A Glossary of Applied LinguisticsApplied Linguistics is still a growing field. Key texts and handbooks have appeared in recent years and international applied linguistics conferences and professional associations occur regularly. While Applied Linguistics continues to attract new entrants and to generate new strands of research, there is a need for a clear and concise map of the field. This is the purpose of the Glossary. The author, Alan Davies, is a well-established, well-published authority on applied linguistics. Not a typically dry dictionary, Dr. Davies infuses the alphabetical entries with a touch of humor and thought-provoking context creating an up-to-date, useful, and coherent view of applied linguistics. The Glossary compiles the most ubiquitously used terms in applied linguistics and teacher-training literature. It takes a wide-ranging view of the field, drawing not only on linguistics but including psychology, sociology, education, measurement theory, speech therapy, translation, and language planning. Other features include: *numerous cross-references to key terms; *an introduction, which discusses the difficulty of defining applied linguistics; and *a brief reading list of key text. The primary market is master's student in Applied Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition, and TESL/TEFL. Undergraduate students, particularly in language fields and in education will also find it helpful, as well as language teachers who have not themselves followed Applied Linguistics courses and who are interested in finding out about the field.
Doing Applied Linguistics: A Guide for StudentsDoing Applied Linguistics provides a concise, lively and accessible introduction to the field of applied linguistics for readers who have little or no prior knowledge of the subject. The book explores the basics of the field then goes on to examine in more depth what applied linguists actually do, and the types of research methods that are most frequently used in the field. By reading this book students will find the answers to four sets of basic questions: What is applied linguistics, and what do applied linguists do? Why do it? What is the point of applied linguistics? How and why might I get involved in applied linguistics? How to do it? What kinds of activities are involved in doing applied linguistic research? Written by teachers and researchers in applied linguistics Doing Applied Linguistics is essential reading for all students with interests in this area.
The Routledge Handbook of Research Methods in Applied LinguisticsThe Routledge Handbook of Research Methods in Applied Linguistics provides a critical survey of the methodological concepts, designs, instruments and types of analysis that are used within the broad field of applied linguistics. With more than 40 chapters written by leading and emerging scholars, this book problematizes and theorizes applied linguistics research, incorporating numerous multifaceted methodological considerations and pointing to the future of good practice in research. Topics covered include: key concepts and constructs in research methodology, such as sampling strategies and mixed methods research; research designs such as experimental research, case study research, and action research; data collection methods, from questionnaires and interviews to think-aloud protocols and data elicitation tasks; data analysis methods, such as use of R, inferential statistical analysis, and qualitative content analysis; current considerations in applied linguistics research, such as a need for transparency and greater incorporation of multilingualism in research; and recent innovations in research methods related to multimodality, eye-tracking, and advances in quantitative methods. The Routledge Handbook of Research Methods in Applied Linguistics is key reading for both experienced and novice researchers in Applied Linguistics as well as anyone undertaking study in this area.
Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics by Carol A. Chapelle (Editor)A ground-breaking resource available either online or as a 10-volume print set bringing together historic and emerging areas of research within applied linguistics Combines individual entries ranging from 1,500 to 4,000 words, with longer, essaystyle contributions giving a detailed overview of key developments and ideas Includes over 1,100 entries written by an international team of scholars from over 40 countries Covers 27 key areas of the field, including Language Learning and Teaching, Bilingual and Multilingual Education, Assessment and Testing, Corpus Linguistics Conversation Analysis, Discourse, Cognitive Second Language Acquisition, Language, Policy and Planning, Literacy, and Technology and Language Features over 200 entries on the philosophy and history of applied linguistics and biographies of key applied linguists Updates and new articles available twice a year, enabling the work to stay relevant and cutting-edge 10 Volumes www.encyclopediaofappliedlinguistics.com Updating
Statistical Analyses for Language TestersProvides a step-by-step approach to the most useful statistical analyses for language test developers and researchers using IBM SPSS, Winsteps and Facets. It contains clearly-worked out examples for each analysis with detailed explanations.
Applied Linguistics for Teachers of Culturally and Linguistically Diverse LearnersIrrespective of the language (first, second, or foreign) taught, knowledge of linguistics and its application is a must for language teachers. However, most TESOL programs use general linguistics textbooks that deal with the science of linguistics (as theory), disregarding its implications (practice) for teaching English language learners. Applied Linguistics for Teachers of Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Learners is an essential scholarly publication that seeks to contribute to TESOL and language teacher education programs in order to assist educators to apply their knowledge to help linguistically and culturally diverse learners succeed in school and life. Highlighting an array of topics such as bilingualism, morphology, and sociolinguistics, this book is ideal for educators, educational programs, professionals, academicians, professors, linguists, and students.
Handbook of the Changing World Language MapThis reference work delivers an interdisciplinary, applied spatial and geographical approach to the study of languages and linguistics. This work includes chapters and sections related to language origins, diffusion, conflicts, policies, education/instruction, representation, technology, regions, and mapping. Also addressed is the mapping of languages and linguistic diversity, on language in the context of politics, on the relevance of language to cultural identity, on language minorities and endangered languages, and also on language and the arts and non-human language and communication. This reference work looks at the subject matter and contributors to the disciplines and programs in the social sciences and humanities, and the dearth of materials on languages and linguistics. The topics covered are not only discipline-centered, but in the cutting-edge fields that intersect several disciplines and also cut across the social sciences and humanities. These include gender studies, sustainability and development, technology and social media impacts, law and human rights, climate change, public health and epidemiology, architecture, religion, visual representation and mapping. These new and emerging research directions and other intersecting fields are not traditionally discipline-bounded, but cut across numerous fields. The volumes will appeal to those within existing fields and disciplines and those working the intersections at local, regional and global scales.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)LLBA (1973 to the present) provides access to the world's literature in linguistics and its various subdisciplines. It covers articles and book reviews from over 1,500 journals, as well as conference proceedings, associations papers, and selected dissertations. The database provides descriptive abstracts for most records.
MLA International BibliographyMLA International Bibliography (1926 to the present) covers literature in English and in other modern languages; linguistics; folklore. It includes books (and chapters in books), journal articles, conference papers, and dissertations concerning general and comparative literature, linguistics in general and of all modern languages, all modern literatures, and folklore. No abstracts are provided, and there are no listings for book reviews.
PsycINFOAlso known as APA PsycInfo. It covers the international literature in psychology. Topics include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, education psychology, experimental psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology, psychometrics, social psychology and sports psychology. Formats covered by this database are: journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and technical reports.