Key Collections
- Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel contains engineering-focused reference works and textbooks. Users can find data hidden in tables, graphs, and equations. Includes interactive tables, equation plotters, charts and graphs that can be manipulated and exported into other tools such as Excel.
- Institute of Physics (IOP) Electronic Journals and e-Books
Provides online access to journals and a collection of e-books from the Institute of Physics. More information about this service is available here.
- Taylor & Francis eBooksPlease note Taylor & Francis eBooks may not be available from off-campus. We are working with the vendor to resolve the access problems. Please contact the library for an alternate access route. Taylor & Francis eBooks now include the CRC Press ebook collections (formerly CRCnetBASE).
Open Textbooks for Physics
The following are online open textbooks that you can access for free to supplement the textbooks in your courses. To learn more about open textbooks visit the Open Educational Resources guide.
- University Physics Volume 1University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 1 covers mechanics, sound, oscillations, and waves.
- University Physics Volume 2University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 2 covers thermodynamics, electricity and magnetism
- University Physics Volume 3University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 3 covers optics and modern physics.
- Calculus Based Physics 1Calculus-Based Physics is an introductory physics textbook designed for use in the two-semester introductory physics course typically taken by science and engineering students. This is the first of two textbooks for this course.
- College PhysicsCollege Physics meets standard scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory algebra-based physics course. The text is grounded in real-world examples to help students grasp fundamental physics concepts. It requires knowledge of algebra and some trigonometry, but not calculus. College Physics includes learning objectives, concept questions, links to labs and simulations, and ample practice opportunities for traditional physics application problems.
- Introductory Physics: Building Models to Describe our WorldThis is an open-access textbook for calculus-based introductory physics courses.
Handbooks
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsCoverage includes physical constants of organic compounds, properties of elements and inorganic compounds, thermochemistry, electrochemistry and kinetics, fluid properties, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, molecular structure, spectroscopy, atomic, molecular and optical physics, nuclear and particle physics, properties of solids, polymer properties, geophysics, astronomy, acoustics, practical laboratory data, health and safety information.
