CINAHL Plus with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowCINAHL Plus with Full Text (1937 to the present) provides indexing for the major English language journals in the areas of nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy and other allied health fields such as respiratory technology, x-ray technology, etc.
Topics covered by this database include patient care, health promotion, professional issues for health care workers, patient education, rehabilitation, and other related subjects. Those with little or no health science background may be able to find useful articles on the more common disease and injury conditions, as well as other health topics, because CINAHL does include some consumer health information. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,100 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included. Includes text in Chinese, Danish, English, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, and Turkish languages.
MEDLINE (1946-present via Ovid)This link opens in a new windowAlso includes Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Ovid MEDLINE(R) Daily MEDLINE (1946 to the present) covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature. The type of information contained in MEDLINE ranges from the basic biomedical sciences like anatomy, physiology, biochemistry to clinical information outlining the nature and course of disease or injury, as well as its treatment.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowAlso known as APA PsycInfo. It covers the international literature in psychology. Topics include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, education psychology, experimental psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology, psychometrics, social psychology and sports psychology. Formats covered by this database are: journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and technical reports.
OT focused database but not updated since 2017 so must consult recent sources
Child Development & Adolescent StudiesThis link opens in a new windowContains references to the current and historical literature related to the growth and development of children through the age of 21. Included are book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals, and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations that cover the biomedical and social sciences worldwide. Over 10,000 new records added each year.
REHABDATA (formerly CIRRIE Database of International Rehabilitation Research)This link opens in a new windowREHABDATA on the National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) platform now provides access to contents of the former CIRRIE database. It covers the literature on disability and rehabilitation, with contents including journal articles, books, and reports from the NARIC library.
EMBASEThis link opens in a new windowEMBASE (1974 to the present) is a medical database which covers a wide range of journals in the biomedical sciences. EMBASE is particularly useful for locating drug information, as it indexes many drug journals not covered by MEDLINE. PLEASE NOTE: Our EMBASE license allows for only four simultaneous users.
ERIC (via EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowERIC (1966 to the present) covers all aspects of education, from preschool to post-secondary and adult education, and all topics within the broad discipline.
PTSDpubsThis link opens in a new windowAlso known as: |PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress| This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
Dissertations and Theses GlobalThis link opens in a new windowAlso known as:|Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global|. Includes contributions from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities. Coverage begins with the first U.S. dissertation accepted in 1861. UofA theses and dissertations are included from 1954 through 2014, with full text available for many, but not all, titles. NOTE: UofA no longer contributes content to this database. See also: Electronic Theses and Dissertations (University of Alberta).
PubMed (with links to UofA e-journals)This link opens in a new windowAlso known as: MEDLINE (PubMed version) PubMed (1946 to the present) covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature. Includes links to full text licensed by the University of Alberta. Can be used on-campus, or off-campus with authentication using a University of Alberta CCID.