Subject Guides: International Business & Trade: Doing Business / Risk

Country Credit Ratings

Sovereigns Ratings List (S&P)
Most recent ratings only. Registration required.
Credit Ratings - Country List (Trading Economics)
Current S&P, Moody's, Fitch and T(rading)E(conomics) ratings.

Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the Search menu, select Entities and then use the Sector (Sovereigns & Supranationals) and Geography tabs to view ratings by country.
To access Fitch Connect
- Click on the “Access Database” button above
- Click on “SSO”
- Enter “universityofalberta” (not case-sensitive) as the Organization ID
- Click on “Continue” and this will redirect you to the CCID login page to verify your credentials
- Log in with your CCID
- Select the “Terms of Use” and “Privacy Policy”
- Click “Accept” to access the database

Doing Business

Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
provides business information on global markets. The BMI database includes a range of information that Provides business information on global markets. The database includes analysis of political risk, finance, macroeconomic performance, outlook and forecasting, industry sectors and the business operating environment.
To access Fitch Connect
- Click on the “Access Database” button above
- Click on “SSO”
- Enter “universityofalberta” (not case-sensitive) as the Organization ID
- Click on “Continue” and this will redirect you to the CCID login page to verify your credentials
- Log in with your CCID
- Select the “Terms of Use” and “Privacy Policy”
- Click “Accept” to access the database
Economist Intelligence Unit: EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The EIU database includes Viewswire service provides economic, business, political, regulatory information by country, including forecasts. And, includes Country Reports that examines in depth the issues that shape nations: the politics, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments.
IMD World Competitiveness Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as: |World Competitiveness Online| Online version of The World Competitiveness Yearbook (WCY), an annual report on the competitiveness of nations, ranking and analyzing how a nations environment creates and sustains the competitiveness of enterprises.
EMIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EMIS includes country profiles, macroeconomic statistics, economic forecasts and analysis, industry market research reports from various sources like Mordor Intelligence, Mira Inform and Renub Research, company and financial market reports, analyst reports and business news. To access the institutional log in for this database, click "Client Log In" in the top right corner.

globalEDGE (Michigan State University)
Site which covers international information, statistics, links, trade research by country and trading block.
Global Competitiveness Report (World Economic Forum)
Competitiveness of 140+ economies. Search the site for "global competitiveness".

Risk

Economist Intelligence Unit: EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Risk briefings.

globalEDGE (International Business Center. Michigan State University)
Country profiles include risk assessments.
Doing Business. Measuring Business Regulations (World Bank Group)
Transparency International
Global organization that seeks to eliminate corruption world-wide; corruption indicators by region.
Country Risk (Coface)

Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes frequently updated Political Risk Analyses.
To access Fitch Connect
- Click on the “Access Database” button above
- Click on “SSO”
- Enter “universityofalberta” (not case-sensitive) as the Organization ID
- Click on “Continue” and this will redirect you to the CCID login page to verify your credentials
- Log in with your CCID
- Select the “Terms of Use” and “Privacy Policy”
- Click “Accept” to access the database

EDC Country Risk Quarterly
Registration required.
World Bank: Enterprise Surveys
Indicators reveal the major challenges facing emerging companies from corruption to infrastructure.