Do you have feedback about this guide? Let us know!
For all other questions, Ask Us.
What is a Literature Review?
A literature review is a summary of the published work in a field of study. It can be a section of a larger paper or article, or the focus of an entire paper. Literature reviews show you have examined the breadth of knowledge on a topic and can justify your thesis or research question. They are also valuable tools for other researchers who need to find a summary of that field of knowledge.
Unlike an annotated bibliography, which is a list of sources with short descriptions, a literature review synthesizes sources into a summary that has a thesis or statement of purpose—stated or implied—at its core.
How Do You Write a Literature Review?
Step 1: Define your research question
Defining your research question is the key to beginning. While you may be clear on the area you want to study, you will likely need to think through some nuances. Part of this process may require exploratory searching in databases so you can see what has already been published on your topic. Even if it's a new area, something has likely already been published in at least an adjacent area of study.
Step 2: Determine inclusion and exclusion criteria
Once you have a clearly defined research question, make sure you will get the search results you want by making decisions about these items:
- Select a time frame for relevant search results. For example:
- Would the most recent five years be appropriate?
- Is your research from a more historical perspective?
- Select a geography (and language):
- Where has this type of research taken place?
- Will you limit your results to a particular region, like Canada or Alberta?
- Will you translate works if needed?
- Choose research constraints:
- Are you focused on a particular methodology?
- Do you want to find works about a specific population, like university students or people with diabetes?
- Consider interdisciplinary fields:
- Are there adjacent fields in which this type of research has been conducted that you would like to include?
- Consider the organizing structure for your review. For example:
- Do you want to highlight a controversy or debate in your research field?
- Are you creating a historical overview? Is this background reading for your research?
Step 3: Choose databases and search
One place to search is the library catalogue ("Search the Library"), which includes books, videos, music, primary sources, and some article databases. For more information about how to search the library catalogue, use the U of A Library Search Guide.
You should also search within databases related to your discipline. The library's Subject Guides may help you identify key databases to use.
Database searching is an iterative process. You will likely repeat it several times because as you search, you are learning about your topic, including keywords and concepts. Or you may want to repeat your search in a different database, or add the name of a particular author you have heard about to find their works in this area.
Use cited reference searching to track how scholars interact with, and build upon, previous research:
- To look backward in time, mine the bibliography of each relevant source for additional key sources.
-
To look forward in time, use tools like Google Scholar, Scopus, or Web of Science to find other sources that have cited a particular work.
It's a good idea to use a research log to track your key terms, databases, and dates you conducted your searches. Here is an example from the University of Texas at Austin.
Consider using reference management software to save the information sources you find.
Step 4: Categorize your sources
Divide the relevant sources you have found into categories that reflect their roles in addressing your research question. Possible ways to categorize resources include organization by:
- chronology
- theme
- methodology
-
theoretical/philosophical approach
Regardless of the division, each category should be accompanied by examinations of strengths and weaknesses, value to the overall survey, and comparisons with similar sources. You may have enough resources when:
- You've used multiple databases and other resources (web portals, repositories, etc.) to get a variety of perspectives on the research topic.
-
The same information sources are showing up in a variety of databases.
Step 5: Analyze results
Analysis should lead to insight—this is how you will contribute to the field.
- You should have an approach or a point of view to evaluate the material you found.
- Are there gaps in the literature?
- Where has significant research taken place, and who has done it?
- Is there consensus or debate on this topic?
-
Which methodological approaches work best?
Analysis is the part of the literature review process where you justify why your research is needed, how others have not addressed it, and/or how your research advances the field.
Step 6: Write the literature review
When writing your review:
- Focus on your research question and the most pertinent studies.
- Pick an organizational structure, for example, themes, approaches, researchers, concepts, or methodologies.
-
Ensure your citations and reference list are complete and follow an appropriate citation style.
The following sections of this page were adapted from Literature Review by The University of Arizona Libraries, which is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International: What is a Literature Review?; The cited reference searching part of Step 3: Choose databases and search; Step 4: Categorize your sources.
The following sections of this page were adapted from Literature Reviews by the University of Texas Libraries, which is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International: Step 1: Define your research question; Step 2: Determine inclusion and exclusion criteria; Step 3: Choose databases and search (excluding the cited reference searching part); Step 5: Analyze results; Step 6: Write the literature review.