Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCovers communication and mass media. Originated with the merging of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowAlso known as APA PsycInfo. It covers the international literature in psychology. Topics include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, education psychology, experimental psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology, psychometrics, social psychology and sports psychology. Formats covered by this database are: journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and technical reports.
Often used in workplaces to help teams work better together.
10 Career Essentials by Donna DunningFocusing on day-to-day behaviors, as well as practical tips and strategies, author Donna Dunning shows readers how to make the most of the 80,000 hours the average person spends at work. Dunning provides key self-assessment tools and tips, allowing each individual to improve and implement their career strategy based on their personality type.
Publication Date: 2010-05-16
The Aptitude Test Workbook: discover your potential and improve your career options with practice psychometric tests by Jim BarrettMany organizations and educational institutions use psychometric testing to uncover candidates' abilities and asses their potential. The Aptitude Test Workbook will help candidates prepare for these tests and give them an awareness of their strengths and where they could take you. A companion to Test Your Own Aptitude, it contains 16 tests with over 400 questions - verbal, numerical, perceptual, spatial and practical. With new detailed explanations to aid your learning as well as real life assessments, this new edition is a vital read. Packed with practical advice, help sections and expert tips, it will help the reader improve their key skills and find their ultimate career direction.
Publication Date: 2011-02-15
Follow Your True Colors to the Work You Love by Carolyn KalilSo many people these days feel trapped in dissatisfying jobs yet are afraid to leave because they don't know what else to do. It is for these people that Follow Your True Colors to the Work You Love offers a beacon of hope. With simple style and clarity, author Carolyn Kalil takes the mystery ( and misery) out of the job search process. Believing that you can't know what you want until you know who you are, she begins by helping readers determine their natural gifts and talents. Using True Colors, a personality system rooted in Meyers-Briggs Type Indicator research, she guides the reader on a journey of self-discovery to find their unique strengths--their True Colors. Whether you are a Blue, Orange, Green or Gold, you will find insight to help you match your strengths--with a rewarding career filled with self-expression, passion, and success. Follow Your True Colors to the Work You Love is much more than just another career book about job searching, it is about soul searching. In it you will find an outline for success--a strategic plan to achieve a career you will love. And you will find the motivation to see the plan through. Were this a required text at the university level, a lot of people would be spared stress and headaches later in life. But as you will discover with this book, it's never too late to find the work you love.
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Showing Our True Colors by Mary Miscisin; Jeff Haines (Illustrator)Unlike so many books in this genre, Showing Our True Colors presents a fun, even zany, approach to understanding and appreciating ourselves and others. Author Mary Miscisin's down to earth style and creative flair help explain the True Colors process in a way that all can easily understand. Included with the book are colorful Character Cards, each representing one of four main personality styles. With these cards at the ready, Miscisin guides us on a journey of self-discovery to find our unique strengths and talents--our True Colors. As we begin to understand our individual Color Spectrum, we become better equipped to appreciate our uniqueness. But Miscisin doesn't stop there. The key elements of this book go beyond tolerance, to appreciation for others. As she unravels the characteristics behind each of the four colors--Blue, Orange, God, Green--Miscisin brings us to a clearer understanding of the differences in those around us. And she reveals simple steps we can take to reduce conflict and improve communication. Throughout the book, charming anectodes are used to convey how the True Colors concepts can be used in real life situations. These together with a collection of cartoon-style illustrations make Showing Our True Colors an easy and enjoyable read.
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
Interpersonal Communication by Denise Solomon; Jennifer TheissSome of us may believe that interpersonal communication is a matter of common sense or that skillful communication is an innate ability that you either have or you don't. In this text, Denise Solomon and Jennifer Theiss demonstrate that interpersonal communication skills are not just common sense; nor are they mysterious qualities that defy learning. Interpersonal Communication: Putting Theory into Practicedraws on theory and research in the interpersonal communication discipline to help you identify strategies to improve your communication skills. Denise and Jen introduce interpersonal communication as a subject of scientific research that has enormous relevance to your daily lives. You will learn to use what researchers have discovered about interpersonal communication to improve your own ability to communicate well. You will also read about contemporary research in interpersonal communication, a foundation for establishing skill-building tips. In making research accessible, Denise and Jen show that communication scholars tackle important questions that have real-life relevance, and they dispel myths about interpersonal communication. A touchstone throughout this book is a commitment to topics and applications that can help you in many different situations and throughout your life. The companion website provides self-assessment quizzes, video interviews with scholars, and more. When you have finished reading this text, you will be better prepared to communicate effectively in all areas of your world, with skills and understanding that you can use to improve your interactions with the people around you.
Publication Date: 2012-12-12
Interpersonal Communication by Charles R. Berger (Editor)This handbook comprehensively covers the field of interpersonal communication, including research on processes of social influence, the role of communication close personal relationships, nonverbal communication, cognitive approaches, conflict, bargaining and negotiation, health communication, organizational socialization, social networks, and technologically-mediated communication, as well as two chapters on research methods.
New Perspectives on (Im)Politeness and Interpersonal Communication by Lucis Fernàndez Amaya; Maria De La O. Hernàndez Lòpez; Reyes Gòmez Moròn; Padilla Manuel Cruz; Mejias Manuel Borrero; Mariana Relinque Barranca"New Perspectives on (Im)Politeness and Interpersonal Communication gathers eleven studies by prominent scholars, which explore issues related to (im)politeness in human communication. The study of linguistic (im)politeness is undoubtedly one of the central concerns in the field of pragmatics, as attested to by the numerous conferences and journals currently dedicated to the topic, the various theoretical models and approaches developed or developing so far, and the seemingly endless list of insightful and inspiring empirical studies tackling the topic from a wide variety of angles. This volume contributes to the subfield of social pragmatics by putting together works that review the state of the art of (im)politeness studies, analysing (im)politeness in media contexts like the Internet or dubbed films and other contexts, looking into the effects and consequences of some speech acts for social interaction, drawing implications for language teaching, and approaching some of the linguistic mechanisms which help to communicate (im)politeness. Resulting from the efforts made by specialists in the field, the chapters in this volume offer additional evidence that examining the complexity of interpersonal communication from different standpoints can benefit a more complete understanding of social interaction in general. Their scope and practical applications demonstrate the transversality and versatility of interpersonal communication. The editors hope that these works will retain scholars' interest and attention for some time to come and spark off further research.
Publication Date: 2012-12-01
You Said What?! by Kim Zoller; Kerry PrestonCommunication is a measure of how we are heard. It's not about us; it is about how the other person perceives our message. If you are not where you should be in your career, the problem may very well be how you communicate. You Said What?! is an action-oriented book that gives you solid techniques that can be used right away to achieve effective results, including: Quick tips and strategies on communication skills. Real-life stories of how business communication can impact your career. Tools that help you be understood and heard. You Said What?! will help you strengthen your message by planning and sharpening your communication skills.
The Gender Communication Handbook by Claire Damken Brown; Audrey NelsonMen and women exhibit distinct, innate, and acculturated sex differences in their verbal and nonverbal communication styles. In the work environment, the difficulties and misunderstandings generated by these differences not only reduce productivity and efficiency but also lower morale. In this book, the authors show through empirical research and extensive anecdotal evidence garnered from fifty years of combined corporate work experience, research, gender seminars, coaching and consulting the specific verbal and nonverbal behaviors men and women employ that define our sex roles′ expectations yet paradoxically often ultimately result in barriers to effective inter-gender communication.
Privilege by Michael S. Kimmel; Abby L. FerberPrivilege is about more than being white, wealthy, and male--as Michael Kimmel, Abby Ferber, and a wide range of contributors make clear in this innovative and timely anthology. In an era when "diversity” is too often shorthand for "of color” and/or "female,” the personal and analytical essays in this collection explore the multifaceted nature of social location and consider how gender, class, race, sexual orientation, (dis)ability and religion interactto create nuanced layers of privilege and oppression. The individual essays are powerfully thought-provoking; taken together, they help guide students to a deep understanding of the dynamics of diversity and stratification, advantage and power. The third edition features ten new or newly-recast essays which will help students understand the intersectional nature of privilege and oppression. Enhanced pedagogy (including new discussion questions and "personal connections” activities at the conclusion of each section) encourages students to examine their own assumptions, beliefs, values, practices, and social locations--without becoming overwhelmed.