Databases with Indigenous and Business Content
- iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research ToolClick on the Economic Development heading to find information on Business, Co-Management, Economic Development, Entrepreneurship, Gaming, Land,
Natural Resources, Tourism, Trade - Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)CBCA is an excellent resource for searching for material about Canada, including Canadian First Nations people
Citing Business Sources Using APA?
Use our Tough Stuff guide to help you cite difficult business sources!
Business Research
REMEMBER! Business research is different from other disciplines--it has many facets and you will need to use several resources to get a complete picture. There is no "magic database" that will have everything you need in one place.
Business Primary and Secondary Research
Most business research requires both primary and secondary research.
Primary research is new research, carried out to answer specific issues or questions. It can involve questionnaires, surveys or interviews with individuals or small groups.
Secondary research makes use of information previously researched for other purposes & publicly available. Market research reports, articles, demographics--any information NOT INITIALLY COLLECTED by you. Library resources are secondary research.
Read "The Difference Between Primary and Secondary Research" (The Balance: Small Business) for more information.
Company Information
- Suggested Database ListA link to the Suggested Databases list, which are often useful across a variety of company information needs.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides the full text of newspapers from around the world in addition to Canadian and American newspapers, Dow Jones & Reuters newswires, business journals, market research reports, analyst reports and web sites. Factiva also provides American congressional committee hearings, publications of selected U.S. government departments and agencies, The Federal Register and state laws and regulations, publications of U.S. government watchdog organizations, and selected international government publications.
- i3 (Cleantech) This link opens in a new windowAlso known as: |Cleantech i3| Database of thousands of clean technology companies, investors and executives. Provides instant updates on clean technology investments, IPOs, mergers, acquisitions, business relationships, and other financing activity. Clients have full access to the searchable, filterable, and exportable database of cleantech investment data going back to 2005.
- MSCI ESG DirectAlso known as: ESG Research|Global Socrates Provides ratings and analysis of key ESG (environmental, social and governance) factors for global companies and enables comparison of companies within their industry sectors. Includes 4 MSCI ESG collections: AGR, BISR, Controversies, and Ratings-Equities
Articles & News
- Orbis M&A (formerly Zephyr)
A comprehensive database of deal information (M&A, IPO, private equity and venture capital deals), with pan-European transactions dating back to 1997 and US deals from 2001, including integrated links to detailed financial company information.
Books & eBooks
- Indigenous business in Canada : principles and practices byCall Number: Internet AccessPublication Date: 2016
- Indigenous Wellbeing and Enterprise byCall Number: Internet AccessISBN: 9780429329029Publication Date: 2020
- Indigenous writes: A guide to First Nations, Métis, and Inuit issues in Canada byCall Number: Internet AccessISBN: 9781553797043Publication Date: 2016
- The reconciliation manifesto: Recovering the land, rebuilding the economy byCall Number: E 92 M359 2017Publication Date: 2017