Plant Identification/Data Databases
- Invasive Species CompendiumCovers science-based information to support decision-making in invasive species management worldwide.
- Plantwise Knowledge BankProvides a gateway to plant health information and services, from pest diagnostic search tools to maps of pest locations and customized alerts on pest news about your area.
- TAIR: The Arabidopsis Information ResourceDatabase of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant.
- Native Plants of North America DatabaseA comprehensive guide to North American native plants, and it includes over 50,000 searchable images, lists of recommended species by state or by special interest, and answers to plant and gardening questions.
Key Databases for finding articles
- CAB Abstracts
Also known as: |CABI CAB Abstracts (1910 to the present) includes international coverage of all aspects of agriculture, horticulture, animal production and forestry including: crop production, plant protection and breeding; forestry and forest products; soil science, land use and water management; animal husbandry, agricultural engineering; economics; rural development, sociology and education.
- Environment CompleteA leading database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects.
- Global PlantsGlobal Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration
- Crop Protection CompendiumThe Crop Protection Compendium draws together scientific information on all aspects of crop protection. It includes information on pests, diseases and weeds and their natural enemies, the crops that are their hosts, and the countries in which they occur.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- ScopusThis is a large, multidisciplinary database which provides journals in science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences.
Ask us! We're here to help.
Library Lab Notes
Check out the science library podcast, Library Lab Notes. It provides insight into all things Science information literacy from staff you may recognize.