Getting Started
- Library of Parliament Research Branch PublicationsProvide analyses of issues facing Canadian Parliament and Legislative Summaries of recent bills
- House of Commons Procedure and Practice, 3rd EditionOne of the key procedural authorities used by Members of the Canadian House of Commons.
- Canadian Federal Areas of Responsibility: Cabinet, Parliamentary Secretaries and Opposition CriticsInformation on current Cabinet membership, Parliamentary Secretaries and Opposition Party Critics
Speeches from the Throne
Parliamentary Materials
Bills introduced in the House of Commons or the Senate are referenced in the Debates and Journals for each house.
- LEGISinfo (1994-current)Coverage starts with 35th Parliament, 1st session. Includes: The text of the bill at various stages, important speeches at second reading, votes, and coming into force data, and Government press releases and backgrounders (for government bills).
- Canadiana Online (1867-1900)First readings of bills introduced between 1867-1873 and 1898-1900
- Canadian Parliamentary Historical ResourcesHistorical Resources, a free searchable database of digitized versions of parliamentary publications from the 1st Session of the 1st Parliament (1867) until the 35th Parliament (1997). The publications that are made available are: debates, journals, committee documentation and bills of both the Senate and the House of Commons. It also contains the Senate Minutes of Proceedings, the Rules of the Senate, the House of Commons Votes and Proceedings, and the Standing Orders of the House of Commons. Historical sessional papers are also available from 1867 to 1901.
Debates provide an edited and corrected transcript of Senate business, and are available through a variety of sources, listed by dates covered below.
Journals are the official record of the decisions and other transactions of the Senate. They are available through a variety of sources, listed by dates covered below.
Debates (aka Hansard) provide an edited and corrected transcript of House business, and are available through a variety of sources, listed by dates covered below.
- 1867-1870: Early Canadiana OnlineAnd the Weir Law Library J 103 K2 C46
- 1901 - Current: LipadFull text searchable and downloadable.
Journals are the official record of the decisions and other transactions of the House. They are available through a variety of sources, listed by dates covered below.
The Canada Gazette is the official newspaper of the Government of Canada, it contains information about new statutes, new and proposed regulations, administrative board decisions and public notices.
- Canada GazettePart Ⅰ: Notices and Proposed Regulations
Part Ⅱ: Official Regulations
Part Ⅲ: Acts of Parliament
Documents that are tabled or filed in the legislature are titled Sessional Papers, and are referenced with a unique number, within the Journals of each house. These documents are held by the Library of Parliament and are made available through a variety of sources, listed by dates covered below.
- Journals of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada 1841-1866Print: J 102 J2 C36 S4 1972 v.1-13
- General index to the Journals of the Legislative Assembly of Canada, 1841-1851Print: J 102 K2 C36 T6 v.1
- General index to the Journals of the Legislative Assembly of Canada, 1852-1866Print: J 102 K2 C36 T6 v.2
- Sessional Papers of the Province of Canada: 1860-1866Also in paper in Rutherford Library North, J 103 H2 C36
Laws of Canada
- HeinOnLineContains Annual Statutes of Canada (including the Province of Canada and Upper and Lower Canada) from 1792-2015, and the complete collection of Revised Statutes of Canada, 1886-1985.
Open Data Tools
- LipadFull text searchable, downloadable, and interactive transcript of the Canadian House of Commons Hansard Debates, 1901-Current.
- Open ParliamentIndependent, non-governmental site aims to make the workings of parliament (votes, speeches, committees, social media, and more) more easily accessible and searchable.