Library Tutorial
- Advanced Library Skills for Physics Research
Advanced literature searching and information evaluation for upper level undergraduates and Master's students in Physics.
Free and Discounted Open Access Publishing
There are many Article Processing Charge (APC) discounts and waivers available to U of A researchers. If you are interested in publishing your research Open Access, please look at the Article Processing Charge Support page.
Evaluating Information
Use the CRAAP Test
Currency - Is it timely?
Relevance - Useful for your purposes?
Authority - Who? What is the source?
Accuracy - References to back it up?
Purpose - Why? Is there a bias?
More detailed information on the CRAAP Test
Databases for Finding Articles
Physics and Interdisciplinary Databases
The following databases feature good coverage of physics in general.
- arXiv.orgarXiv.org is an electronic archive and distribution server for open access research papers in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology and Statistics. It is the best place to find the latest research.
- Inspec Archive (1898-1968)A database covering material in the fields of physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control engineering, and information technology.
- ScopusThe world's largest interdisciplinary literature index, including over 67 million journal records. Especially strong in science, engineering, technology, and medicine.
- Web of Science - All DatabasesA major multidisciplinary database for the sciences and the social sciences, as well as a great research metrics tool.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is the largest interdisciplinary database. Make sure to use simple searches for the best results.
Medical Physics Database
- PubMed (with links to UofA e-journals)PubMed (1946 to the present) covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature. Includes links to full text licensed by the University of Alberta.
Geophysics Database
- GeoRefGeoRef (1785 to the present) includes international coverage of the
earth sciences and all aspects of geology and geophysics including archaeology,
fossils, economics, education, engineering and environmental geology,
expeditions, instruments, land use, landfills, soils, geologic hazards, maps, magnetic fields, and medical and military geology.
Astronomy Databases
- Astrophysics Data System (ADS)ADS is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics. ADS contains more than 13 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv preprints.
- The Strasbourg Astronomical Data Center (CDS) PortalThe CDS Portal hosts the SIMBAD astronomical database; the VizieR astronomical catalogue service. and the Aladin interactive sky atlas. The CDS Portal searches these databases simultaneously using either object name or coordinates. CDS is best when searching for information and literature about specific astronomical objects.
Particle Physics Database
- INSPIREINSPIRE is an information platform for high energy physics, that also includes some coverage of related areas including condensed matter physics. It is previously know as SPIRES. Additionally, INSPIRE contains arXiv preprints relevant to particle physics.
Properties Databases
- Springer Materials
This is the worlds largest database for the identification of physical and chemical properties in Materials Science. It covers data from Materials Science, Physics, Physical and Inorganic Chemistry, Engineering and other related fields. It supports research in the fields of bulk and fine chemical manufacturing, petroleum and petrochemicals, semiconductors and electronic materials, optical metals, ceramics, polymer synthesis and processing, and materials for fuels and energy application.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsCoverage includes physical constants of organic compounds, properties of the elements and inorganic compounds, thermochemistry, electrochemistry and kinetics, fluid properties, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, molecular structure ,spectroscopy, atomic, molecular and optical physics, nuclear and particle physics, properties of solids, polymer properties, geophysics, astronomy, acoustics, practical laboratory data, health and safety information. Searchable by text, and by substance/property.
