Search Archival Collections
- Papers of Sir Joseph Banks (also available on microfiche: History of Science and Technology. Series Two: The Papers of Sir Joseph Banks, 1743-1820 -description and location)
- Papers of Lord Sandwich, 1718-1792, Papers of Sir Edmund Barton, etc.
- Trove: Diaries, Archives, Letters
Finding Primary Sources: Search the Library and the Library Catalogue
Use the bibliographies in your secondary sources (historical analyses).
Search the Library for a historical figure or institution and combine with relevant keywords. Examples:
Search the Library (advanced search) and include subject keywords that describe the type of document, such as:
- diaries, letters, correspondence, "personal narratives"
- speeches, addresses
- documents, sources
- "description and travel"
Search the Library example: "Islands of the Pacific" diaries
Find Government Information
Library guide to British Government Information
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (Great Britian)
Sessional papers, sometimes called blue books, were required for the work of the House of Commons, providing information on matters of policy and administration, and ordered by the House to be printed. House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) includes digital versions of these sessional papers for the 18th century forward. - Index to British parliamentary papers on Australia and New Zealand, 1800-1899 - DU 110 I68 1974
- Irish University Press series of British parliamentary papers GOV DOC UK1 X8 S45 C53
→Irish University Press series of British parliamentary papers. Colonies: Australia - DU 96 I76 1969
→Irish University Press series of British parliamentary papers. Colonies: New Zealand - DU 408 I75 1969
→Irish University Press series of British parliamentary papers. Anthropology: Aborigines - JV 1035 I75 1970
Library Guide to Government Information
- Australian Legal Information Institute - includes some historical publications, eg:
- Victorian Government Gazettes 1851-1999 - includes the Gazettes for New South Wales (1836-1851) and Gazettes for Port Phillip (1843-1851) - Geological Survey of South Australia. Bulletin. 1912-1926
QE 345 A4 no.1-12, 1912-1926 - Research and Collections Resource Facility (RCRF)
- Government of New South Wales State Records - includes index to Convict Records
- Index to the Colonial Secretary's Papers, 1788-1825: Index only. The following parts of this collection are available on microfilm in Rutherford Library North on the second floor at: DU 177 A97 2002: I. Letters Sent 1808-1825; II. Special bundles (topic collections), proclamations, orders and related records, 1789-1825; III. Letters received 1788-1825 . - Search in the Library Catalogue. Example searches:
- Australia and Royal Commission
- Author starting with: South Australia
- Author starting with: New South Wales
- Advanced Search: Author: Australia and Title:Report or Bulletin and Year: [limit by date range, eg: 1900-1930]
Find Newspaper Articles
Trove: Historical Newspapers and more
Gale News Vault
Covers Newspaper collections from the 17th through 21s centuries
Primary Sources: Selected Collections in Books
- On the Missionary Trail: : a journey through Polynesia, Asia, and Africa with the London Missionary Society Following the industrial revolution of the late eighteenth century, Christians in the West began concerted efforts to spread their faith across the globe. On the Missionary Trail is the story of two men sent to places as far-flung as the Kalahari, Tahiti, and Canton to track the spread of Christianity. For eight years, George Tyerman and Daniel Bennet braved storms, pirates, tigers, and powerful but intractable local leaders to chart the success of the London Missionary Society's thirty-year endeavor. A remarkable account of faith and bravery, On the Missionary Trail is a unique addition to the literature of the missionary encounter.
- The Story of the south seas byPublication Date: 1894
- Colonial Australia, 1788-1840Call Number: DU 115 C95 1980
- Colonial Eve : sources on women in Australia, 1788-1914Call Number: HQ 1822 C72 1978
- To try her fortune in London : Australian women, colonialism, and modernityCall Number: HQ 1822 W664 2001