Audience Analysis - ALES 204 - Communication Fundamentals for Professionals - Subject Guides at University of Alberta Libraries

Demographics

CANSIM (via CHASS) This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to current and historical statistical time series on a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life as collected by Statistics Canada as well as other government agencies such as the Bank of Canada. CHASS continues to provide updated data and search interfaces for this legacy Statistics Canada product.

2021 Census (Statistics Canada)
Population & dwelling counts, age & sex, families, households & marital status, structural type of dwelling, and language.
Demographic Data and Analysis (Alberta)
Collection of demographic information from a range of sources compiled by the Alberta Treasury Board and Finance.
Municipal Census 2019 (City of Edmonton)
City-wide, ward and neighbourhood summaries. Select Municipal Census Results from the right column, scroll down to view data by ward and neighborhood. Previous (2008, 2009, 2012) data also available (see left column under heading Facts & Figures).
Office of Statistics and Information (Government of Alberta
Provides detailed economic and social statistics at the provincial and municipal level.

Market Analysis

You can also find market analysis in the industry profile resources.

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window Passport is a global market research database providing insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. Nutrition data includes country consumption for nutrients: Energy (calories), Protein, Carbohydrates, Sugar, Fat, Saturated Fat, Fibre, and Salt.
Mintel Reports Mintel offers market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.
MarketResearch.com Academic MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to market research reports that cover a variety of sectors such as beverages, food, office supplies, personal care and telecommunications. The reports are detailed and international in scope and application. The database features daily updates, charts and graphs. Includes reports only from: Freedonia Focus; Packaged Facts; Simba Information; Kalorama Information
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window This is a mapping and data analysis database that allows users to create thematic maps and reports using thousands of Canadian demographic, spending, business and marketing data. Data and reports can be generated nation-wide by Province, CMA, CD, FSA, CSD, CT and DA. This database also includes premium market segmentation data (PRIZM) from Environics, which allows the analysis of customer's lifestyles and trends.
SimplyAnalytics is licensed for only 5 concurrent users.
SimplyAnalytics is a mapping and data analysis database that allows users to create thematic maps and reports using Canadian demographic, household, business, and marketing data. There are two ways to access SimplyAnalytics:
- With an individual account. This will allow you to save work from session to session. To create an individual account or use your existing account, click on the link below.
- With a guest account. You will not be able to save your work from session to session. Click on the link below, and follow the instructions near the bottom of the screen to access with a temporary account.

ALES 204 - Communication Fundamentals for Professionals

Demographics

Market Analysis

Journals

Library Guides