Subject Guides: HIST 490/646 Discovery and Colonisation of Australia: Articles & Theses

Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes doctoral and masters theses (from all areas of study) accepted by over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities. Doctoral theses published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts, citations for the master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts, and most dissertations published after November 1996 are available fulltext in PDF.

Databases and Indexes

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides cross-searching of the NEOS Library Catalogue as well as many of the electronic resources the Library subscribes to, including Historical Abstracts, British Humanities Index, and Academic Search Complete.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of world history (including Great Britain) since 1450. Indexes articles written from 1954 to present.
Humanities Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as newspapers published in the UK. Preceded by the Subject Index to Periodicals (1915-1961).
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines.
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search articles published in academic journals and the popular press (1665-1995). Includes access to over 1,000 periodicals in the subject area of history.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century.

Bibliographies

Bibliography of British history, 1851-1914
Call Number: DA 530 Z9 H23 1976
Contains 10,829 entries in 15 chapters. Bibliographies arranged chronologically and subsequently by regions and special topics. Good coverage of the British Empire. Also includes an index.
Bibliography of British history, 1914-1989
Call Number: DA 566 Z9 R63 1996
Contains 27, 264 entries in 15 chapters. Bibliographies arranged under broad socio-economic-cultural-historical time periods. Good coverage of the British Empire and the Commonwealth. Also includes an index.

National Library of Australia: Trove
- select "available online" and "Australian content" to limit to Australian digital collections. Not all titles are open access.

Bibliography of Imperial, Colonial, and Commonwealth History since 1600 by Andrew Porter
- This link opens in a new window

Citation Databases

Use a Citation Database to find out where an article or a book has been cited.

Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- includes citation information for articles in the Humanities back to 1898, and books in the Humanties back to 2005.

Why to use a Citation Database:

You have one useful publication on your topic, but cannot find others. Expand your search by finding out who has cited the publication since it has been written.
You want to find out how many times and article or book has been cited