Other Useful eBooks
World Water Crisis by
Earth - the blue planet - is a world more than half covered by oceans, its poles capped with ice sheets and its atmosphere laden with moisture. Yet, in the last decade, water resources planners have frequently signalled an impending water crisis. The message is that the world is running out of water and that only by careful planning and the adoption of integrated water resources management can catastrophe be avoided. _x000D__x000D_In his impressive new work, Stephen Brichieri-Colombi challenges these perceptions over global freshwater availability. He maintains that the crisis is one of resource management rather than availability: it arises because water resource planners advocate exploitation of rivers without due regard to social, environmental and geopolitical consequences. Without an overarching political framework integrated water resource management fails on international rivers, its holy grail of optimality is illusory, and the benefits of basinwide co-operation over bilateral co-operation are minimal. The author advances a new paradigm - water in the national economy - which focuses upon improved domestic water management and the benefits from regional rather than basinwide co-operation. The approach combines insights from a wide range of disciplines and reveals how policies that favour family planning, urbanisation, improved diets, rain-fed farming, economic growth, food imports for cities and improved water-use efficiency can enable developing countries to meet future food and water demands without increasing abstraction from rivers and consequential riparian conflict. _x000D__x000D_Combining technical expertise with a wealth of experience, The World Water Crisis: the Failures of Resource Management offers a lucid and powerful re-appraisal of the development of global water resources. It will command the interest of professionals, policy makers, researchers and academics involved in the practicalities and politics of global water issues.
ISBN: 9780857718020
Building Safer Communities. Risk Governance, Spatial Planning and Responses to Natural Hazards by
A collection of essays that discusses the directions and key components of risk governance. It also includes the analysis of proactive approaches to the governance of risk from natural hazards, and approaches to broaden the scope of public policies related to the management of risks from natural hazards.
ISBN: 9781607505105
A Companion to Health and Medical Geography by
This Companion provides a comprehensive account of health and medical geography and approaches the major themes and key topics from a variety of angles. Offers a unique breadth of topics relating to both health and medical geography Includes contributions from a range of scholars from rising stars to established, internationally renowned authors Provides an up-to-date review of the state of the sub-discipline Thematically organized sections offer detailed accounts of specific issues and combine general overviews of the current literature with case study material Chapters cover topics at the cutting edge of the sub-discipline, including emerging and re-emerging diseases, the politics of disease, mental and emotional health, landscapes of despair, and the geography of care
ISBN: 9781444314779
Streaming Video
- Latest ThinkingLatest Thinking is an open-access video journal that provides summaries of research findings from several branches of academics, including biology, physics, chemistry, life sciences, physical sciences, and more.
Key eBook/Collections
While individual titles in these collections can be found in the catalog, accessing these collections directly allows you to search the full-text of all titles in the collection simultaneously:
- The National Academies PressAccess to over 5,000 titles from the U.S. National Academies of Sciences and Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.
- Oxford Reference Online PremiumAn interdisciplinary collections of over 280 dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks from Oxford University Press, including a number of titles in the Social Sciences.
- Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary collection of over 4,600 Oxford University Press books.
- ScienceDirectJournals and e-books published by Elsevier. The "Advanced Search" fuction will allow you to limit your search to e-books only.
- Springer Nature Link (formerly SpringerLink)Complete Springer eBook collection from 2005 to present. The "Advanced Search" fuction will allow you to limit your search to e-books only
- Taylor & Francis eBooksPlease note Taylor & Francis eBooks may not be available from off-campus. We are working with the vendor to resolve the access problems. Please contact the library for an alternate access route. Taylor & Francis eBooks now include the CRC Press ebook collections (formerly CRCnetBASE).
Theses and Dissertations
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of Alberta This content of this database is a subset of Dissertations and Theses Global, covering University of Alberta publications from 1954 through 2014. Full text is available for many, but not all, titles. NOTE: UofA no longer contributes content to this database. See also: Electronic Theses and Dissertations (University of Alberta).
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index Also known as:|Dissertations and Theses Global|. Includes contributions from North American graduate schools and European universities. Coverage begins with the first U.S. dissertation accepted in 1861. UofA theses and dissertations are included from 1954 through 2014, with full text available for many, but not all, titles. NOTE: UofA no longer contributes content to this database.
- Theses Canada Portal This site is a collaboration between Library and Archives Canada and Canadian universities. It provides free access to the full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
Check out this library guide for more Dissertations & Theses
Reference Books
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography, Second Edition, Fourteen Volume Set embraces diversity by design and captures the ways in which humans share places and view differences based on gender, race, nationality, location and other factors--in other words, the things that make people and places different. Questions of, for example, politics, economics, race relations and migration are introduced and discussed through a geographical lens. This updated edition will assist readers in their research by providing factual information, historical perspectives, theoretical approaches, reviews of literature, and provocative topical discussions that will stimulate creative thinking. Presents the most up-to-date and comprehensive coverage on the topic of human geography Contains extensive scope and depth of coverage Emphasizes how geographers interact with, understand and contribute to problem-solving in the contemporary world Places an emphasis on how geography is relevant in a social and interdisciplinary context
The International Encyclopedia of Geography: People, the Earth, Environment, and Technology
Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. Available as a robust online resource and as a 15-volume full-color print set, the Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world. Contains more than 1,000 entries ranging from 1,000 to 10,000 words offering accessible introductions to basic concepts, sophisticated explanations of complex topics, and information on geographical societies around the world Assembles a truly global group of more than 900 scholars hailing from over 40 countries, for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world Provides definitive coverage of the field, encompassing human geography, physical geography, geographic information science and systems, earth studies, and environmental science Brings together interdisciplinary perspectives on geographical topics and techniques of interest across the social sciences, humanities, science, and medicine Features full color throughout the print version and more than 1,000 illustrations and photographs Annual updates to online edition
The Dictionary of Human Geography
With clear, critical, and constructive surveys of key terms by leading researchers in the field, "The Dictionary of Human Geography," fifth edition, remains the definitive guide to the concepts and debates in human geography. Comprehensively revised new edition of a highly successful text with over 300 key terms appearing for the first time Situates Human Geography within the humanities, social sciences and sciences as a whole Written by leading experts in the field Major entries not only describe the development of concepts, contributions and debates in Human Geography but also advance them Features a new consolidated bibliography along with a detailed index and systematic cross-referencing of headwords
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods
Qualitative research is designed to explore the human elements of a given topic, while specific qualitative methods examine how individuals see and experience the world. Qualitative approaches are typically used to explore new phenomena and to capture individuals' thoughts, feelings, or interpretations of meaning and process. Such methods are central to research conducted in education, nursing, sociology, anthropology, information studies, and other disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and health sciences. Qualitative research projects are informed by a wide range of methodologies and theoretical frameworks. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. In taking an interdisciplinary approach, these two volumes target a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more--all without overwhelming the informed reader. Key Features Defines and explains core concepts, describes the techniques involved in the implementation of qualitative methods, and presents an overview of qualitative approaches to research Offers many entries that point to substantive debates among qualitative researchers regarding how concepts are labeled and the implications of such labels for how qualitative research is valued Guides readers through the complex landscape of the language of qualitative inquiry Includes contributors from various countries and disciplines that reflect a diverse spectrum of research approaches from more traditional, positivist approaches, through postmodern, constructionist ones Presents some entries written in first-person voice and others in third-person voice to reflect the diversity of approaches that define qualitative work Key Themes Approaches and Methodologies Arts-Based Research, Ties to Computer Software Data Analysis Data Collection Data Types and Characteristics Dissemination History of Qualitative Research Participants Quantitative Research, Ties to Research Ethics Rigor Textual Analysis, Ties to Theoretical and Philosophical Frameworks The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods is designed to appeal to undergraduate and graduate students, practitioners, researchers, consultants, and consumers of information across the social sciences, humanities, and health sciences, making it a welcome addition to any academic or public library.
