Geospatial Data

For years, users have relied on the Canadian Digital Elevation Model (CDEM) and the Canadian Digital surface model (CDSM) for medium resolution elevation data, essential for various applications such as regional hydrologic modelling. Now, as part of the National Elevation Data Strategy, Natural Resources Canada is introducing the Medium Resolution Digital Elevation Model (MRDEM) – a cutting-edge geospatial dataset created to enhance nationwide elevation analysis. This new product, part of the CanElevation Series, includes aligned Digital Surface Model (DSM) and Digital Terrain Model (DTM) at 30 meters resolution. A new chapter begins with the Medium Resolution DEM. Let’s explore its features and benefits! Figure 1. Comparison of terrain models derived hillshade over Ghost Lake, west of Cochrane, Alberta. Left image shows the Canadian Digital Elevation Model derived hillshade. The right image shows the Medium Resolution Digital Elevation Model derived hillshade. Updated and Improved Accuracy The MRDEM represents a significant update over its predecessor, the CDEM. While the CDEM relied on older data sources, the MRDEM incorporates more recent and accurate elevation data from the Copernicus Digital Elevation Model and lidar. The Copernicus data, based on satellite imagery collected between 2011 and 2015, offers improved accuracy and more recent data. Where available, High Resolution Digital Terrain models from lidar collected between 2006 and 2023 were seamlessly integrated into the digital terrain model within MRDEM by down sampling the high-resolution data to match the MRDEM's resolution. These localized data enhance accuracy for specific regions, currently covering approximately 93% of the population. Integrating Copernicus and lidar data ensures that the MRDEM better reflects recent natural and human-caused changes in Canada's landscape. Figure 2. Extent of both data sources used to create the Medium Resolution Digital Elevation Model. Vertical datum and integration Referenced to the Canadian Geodetic Vertical Datum of 2013 (CGVD2013), the MRDEM seamlessly integrates with other 3D Canadian datasets. This compatibility streamlines workflows for researchers, engineers and GIS professionals by reducing discrepancies caused by datum differences. Coast-to-Coast-to-Coast Coverage From the rugged Rockies to the serene Maritimes and all the way up to the Arctic coast, the MRDEM provides comprehensive coverage across Canada. With its robust vertical datum, the new model effectively manages local variations from the lower sea levels up to the highest peaks. Whether you’re studying urban landscapes or remote wilderness, this dataset has you covered! Figure 3. Coverage extent of the Medium Resolution Digital Elevation Model. Facilitating Cross-Border Hydrological Studies Just like natural hydrological features, the MRDEM seamlessly encompasses areas beyond Canada's borders. From now on, researchers can easily improve watershed analysis with consistent data resolution for transboundary studies. Explore it’s potential via an interactive map. For more information, email geoinfo@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca.

The Canada Flood Map Inventory (CFM) now contains the first 11 studies funded by the Flood Hazard Identification and Mapping Program (FHIMP). Additionally, it includes eight studies funded by the National Disaster Mitigation Program (NDMP), which concluded in 2022. The latest update to the inventory boasts a total of 33 new studies, covering 54 study areas. This layer identifies the owners of flood maps and contains references to official data. Figure 1. Canada Flood Map Inventory. New data is represented by red dots, and existing data by green dots.   This update encompasses several major cities and communities, such as Charlottetown (PE), Saskatoon (SK), Nisga'a Nation (BC) and Langley (BC). An overview of Prince Edward Island's hazards is now mapped and available via the Climate Hazard and Risk Information System interactive mapping portal (CHRIS, Figure 2). Figure 2. Flood map coverage for Prince Edward Island.   Data availability values have also been simplified. The updated version now features two statuses: fully or partially accessible to the public, and not accessible to the public. It is also now possible to see whether the study is finalized or under review. The study status and data availability were used for the symbology (Figure 3). The purple color indicates that the study status is final, while the orange color indicates that it is under review. The grid pattern represents data that is partially or fully accessible to the public, whereas the dotted lines indicate data that is not accessible to the public. Figure 3. Difference in symbology between the final (mauve) or under review (orange) status of studies and the accessibility of partially or fully accessible data (grid) or not accessible data (dotted line) to the public.  --> Figure 3. Difference in symbology between the final (mauve) or under review (orange) status of studies and the accessibility of partially or fully accessible data (grid) or not accessible data (dotted line) to the public.   The publication of these first studies marks a significant milestone for the FHIMP. By adding this data, the program enhances our understanding of flood hazards across Canada, thus contributing to better prevention and mitigation strategies. As more studies are completed and added to the inventory, the program will continue to play a crucial role in safeguarding Canadians against flood hazards. For more information, please email geoinfo@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca.

The Canada Centre for Mapping and Earth Observation has released its Indigenous Engagement Guidelines for Flood Mapping, which seeks to inform officials, scientists, public servants and practitioners about the best ways to engage Indigenous communities in flood mapping projects. This includes guidance on communicating with Indigenous community representatives, best practices for developing effective working relationships, and help clarifying responsibilities outlined by Canadian law and policy surrounding projects taking place on traditional territory. An important part of Natural Resources Canada's work is its commitment to truth and reconciliation. The Indigenous Engagement Guidelines for Flood Mapping offers a clarifying direction on the nuances of creating effective project plans, and establishing jointly beneficial working relationships with Indigenous communities, governments, and organizations. Indigenous communities are disproportionately affected by floods and that risk is increasing. The Guidelines represent a starting point for building trust, demonstrating transparency, and empowering each other towards shared success amidst a complicated socio-political landscape which includes many layers of governments, organizations and agencies. While designed with engineering, mapping, and policy practitioners in mind, these core principles can be used by anyone in a similar field or those wanting to learn more about Indigenous Engagement. What do the guidelines cover?

• Intercultural considerations and Guiding Principles that establish expectations between communities and government officials around who, what, where, and when to engage
• The five stages of an Indigenous Engagement Process: Identify, Share Information, Contact, Maintain Relationship and Follow Up with Results
• Methods to include traditional knowledge into project design and engaging with diverse community members including elders, youth, government officials
• Strategies to create a single point of contact and facilitate properly even with limited resources
• Incorporating principles like ownership, control, access, and possession (OCAP® ) and Free, Prior, and Informed Consent during Information Sharing
• A history of court rulings, legislation, and policy decisions showcasing Government-Indigenous relations that inform roles and responsibilities of the parties

For more information, please email geoinfo@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca.