Books
-
Carnal Crimes : sexual assault law in Canada, 1900-1975
by
eBook (443 pages) : illustrations, maps, portraits.
Publication Date: 2016 -
Rethinking Canada
by
Rethinking Canada: The Promise of Women's History is a collection of essays that introduces readers to the rich, diverse, and intellectually lively field of Canadian women's history. First published in 1986 and now entering its successful sixth edition, Rethinking Canada includes articles spanning from the 1600s to present day that reflect a revised understanding of Canadian women's history along racial, religious, national, and ethnic lines. Of the 24 essays, 18 are new, emphasizing increased coverage of indigenous, immigrant, and racialized experiences; work and labour; sexuality and the body; religion and spirituality; politics; and shifts in regional analysis. The scope of topics remains broad: from women and war in early indigenous society to women and the fur trade in New France, from war-time nurses in World War I to lesbian bar culture in the 1950s and 1960s and modern-day transnational motherhood, this wide-ranging reader acts as a core text for courses in Canadian women's history. Each essay is introduced by the editors, who place it in its wider historical and scholarly context. For the first time, Rethinking Canada now includes primary source documents such as photos, newspaper clippings, and historical excerpts to accompany each article. These pieces allow readers to engage in historical interpretation and provide visual snapshots into the past. Recent scholarship and fresh editorial commentaries combine to create an invaluable introduction not only to Canadian women's history, but also to the study of Canadian history itself.
Call Number: HQ 1453 R48 2011Publication Date: 2011 -
Through Feminist Eyes
by
Through Feminist Eyes gathers in one volume the most incisive and insightful essays written to date by the distinguished Canadian historian Joan Sangster. To the original essays, Sangster has added reflective introductory discussions that situate her earlier work in the context of developing theory and debate. Sangster has also supplied an introduction to the collection in which she reflects on the themes and theoretical orientations that have shaped the writing of women's history over the past thirty years. Approaching her subject matter from an array of interpretive frameworks that engage questions of gender, class, colonialism, politics, and labour, Sangster explores the lived experience of women in a variety of specific historical settings. In so doing, she sheds new light on issues that have sparked much debate among feminist historians and offers a thoughtful overview of the evolution of women's history in Canada.
Publication Date: 2011 -
Beyond the Vote
by
This collection of essays focuses on the experiences of women as political activists in twentieth-century Canada, both in the mainstream of party politics and in groups outside the mainstream. The latter include women in socialist and labour movements, the farm and peace movements, and women active in various ethnic communities. Expanding the noton of politics, the authors highlight the widespread nature of women's activism - particularly at the local level - and challenge the easy formulation that women were primarily interested in the vote and lost interest in politics when they acquired it. Some of the essays suggest that even the suffrage campaign has been misrepresented as solely a middle-class movement. Women evolved their own styles of political participation shaped by local contexts, class, culture, family, and lifestyle. Women often organized at the community level, and worked both in combination with men and in women-only settings. Contributors to this volume explore women's involvement in organizations from the political left to right, and women's efforts to shape Canada's political priorities and activities. Politically minded women often found that the best outlet for commitment and service was through women's organizations, which addressed their needs and provided a base for effective action.
Publication Date: 2016 -
Nellie Mcclung
by
Nellie Letitia McClung (1873-1951) is recognized as a key figure in Canadian history as well as Canadian literature. Her two-volume autobiography provides a remarkable and very readable account of a truly extraordinary life. McClung is best known for her involvement in the 1929 "Person's Case," in which the British Privy Council ruled in favour of an appeal by the "Famous Five" against the judgement of the Supreme Court of Canada that women did not qualify legally as persons. McClung had, however, been a high profile figure, as a suffragist, politician, and writer, in Canadian politics and literature for many years and remained so well into the 1940s. Her autobiography provides unique insight into Canadian public affairs in the first half of the twentieth century. Equally interesting are McClung's accounts of her early days as a child, teacher, young wife and mother. With her fine eye for detail, she makes the Canada of her time come vividly alive for readers. Originally published in two volumes, McClung's autobiographies found a wide audience from their first publication in 1935 and 1945. They have never before been available in a single volume. For this re-issue Veronica Strong-Boag and Michelle Lynn Rosa have written a substantial introduction and added explanatory notes that illuminate the woman and the historical context for modern readers.
Publication Date: 2003 -
Women's Legal Strategies in Canada
by
Have Canadian women gained from their pursuit of legal remedies to social, political, economic, and cultural inequalities? Is law a fruitful avenue for such struggles? Using liberal feminist, postmodern, critical, race, and queer theory, these essays confront the anti-rights critiques of the legal Left regarding the use of law in general and the Charter in particular. Several chapters explicitly examine the strategic limits and possibilities of the substantive equality rights approaches pursued by LEAF (The Women's Legal Education and Action Fund). Others focus on legal strategies mobilized in discreet areas of law and public policy by foreign domestic workers and racialized women, lesbians, women seeking reproductive freedom, women in the childcare movement, and anti-violence advocates. Recognizing the diversity of women across class, citizenship, race and ethnicity, sexual identity, culture, and (dis)ability, this collection evaluates the efficacy of the wide range of legal and political strategies women have employed, particularly in this post-Charter era. Women's Legal Strategies in Canada is the most comprehensive account of these important issues and will surely become the standard work in the field.
Publication Date: 2016 -
The Canadian Women's Movement, equality rights and the Charter by Feminist perspectives (57pages).Call Number: KF 478 Z9 G683 1990Publication Date: 1990
Law 496 B02 - Legal History
This Subject Guide page has been curated for students in Law 496 B02 - Legal History. "The course introduces students to the legal history of women’s rights. It will delve into how Canadian law has impacted women, their bodies, and their rights in recent history while providing comparative insights where appropriate."
Canadian Legal History
-
A History of Law in Canada, Volume One : Beginnings to 1866 A History of Law in Canadais an important three-volume project. Volume One begins at a time just prior to European contact and continues to the 1860s, Volume Two covers the half century after Confederation, and Volume Three covers the period from the beginning of the First World War to 1982, with a postscript taking the account to approximately 2000. The history of law includes substantive law, legal institutions, legal actors, and legal culture. The authors assume that since 1500 there have been three legal systems in Canada - the Indigenous, the French, and the English. At all times, these systems have co-existed and interacted, with the relative power and influence of each being more or less dominant in different periods. The history of law cannot be treated in isolation, and this book examines law as a dynamic process, shaped by and affecting other histories over the long term. The law guided and was guided by economic developments, was influenced and moulded by the nature and trajectory of political ideas and institutions, and variously exacerbated or mediated intercultural exchange and conflict. These themes are apparent in this examination, and through most areas of law including land settlement and tenure, and family, commercial, constitutional, and criminal law.
-
A History of Law in Canada, Volume Two : Law for a New Dominion, 1867-1914 This book recounts the many and varied transformations in the history of law in Canada in the half century after Confederation.
-
Canadiana Online Canadiana Online consists of monographs, journals and government publications. It captures the full span of Canada's documentary record, and includes material published from the time of the first European settlers to the first half of the 20th century and collections focused on Aboriginal (Indigenous) Studies, the history of French Canada, and the Hudson's Bay Company. Early Canadiana Online has been incorporated into this database in 2019.
Historical Government Information
Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources
Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources is a free searchable database of digitized parliamentary publications from the 1st Session of the 1st Parliament in 1867 until coverage at sencanada.ca and ourcommons.ca begins.
A fully annotated by three of Canada's most respected criminal law experts. It references thousands of reported and unreported cases in a practical and accessible format.
-
Canadiana Online Canadiana Online consists of monographs, journals and government publications. It captures the full span of Canada's documentary record, and includes material published from the time of the first European settlers to the first half of the 20th century and collections focused on Aboriginal (Indigenous) Studies, the history of French Canada, and the Hudson's Bay Company. Early Canadiana Online has been incorporated into this database in 2019.
- This guide links to several historical resources. Please use the tabs to explore the informtaion.
Books
- Search the Library to find books in the University of Alberta collections.
- Books about Women's History and the Law in Canada.
- Course Reading List
Canadian Collections
Websites
-
Status of Women Government of Canada. Women and Gender Equality Canada.
-
National Association of Women and the Law Advocating for feminist laws that advance women's equality.
-
Women's Legal Education and Action Fund Since 1985, LEAF’s cases have resulted in landmark victories, eliminating discrimination, allowing reproductive freedoms, maternity benefits, spousal support, and pay equity. Join us in the fight for women’s equality!
