Introduction
Welcome!
This guide offers starting points and tips for research in Women and Gender Studies (WGS). WGS is a field of study that focuses on understanding gender as one of many interconnected social formations. It focuses on the ways that gender, race, class, age, sexuality, ability, and size work together (Department of WGS).
If you would like immediate support, click the Ask Us link. You can also contact the subject librarian for research support.
Top Picks
- Gender Studies DatabaseCombines NISC's Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Also includes relevant contributions from NISC's Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases.
- Contemporary Women's IssuesGale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues covers a spectrum of womens concerns ranging from domestic violence, employment and the workplace, and gender equity to family, reproductive health and human rights. Includes some full text content.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines. Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, conference papers.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO covers the international literature in psychology. Topics include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, education psychology, experimental psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology, psychometrics, social psychology and sports psychology.
- SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a web-based research methods tool that covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up research. Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, and is of potential use to researchers from the social sciences, health sciences and other research areas.
