Subject Guides: Medicine: Databases & Research Resources

Core literature for Medicine

Use these databases to find review articles, non-preappraised articles on individual studies and more. For more databases with health-related content, see Health Sciences Databases

PubMed (with links to UofA e-journals)
MEDLINE (1946-present via Ovid)
EMBASE
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library includes:
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane Protocols
- Cochrane Controlled Register of Trials (CENTRAL)
- Cochrane Editorials
- Cochrane Clinical Answers
- Cochrane Special Collections
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Scopus
Web of Science - All Databases

Other Databases

BIOSIS Citation Index
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Global Health provides an alternative, complementary point of reference with a broad analysis of foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material.

The Global Health database covers the following aspects of human health and disease:
- communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS)
- tropical diseases, i.e, diseases in the tropics (including field and experimental studies)
- parasitic diseases and parasitology - medical entomology
- human nutrition (including food composition, food poisoning, effects of diet on health, nutritional disorders, and experimental aspects)
- community and public health (including chronic diseases, occupational health, health status indicators, the impact of agriculture on health, and cancer epidemiology)
- medicinal and poisonous plants (including pharmacology, tissue culture, animal studies, plant composition, allergens, and toxins)
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index

Doing Research

Poster: Who Is An Author?
This poster, created with the permission of ICMJE can be freely downloaded, copied and distributed.