Subject Guides: Drama: Reference Works

Reference Works in Online Library Resources

Browse our A-Z list of databases for online reference resources using a Keyword, such as bibliography, dictionary, reference, etc...

Example "bibliography"

Reference Works in Print

We have many "reference books" in print or digital format. Your best bet to discover them is to use our online catalogue. Subject terms that will be useful in the "Advanced search" include:

(drama OR theater)
- (NB: use the American spelling here to find both Canadian and American Results. If you only want Canadian results, use the Canadian form of "Theatre")

AND (any of the following...)

bibliography
dictionary
directory
encyclopedia
reference

Select Reference Tools

ARTFL Project (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted. Fully searchable, and browsable by subject.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peel's Prairie Provinces This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Tertiary Sources

Tertiary Sources are often referred to as Reference Materials, AKA sources of “useful information”. They often include such items as:

Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Filmographies
Discographies
Bibliographies
Cookbooks
Handbooks
Manuals
Textbooks
YouTube instructional video

Select Web Resources

CEAD: Centre Des Auteurs Dramatiques
Biographical and bibliographical database on Canadian Francophone playwrights; searchable by author, title, and translation information

Electronic Literature Directory
Covers drama and other literature making significant use of electronic techniques or enhancements, listed by works, authors, publishers

Index Translationum – World Bibliography of Translation
Bibliographical information on books translated and published in and about 100 UNESCO member states since 1979

L'ÎLE: L'infocentre littéraire des écrivains québécois
Biographies and bibliographies of over 850 québécois authors

Out of the Wings: Spanish and Spanish American Theatres in Translation
Bibliography of Spanish-language plays, searchable by genre, casting, synopsis, sample text, production notes, and more