Performing Arts Periodicals DatabaseProvides indexing and abstracts from sources covering film, theatre, dance, stagecraft, television, and more. Coverage ranges from 1864 to current. Full text is available for approximately 25% of the indexed journals.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextContains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for a number of these titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available from selected books & monographs.
MLA International BibliographyMLA International Bibliography (1926 to the present) covers literature in English and in other modern languages; linguistics; folklore. It includes books (and chapters in books), journal articles, conference papers, and dissertations concerning general and comparative literature, linguistics in general and of all modern languages, all modern literatures, and folklore. No abstracts are provided, and there are no listings for book reviews.
Humanities International CompleteAlso known as: |American Humanities Index|Humanities International Index| Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals as well as books and other reference sources in the humanities. Includes full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Humanities International Index was formerly titled American Humanities Index.
Also know as: |Arts & Humanities Full Text|. Contains text in Ancient Greek, Arabic, Basque, Bengali, Bosnian, Cherokee, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, French / Français, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Latin, Maori, Middle English, Middle French, Old English, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Sanskrit, Scots, Serbian, Slavic, Slovenian, Spanish, Tagalog and Turkish languages.
Academic Search CompleteAlso known as: |Academic Search Premier| Academic Search Complete provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for a subset of these journals.
Contains text in Afrikaans, Albanian, Ancient Greek, Arabic, Azerbaijani, Basque, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Filipino, Flemish, French / Français, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Iranian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Modern Greek, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Serbo-Croatian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Turkish, Ukrainian and Urdu languages.
Are you looking for information about a playwright, actor, or genre of theatre? These are examples of the types of information you can find using the resources below. For more resources, visit Finding Background Information.
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia(Also known as Encyclopedia of Canadian Theatre), This database consists of information about Canadian actors, playwrights, directors, producers, designers, theatre organizations and institutions, composers and plays. Maintained by Athabasca University as a service to the Canadian theatre community.
Theatre in VideoThis database provides video content types used in theatre education (filmed stage performances, master classes, documentaries, and training material) with teaching tools (playlists, video clips, on-screen transcripts).
Includes content in Arabic, English, French / Français, German, Greek, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Pashto, Russian, Spanish and Yiddish languages.
BroadwayHDThis database brings live Broadway theatre productions from the stage to your screen. The productions range from Shakespeare to modern musicals, drama's and adaptations of plays 1960-present.
LitfinderAlso known as: |Gale Literature: Litfinder| Litfinder provides access to the full text of a variety of literature including poems, stories, and plays. Also includes additional information sources such as biographies, essays and explanations.
Contains text in English, French / Français and Spanish languages.
American Film Scripts OnlineIndexes one thousand film scripts to allow searching by a variety of fields such as scene, character, and director. Most of these scripts are previously unpublished, and about half appear as facsimile images.
American Drama (1714-1915)Contains more than 1,100 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth. Includes: plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a range of other genres. Major dramatists include Clyde Fitch, Augustin Daly, David Belasco, James Herne and Joaquin Miller. Includes overviews of the lives and works of featured authors.
English Drama (1280-1915)This is a combination of Chadwyck-Healeys English Verse Drama and English Prose Drama full-text databases. Includes 4,000 plays by 1,200 authors from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth century. Includes overviews of the lives and works of featured authors.
Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship, Society and the StageFeatures the John Larpent Collection from the Huntington Library ? a unique archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824, as well as hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays. Explore the Larpent plays, papers of prominent theatrical figures of the period, including correspondence, financial documents, and portraits. Cross-reference this with essential searchable databases created from information in The London Stage 1660-1800 and A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers & Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800.