Subject Guides: Government Information: Other Provinces & Territories

Databases

Canadian Research Index (Microlog) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: The Microlog number can be used to locate the documents. If the document is not available online, submit an Interlibrary Loan Request and we will find a copy for you. Please include the Microlog ID in the patron notes.

APLIC Portal - GALLOPP

Provincial & Territorial Policy Documents

Provincial and Territorial Budgets
Links to federal, provincial and territorial budget documents. 2004-2013.
Poltext
A collection of textual data sources used for policy analysis in Canada, federally and provincially. Includes an archive of political texts, party platforms and constitutional texts.

Northwest Territories

Northern Strategy
Resources for those studying the North. The Canadian Circumpolar Library (CCL), located on the 4th floor of Cameron Library, is a partial depository for documents of the Northwest Territories

Other Provinces & Territories Legislative Materials

British Columbia

Statutes

HeinOnLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnLine includes modules for legal journals, government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and other legal research collections.

In Print: (1878 - ) JA Weir Law Library - Call number: KEB 41

Regulations

In Print:

British Columbia gazette. Regulations. Part 2 - (1967- ) JA Weir Law Library, KEB 71 A25 B862
Consolidated regulations of British Columbia - JA Weir Law Library, KEB 78 B862
Index of current B. C. regulations - JA Weir Law Library, KEB 89 I38

Bills

Bills (1992-)

In Print: (1972- ) JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 BC XB

Committees

Debates (Hansard)

Debates of the BC Legislative Assembly (Hansard)
BC Labour Relations Board Decisions
Decisions back to 2000

Gazette

In Print:

British Columbia Gazette - (1893 - ) JA Weir Law Library, KEB 71 A23

British Columbia Gazette. Regulations. Part 2 - (1967 -) JA Weir Law Library, KEB 71 A25 B862

Journals

Journals of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia
1851-

In Print:

Journals of the colonial legislatures of the colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia, (1851-1871) JA Weir Law Library - GOV DOC CA2 BC X2
Journals of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of British Columbia - JA Weir Law Library - GOV DOC CA2 BC X2 J53

Municipalities - Bylaws, local government, etc.

Order Papers

Orders of the Day
1992-

Orders in Council

Order in Council and Ministerial Order Resumes

In Print:

British Columbia Gazette - JA Weir Law Library KEB 71 A23

Sessional Papers

In Print 1891-1938

MICROFILM-- GOV DOC CA2 BC YS 1-

JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 BC YS 1-

Votes & Proceedings

Votes and Proceedings

In Print: UAlberta library retains issues until replaced by: Journals of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of British Columbia.

Saskatchewan

Statutes

Saskatchewan Acts (Consolidated Statutes)
King's Printer
Saskatchewan Legislation on Canlii
Saskatchewan Historical Legislation
Includes R.S.S. 1909 - 1978
Saskatchewan Acts Not Yet Proclaimed
King's Printer
Saskatchewan Repealed Statutes
King's Printer
In Print: JA Weir Law Library, KES 41

HeinOnLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnLine includes modules for legal journals, government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and other legal research collections.

Regulations

Saskatchewan Regulations
Saskatchewan Legislation on Canlii
Saskatchewan Repealed Regulations
King's Printer
Saskatchewan Gazette, Parts 2 & 3
In Print:
Regulations of Saskatchewan [Loose-leaf] JA Weir Law Library, KES 74 2000
The Saskatchewan gazette , 1964- JA Weir Law Library, KES 74 1905 S252

Bills

Saskatchewan Bills
Access to individual bills is through the Progress of Bills links
Saskatchewan First Reading Bills
In Print: 1970- JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 SA XB

Committees

Debates (Hansard)

Saskatchewan Debates
Accessible through the Legislative Calendar 1947-
In Print: 1964-1997 JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 SA X1

Gazette

Saskatchewan Gazette
1993-
In Print: JA Weir Law Library, KES 74

Journals

Saskatchewan Journals
In Print: 1906- JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 SA X2 J53

Municipalities - Bylaws, local government, etc.

Saskatchewan Order Paper

Orders of the Day
Accessible through the Legislative Calendar

Orders in Council

Saskatchewan Orders in Council

Orders and Proceedings

Saskatchewan Votes and Proceedings

Manitoba

Statutes

HeinOnLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnLine includes modules for legal journals, government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and other legal research collections.

In Print:

Annual Volumes: JA Weir Law Library, KEM 41
Consolidations / Revised Statutes: JA Weir Law Library, KEM 74
Continuing consolidation of the statutes of Manitoba JA Weir Law Library, KEM 41

Regulations

In Print: JA Weir Law Library, KEM 74

Bills

Manitoba Bills
Manitoba - Direct link to Bills by session

In Print: 1971-2003, JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 MA XB

Committees

Manitoba - Committees
Manitoba Transcript of Proceedings
Committee Debates links are in right hand column

Debates

Manitoba Hansard
Manitoba Historical Society
Manitoba Hansard October 1958 - August 1959

In Print: 1971-2001 JA Weir Law Library GOV DOC CA2 MA X1

Gazette

The Manitoba Gazette
Part II, Regulations, 2000-.

In Print: JA Weir Law Library, KEM 74

Journals

In Print: JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 MA X2 J53

Municipalities - Bylaws, local government, etc.

Association of Manitoba Municipalities

Order Paper

Manitoba - Order and Notice Paper
Current session

Orders in Council

Manitoba Orders in Council

Sessional Papers

In Print: Journals of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Manitoba , 1885-1999 JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 MA X2 J53 Some volumes contain both journals and sessional papers.

Votes and Proceedings

Manitoba Votes and Proceedings

Ontario

Statutes

Ontario e-Laws
Ontario Legislation on Canlii
In Print: JA Weir Law Library, KEO 63

HeinOnLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnLine includes modules for legal journals, government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and other legal research collections.

Regulations

Ontario e-Laws
Ontario Legislation on Canlii
In Print: JA Weir Library, KEO 87 O59

Bills

Ontario Bills and Lawmaking
1995-
In Print: 1947-1999 JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 ON XB

Committees

Ontario Committees

Debates (Hansard)

Ontario Debates and Proceedings
1978-
In Print: 1972-1996 JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 ON X1

Gazette

Ontario Gazette
In Print: 1968- JA Weir Law library, KEO 87

Journals

In Print:
JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 ON X2 J51 (1867-1998)

Order Paper

Ontario Order Paper Questions and Responses

Votes and Proceedings

Quebec

Statutes

Compilation of Québec Laws and Regulations
Québec Legislation on Canlii
In Print: JA Weir Law Library, KEQ 63 (revised) and KEQ 64 (annual)

HeinOnLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnLine includes modules for legal journals, government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and other legal research collections.

Regulations

Compilation of Québec Laws and Regulations
Québec Legislation on Canlii
In Print: JA Weir Law Library, KEQ 79 Q313e

Bills

Québec Bills Introduced in the National Assembly
1996-
In Print: 1970- JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 PQ XB

Committees

Québec Committees

Debates (Hansard)

Québec Journal des débats
(Hansard) 1908- Only in French
In Print: 1867- JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 PQ X1

Gazette

Gazette officielle du Québec. Partie 1
Avis juridiques, French only
Gazette officielle du Québec. Partie 2
Lois et règlements, French only
In print:
Gazette officielle du Québec. Québec official gazette, 1929-1972 JA Weir Law Library, KEQ 79 Q3
Gazette officielle du Québec. Partie 1, Avis juridique, 1973- JA Weir Law Library,KEQ 79 Q312
Gazette officielle du Québec. Part 2, Laws and regulation, 1978- JA Weir Law Library,KEQ 79 Q313e

Journals

In Print: 1879-1912 JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC PQ X2 J54

Municipalities - Bylaws, local government, etc.

Répertoire des municipalités

Order Paper

Québec Order Paper & Notices of the National Assembly

New Brunswick

Statutes

HeinOnLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnLine includes modules for legal journals, government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and other legal research collections.

In Print:

Annual Volumes, 1786- JA Weir Law Library, KEN 41

Consolidations/Revised Statutes:

Consolidations/Revised Statutes 1877, 1927, 1952, 1973, KEN 41

Regulations

In Print: JA Weir Law Library, KEN 74

Bills

New Brunswick Status of Legislation
Current session
Past Legislatures
Select Legislature you are interested in, then select Status of Legislation.

In Print: 1971-2003 JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 NB XB

Committees

Debates (Hansard)

New Brunswick Debates
Note: Only key speeches have been transcribed here.

In print: JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 NB X1

Gazette

New Brunswick - The Royal Gazette
2000-

In Print: 1967-2002 JA Weir Law Library, KEN 74

Journals

New Brunswick - Journals
Current session
New Brunswick - Journals Past Legislatures

In Print: JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 NB X2 J53

Municipalities - Bylaws, local government, etc.

New Brunswick Local Governments - Community Profiles

Order Paper

New Brunswick - Order and Notice Paper
Orders of the Day, current session

Orders in Council

New Brunswick - Orders in Council

Nova Scotia

Statutes

Nova Scotia - Consolidated Public Statutes
Nova Scotia Legislation on Canlii
Nova Scotia - Index to Private and Local Acts
Links on lower left
Nova Scotia - Statutes at Large
1758-1835
Nova Scotia - Statutes by Session
1995/96-

HeinOnLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnLine includes modules for legal journals, government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and other legal research collections.

In Print: JA Weir Law Library, KEN 7441

Regulations

In Print: Royal gazette, 1967- JA Weir Law Library, KEN 7471 A23 N935 Pt. II, Regulations under the Regulations act

Bills

Nova Scotia Legislature Status of Bills
From 1995/96-

In Print: 1972-2004 JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 NS XB

Committees

Debates (Hansard)

Nova Scotia Hansard
1995-

In Print: 1973-2004 JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 NS X1

Gazette

Nova Scotia - Royal Gazette Part 1
2006- (Weekly issues link is on left)
Nova Scotia - Royal Gazette Part 2
2002- (Bi-weekly issues link is on left)

In Print: 1967- JA Weir Law Library, KEN 7471 A23 N935

Journals

Nova Scotia Journals
2003-

In Print: 1894-2002 JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 NS X2 J53

Municipalities - Bylaws, local government, etc.

Nova Scotia - Find Your Municipality

Order Paper

Nova Scotia - Daily Business - Order Papers

Orders in Council

Nova Scotia - Orders in Council

Prince Edward Island

Statutes

HeinOnLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnLine includes modules for legal journals, government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and other legal research collections.

In print: JA Weir Law Library, KEP 41

Regulations

In Print:

The revised regulations of Prince Edward Island [Loose-leaf] JA Weir Law Library, KEP 74
Royal gazette, 1968- JA Weir Law Library, KEP 71 A23 P954

Bills

PEI Progress of Bills
1997-

In Print: 1972-2007 JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 PE XB

Committees

PEI Committee Reports
PEI Committees
1996-

Gazette

PEI Royal Gazette
1999-

In Print: 1968- JA Weir Law Library, KEP 71 A23 P954

Journals

PEI Journals 2000-
1827-1866
Journals of the House of Assembly of Prince Edward Island
1806-1866

In Print: 1897- JA Weir Library, GOC DOC CA2 PE X2 J53

Municipalities - Bylaws, local government, etc.

Consult websites of individual municipalities

Order Paper

Order of the Day
2000-

Newfoundland and Labrador

Statutes

Newfoundland - Statutes and Regulations
Includes current consolidation, annual statutes and Table of Public Statutes
Newfoundland Legislation on Canlii
The Newfoundland Lawyer's Vade Mecum, 1892
Being a selection from the consolidated statutes (second series) of those chapters to which reference is most frequently required in practice. With an appendix, of matters relating to the government, the legislature, the administration of justice, &c., in the colony.

HeinOnLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnLine includes modules for legal journals, government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and other legal research collections.

Regulations

Newfoundland - Statutes and Regulations
Includes current consolidation, annual statutes and Table of Public Statutes
Newfoundland - Legislation on Canlii

In Print: JA Weir Law Library, KEN 1274

Bills

Newfoundland - Progress of Bills

In Print: 1971- JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 NF XB

Committees

Newfoundland Committees

Debates (Hansard)

Newfoundland Hansard
1991-
Newfoundland Hansard Index
1998- Subject and Speaker index

Gazette

In Print:

The Newfoundland gazette , 1969-1971 JA Weir Law Library, KEN 1289
The Newfoundland gazette. 1974- JA Weir Law Library, KEN 1274

Journals

Journals of the Proceedings of the House
2009-

Municipalities - Bylaws, local government, etc.

Order Paper

Newfoundland Order Papers
2003-

Nunavut

Statutes

Nunavut Current Consolidated Statutes and Regulations
Not all the legislation of Nunavut is available as an up-to-date consolidation
Nunavut Legislation on Canlii
Nunavut Consolidated Statutes and Regulations current to April 1, 1999
Date of division from the Northwest Territories

HeinOnLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnLine includes modules for legal journals, government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and other legal research collections.

Regulations

Nunavut Current Consolidated Statutes and Regulations
Not all the legislation of Nunavut is available as an up-to-date consolidation
Nunavut Legislation on Canlii
Nunavut Consolidated Statutes and Regulations current to April 1, 1999
Date of division from the Northwest Territories
Nunavut Gazette
Tables of Regulations and Other Statutory Instruments of Nunavut

Bills

Committees

Debates (Hansard)

Nunavut Hansard

Gazette

Nunavut Gazette

Municipalities - Local government , bylaws, etc.

Northwest Territories

Statutes

NWT Legislation
NWT Legislation on Canlii
Ordinances of the Northwest Territories (UofC Digital Collections)
1877 - 1905 (registration required, free account)

HeinOnLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1875 - 2015 (includes Ordinances of the Northwest Territories)
HeinOnLine includes modules for legal journals, government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and other legal research collections.

In Print: JA Weir Law Library, KEN 5441

Regulations

In Print:

Orders and regulations 1966, 1979 JA Weir Law Library, KEN 5478 N879
Revised regulations of the Northwest Territories 1980, 1990 JA Weir Law Library, KEN 5474
Gazette, 1979- JA Weir Law Library, KEN 5474 Includes parts I-III, Part 2 contains delegated or subordinate legislation

Bills

In Print: 1991- JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 NT XB

Committees

Debates (Hansard)

NWT Hansard

In Print: 1965- JA Weir Law Library,GOV DOC CA2 NT X1

Gazette

NWT Gazette
1994-

In Print: 1979- JA Weir Law Library, KEN 5474

Journals

In Print: Journals of the Legislative assembly of the North-west Territories, 1889-1904 JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 NT X2 J51

Municipalities - Bylaws, local government, etc.

NWT Community Government List

Yukon

Statutes

Yukon Territory Statutes and Regulations
Yukon Territory Legislation on Canlii
Yukon Territory Annual Acts
2003-
Yukon Territory Non-Consolidated Not In Force
Yukon Territory Table of Public Statutes
In Print: JA Weir Library, KEY 41

HeinOnLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnLine includes modules for legal journals, government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and other legal research collections.

Regulations

Yukon Territory Statutes and Regulations
Yukon Territory Legislation on Canlii
Yukon Territory New Regulations
Yukon Territory Index of Regulations
In Print:
Regulations of the Yukon [Loose-leaf] JA Weir Library, KEY 78 Y942
The Yukon Gazette, 1982- JA Weir Library, KEY 71 A28 Y94 Pt. 2. Regulations appear monthly

Bills

Yukon Territory Progress of Bills
1992-

Committees

Yukon Territory Committees of the Yukon Legislative Assembly
Click on name of committee to access reports and/or transcripts
Yukon Territory Committee Reports and Documents

Debates (Hansard)

Yukon Territory Hansard Search
In Print: 1982- JA Weir Law Library, GOV DOC CA2 YU X1

Gazette

Yukon Gazette
In Print: 1982- JA Weir Law Library, KEY 71 A28 Y94

Journals

Yukon Territory Journals
Tab at top of page for past legislative assemblies.
In print: 1903-1920 JA Weir Library, GOV DOC CA2 YU X2 J59

Municipalities - Bylaws, local government, etc

Order Paper

Yukon Territory Order Paper
Calendar
Previous order papers are available through the calendar.

Orders in Council

Yukon Gazette, Part 2
Orders-in-Council appear in Part 2 of the Yukon Gazette
In Print: Orders in Council are printed in Part 2 of the Yukon Gazette 1982- JA Weir Library, KEY 71 A28 Y94

Votes and Proceedings

Yukon Territory Journals
1992- From the Journals page, click on the legislative session you want, then click on the votes and proceedings link. Tab at top of page for past legislative assemblies.

Digital Repositories of Provincial Publications

Many libraries now provide permanent access to “born digital” provincial publications through their library catalogues (note that the extent of these programs vary). Other provincial digitization/ capture programs are also noted.

Peel's Prairie Provinces This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for materials (some full-text) about the history and development of Canada's prairie provinces from earliest times to mid twentieth century.