Subject Guides: Citation and Reference Management: EndNote

EndNote

Although there is a free online version of Endnote, this guide mostly refers to the desktop version (EndNote 20) that must be purchased. UofA students and faculty can get a discounted price at ualberta.onthehub.com.

Best features: Can store 10,000+ references and PDFs; deduplicates large numbers of references; many reference types (helpful for accurate citation); highly customizable; ability to work offline.

Drawbacks: Price (~$140); license tied to one device; steeper learning curve than other options; no Google Docs integration (only MS Word and LibreOffice).

Getting Started With EndNote

EndNote Training Resources
Access video tutorials, self-guided courses, reference guides, and live training.
How to use EndNote 20 in seven minutes: Windows
This video provides a quick overview of the most basic workflows in EndNote 20 for Windows.
How to use EndNote 20 in seven minutes: macOS
This video provides a quick overview of the most basic workflows in EndNote 20 for macOS.

EndNote Support

EndNote Support

EndNote Configuration for Library Resources

Information on configuring EndNote to access library resources as well as tip sheets on importing records into EndNote from our major database platforms:

U of Alberta EndNote Full-text Configuration
Step by step instructions for linking your EndNote to U of A Library journal subscriptions in order to automatically retrieve full text. Please note: this only tends to retrieve 30-50% of articles. The rest must be done manually by clicking on links in individual records.
Exporting Results from Ovid Databases to EndNote
Exporting Results from EBSCO Databases into EndNote
Exporting Results from PubMed into EndNote
Exporting Results from Scopus to EndNote
Exporting Results from Web of Science Databases to EndNote
Exporting Results from ProQuest Databases to EndNote
Exporting Results from the Cochrane Library to EndNote