Primary Sources

The University of Saskatchewan's Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

Also known as: |Indigenous Peoples: North America| 
This database includes sources from across Canada and the United States. It provides insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the 17th into the 20th century. It includes manuscripts, book collections, newspapers along with materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages.

Peel's Prairie Provinces is a resource dedicated to assisting scholars, students, and researchers of all types in their exploration of western Canadian history and the culture of the Canadian prairies. This website contains both an online bibliography of books, pamphlets, and other materials related to the development of the Prairies, as well as a searchable full-text collection of many of these items.

Canadiana Online consists of monographs, journals and government publications. It captures the full span of Canada's documentary record, and includes material published from the time of the first European settlers to the first half of the 20th century and collections focused on Aboriginal (Indigenous) Studies, the history of French Canada, and the Hudson's Bay Company. Early Canadiana Online has been incorporated into this database in 2019.

View thousands of Métis historical documents, genealogical information, Hudson's Bay Company records, Church missionary records, and personal Métis accounts. The database is currently offering records for public and institutional browsing. Log in or sign up for access to the search engine.

Provides a collection of primary source documents that helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.

An integrated research platform that allows searching across Gale primary source collections.

Histories from both Court of Claims and Indian Claims Commissions dockets allows researchers to understand the Indian claims process throughout U.S. history up to the present time. Includes court documents and cites treaties, related congressional publications, and maps to facilitate the ability of researchers to fully understand the specifics of each case without leaving the docket history page.

Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Includes letter collections, travel journals, diaries, oral histories, scrapbooks, government papers, hand-drawn maps, watercolours, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and other rare printed material.

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included from Gale are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. This collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.