The Handbook of Computational Linguistics and Natural Language ProcessingThis comprehensive reference work provides an overview of the concepts, methodologies, and applications in computational linguistics and natural language processing (NLP). Features contributions by the top researchers in the field, reflecting the work that is driving the discipline forward Includes an introduction to the major theoretical issues in these fields, as well as the central engineering applications that the work has produced Presents the major developments in an accessible way, explaining the close connection between scientific understanding of the computational properties of natural language and the creation of effective language technologies Serves as an invaluable state-of-the-art reference source for computational linguists and software engineers developing NLP applications in industrial research and development labs of software companies
The Oxford Handbook of Computational LinguisticsThirty-eight chapters, commissioned from experts all over the world, describe major concepts, methods, and applications in computational linguistics. Part I, Linguistic Fundamentals, provides an overview of the field suitable for senior undergraduates and non-specialists from other fields oflinguistics and related disciplines. Part II describes current tasks, techniques, and tools in Natural Language Processing and aims to meet the needs of post-doctoral workers and others embarking on computational language research. Part III surveys current Applications.The book is a state-of-the-art reference to the one of the most active and productive fields in linguistics. It will be of interest and practical use to a wide range of linguists, as well as to researchers in such fields as informatics, artificial intelligence, language engineering, and cognitivescience.
Mathematical LinguisticsMathematical Linguistics introduces the mathematical foundations of linguistics to computer scientists, engineers, and mathematicians interested in natural language processing. The book presents linguistics as a cumulative body of knowledge from the ground up: no prior knowledge of linguistics is assumed. As the first textbook of its kind, this book is useful for those in information science and in natural language technologies.
Logic and Algorithms in Computational Linguistics 2018 (LACompLing2018)This book focuses mainly on logical approaches to computational linguistics, but also discusses integrations with other approaches, presenting both classic and newly emerging theories and applications.Decades of research on theoretical work and practical applications have demonstrated that computational linguistics is a distinctively interdisciplinary area. There is convincing evidence that computational approaches to linguistics can benefit from research on the nature of human language, including from the perspective of its evolution. This book addresses various topics in computational theories of human language, covering grammar, syntax, and semantics. The common thread running through the research presented is the role of computer science, mathematical logic and other subjects of mathematics in computational linguistics and natural language processing (NLP). Promoting intelligent approaches to artificial intelligence (AI) and NLP, the book is intended for researchers and graduate students in the field.
Natural Language Processing and Computational LinguisticsWork with Python and powerful open source tools such as Gensim and spaCy to perform modern text analysis, natural language processing, and computational linguistics algorithms. Key Features Discover the open source Python text analysis ecosystem, using spaCy, Gensim, scikit-learn, and Keras Hands-on text analysis with Python, featuring natural language processing and computational linguistics algorithms Learn deep learning techniques for text analysis Book Description Modern text analysis is now very accessible using Python and open source tools, so discover how you can now perform modern text analysis in this era of textual data. This book shows you how to use natural language processing, and computational linguistics algorithms, to make inferences and gain insights about data you have. These algorithms are based on statistical machine learning and artificial intelligence techniques. The tools to work with these algorithms are available to you right now - with Python, and tools like Gensim and spaCy. You'll start by learning about data cleaning, and then how to perform computational linguistics from first concepts. You're then ready to explore the more sophisticated areas of statistical NLP and deep learning using Python, with realistic language and text samples. You'll learn to tag, parse, and model text using the best tools. You'll gain hands-on knowledge of the best frameworks to use, and you'll know when to choose a tool like Gensim for topic models, and when to work with Keras for deep learning. This book balances theory and practical hands-on examples, so you can learn about and conduct your own natural language processing projects and computational linguistics. You'll discover the rich ecosystem of Python tools you have available to conduct NLP - and enter the interesting world of modern text analysis. What you will learn Why text analysis is important in our modern age Understand NLP terminology and get to know the Python tools and datasets Learn how to pre-process and clean textual data Convert textual data into vector space representations Using spaCy to process text Train your own NLP models for computational linguistics Use statistical learning and Topic Modeling algorithms for text, using Gensim and scikit-learn Employ deep learning techniques for text analysis using Keras Who this book is for This book is for you if you want to dive in, hands-first, into the interesting world of text analysis and NLP, and you're ready to work with the rich Python ecosystem of tools and datasets waiting for you!
Handbook of linguistic annotationThis handbook offers a thorough treatment of the science of linguistic annotation. Leaders in the field guide the reader through the process of modeling, creating an annotation language, building a corpus and evaluating it for correctness. Essential reading for both computer scientists and linguistic researchers.
Linguistic annotation is an increasingly important activity in the field of computational linguistics because of its critical role in the development of language models for natural language processing applications. Part one of this book covers all phases of the linguistic annotation process, from annotation scheme design and choice of representation format through both the manual and automatic annotation process, evaluation, and iterative improvement of annotation accuracy. The second part of the book includes case studies of annotation projects across the spectrum of linguistic annotation types, including morpho-syntactic tagging, syntactic analyses, a range of semantic analyses (semantic roles, named entities, sentiment and opinion), time and event and spatial analyses, and discourse level analyses including discourse structure, co-reference, etc. Each case study addresses the various phases and processes discussed in the chapters of part one.
Includes the Transactions of the Association for Computational Linguistics (TACL) which is an ACL-sponsored journal that publishes papers in all areas of computational linguistics and natural language processing.