG (Environmental, Social, Governance): Sustainability/Social Responsibility

CSR Reports

Corporate Register
A "global online directory of corporate responsibility (CR) reports past and present". Free registration required.
Sustainability Disclosure Database (Global Reporting Initiative)
Corporate sustainability reports, 1999- .
Not all reports are available in full-text. Another option is to search for the report in Corporate Register (free registration required).

Sustainalytics: Historical Datasets
Sustainalytics contains social and environmental profiles of companies in the TSX (Toronto Stock Exchange) Composite Index.

Available datasets:
• 2004-2008 (under former title Canadian Social Investment Database)
• 2009-2011
• 2012-2015

PLEASE NOTE: UofA access to the complete, online Sustainalytics database has unfortunately been cancelled, due to an ongoing access issue with the publisher.
S&P Capital IQ Pro
Access to financial data, news, and analytics for real estate investment trusts (REITs), industry data on bank & thrifts, financial services, insurance, energy assets, real estate in North America and other markets.

The Aftermarket Research (AMR) module provides access to analyst research reports from hundreds of global investment research providers, including top-ranked investment banks such as Citi, Credit Suisse, Barclays, UBS, J.P. Morgan, HSBC, and Deutsche Bank.
MSCI ESG Direct
Also known as: ESG Research|Global Socrates Provides ratings and analysis of key ESG (environmental, social and governance) factors for global companies and enables comparison of companies within their industry sectors. Includes 4 MSCI ESG collections: AGR, BISR, Controversies, and Ratings-Equities

Reports (Corporate Knights)
Links to a number of publications/indexes including: Global 100. The world's most sustainable corporations, Best 50 corporate citizens in Canada and Sustainable Stock Exchanges.
CR Reporting Awards (CorporateRegister.com)
Managed by CorporateRegister.com, the annual, global CR reporting awards "identify and acknowledge the best in corporate non-financial reporting".
CDP Program Reports (CDP)
CDP collects corporate environmental information from a number of companies and cities throughout the world. The information is then used to produce global and country specific reports under the headings: climate, supply chain, cities, water and forests.
The open data portal links to related datasets.
KPMG Survey of Sustainability Reporting (KPMG)
Print: 2008 - 2017
SASB - Sustainability Accounting Standards Board
SASB Standards help companies disclose relevant sustainability information to their investors. Available for 77 industries, the SASB Standards identify the sustainability-related risks and opportunities most likely to affect an entity’s cash flows, access to finance and cost of capital over the short, medium or long term and the disclosure topics and metrics that are most likely to be useful to investors.