Subject Guides: Interprofessional Health Education: Home

Resources to Support Interprofessional Education

The resources on this guide will support the teaching and learning of students in INT D 410 as well as any other students or researchers who have an interest in or participate in interprofessional (IP) learning or teaching activities.

VIPER

A major resource for interprofessional education, is VIPER (Virtual Interprofessional Educator Resource) - a collection of resources for integrating IP education into practice. These resources were developed by the Health Sciences Education and Research Commons (HSERC) at the University of Alberta, in collaboration with other departments and institutions.

The collection includes classroom activities, debriefing guides, rubrics, worksheets, templates, and more.

VIPER Collection

Finding Articles

Try the following databases first when searching for information on interprofessional health education topics.

MEDLINE (1946-present via Ovid) This link opens in a new window Also includes Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Ovid MEDLINE® Daily MEDLINE (1946 to the present) covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature. The type of information contained in MEDLINE ranges from the basic biomedical sciences like anatomy, physiology, biochemistry to clinical information outlining the nature and course of disease or injury, as well as its treatment.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL Plus with Full Text (1937 to the present) provides indexing for the major English language journals in the areas of nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy and other allied health fields such as respiratory technology, x-ray technology, etc. Topics covered by this database include patient care, health promotion, professional issues for health care workers, patient education, rehabilitation, and other related subjects. Those with little or no health science background may be able to find useful articles on the more common disease and injury conditions, as well as other health topics, because CINAHL does include some consumer health information. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window SPORTDiscus with Full Text (1975 to the present) is an international database containing information on sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, and facilities and equipment. SPORT Discus with Full Text contains citations for articles back to 1975, and full text of articles from selected journals as far back as 1985.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Additional Databases