HIST 490/646 Discovery and Colonisation of Australia

Search in the Library Catalogue and include subject keywords that describe the type of document, such as: 

• diaries, letters, 
  correspondence, personal narratives
• speeches, addresses 
• documents, sources

Example: 
Keyword: Australia and (coloni$ or pioneer$) and (letters or correspondence or personal narratives or sources)

Search in the Library Catalogue for a historical figure as an author, ie:
Author: Flinders, Matthew, 1774-1814
Author: Chisholm, Caroline

------------------------------------------

To find books that are collections of primary sources, search  for keywords that describe your topic, combined with subject keywords such as sources, documents, diaries, etc.

 Example Searches:

Subject: sources or correspondence or diaries or letters
and
Subject: history and Australia

Keyword: Van Diemen's Land
and
Subject: sources or correspondence or diaries or letters

Library Guide to Government Information 

• Australian Government Information:
• Hansard - entire Hansard has been digitised back to 1901. In the Search Hansard box, click on "more options" and choose the number of the Parliament that you want to search.
• Documenting a Democracy - Museum of Australian Democracy and National Archives of Australia collection of key documents
• Annotated Constitution of the Australian Commonwealth
• Australian Legal Information Institute - includes some historical publications, eg:
  - Victorian Government Gazettes 1851-1999 - includes the Gazettes for New South Wales (1836-1851) and Gazettes for Port Phillip (1843-1851)
• Geological Survey of South Australia. Bulletin. 1912-1926
  QE 345 A4 no.1-12, 1912-1926 - Research and Collections Resource Facility (RCRF)
• Government of New South Wales State Records - includes index to Convict Records
• Index to the Colonial Secretary's Papers, 1788-1825. Microfilm.
• Search in the Library Catalogue. Example searches:
• Australia and Royal Commission
• Author starting with: South Australia
• Author starting with: New South Wales
• Advanced Search: Author: Australia and Title:Report or Bulletin and Year: [limit by date range, eg: 1900-1930]

Library guide to British Government Information

• House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (Great Britian)
  Sessional papers, sometimes called blue books, were required for the work of the House of Commons, providing information on matters of policy and administration, and ordered by the House to be printed. House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) includes digital versions of these sessional papers for the 18th century forward. 
• Index to British parliamentary papers on Australia and New Zealand, 1800-1899  DU 110 I68 1974
• Irish University Press series of British parliamentary papers GOV DOC UK1 X8 S45 C53
  →Irish University Press series of British parliamentary papers. Colonies: Australia - DU 96 I76 1969
  →Irish University Press series of British parliamentary papers. Crime and Punishment: Penal Servitude: HV 8950 A8 I75 1969.
  →Irish University Press series of British parliamentary papers. Anthropology: Aborigines - GOV DOC UK1 X8 S45 A57

Trove: Historical Newspapers and more

Gale News Vault
Covers Newspaper collections from the 17th through 21s centuries