Subject Guides: Classics: Home

Librarian

Email Me

Useful Databases for Related Subjects

ATLA Religion Database
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.
Philosopher's Index
Topics include all major fields of philosophy, including Aesthetics, Epistemology, Ethics, Logic (including mathematics), Metaphysics (including philosophy of mind, existentialism, and phenomenology), Political philosophy (including philosophy of law), Social philosophy, and the Philosophy of Education, History, Language, Science and Religion.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Interdisciplinary content, particularly useful database for archaeology

Using this guide

The resources listed in this guide are suggested for finding primary, secondary, and tertiary sources relating to the histories and cultures of the Greek and Roman world from the Mycenaean period (c. 1600 B.C) to the end of the reign of Justinian (565 A.D.). Use the tabs to the left of the screen to navigate to titles on archaeology/epigraphy, language, literature, myths, and maps. The Classic tipsheets linked under the home page tab will provide information, for example, on citing classical texts and classical abbreviations.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Find articles, books, book chapters

L'Annee philologique
Also known as Database of Classical Bibliography. Index of classical literature and modern scholarship on classical literature. Indexes 1500+ periodicals and 500+ book series from 1928-present.

Ebook and journal collections with significant content for Classics:

Brill Online
De Gruyter
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core
JSTOR

Specialized Classics Databases:

TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists)
more...less...
The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains nearly 200 journals, and over 100,000 articles, in a database at Toronto. In addition, the Louvain mirror site archives much additional material for some of the journals before 1992. Searches of all data can be made at both sites. Some collections of articles (e.g., Festschriften) are also now included.
Gnomon Bibliographic Database
more...less...
see also print journal issues: PA 3 G57 Bd.1 1925-2012

Projekt Dyabola
The UofA Library subscribes to only three of the Projekt Dyabola databases:
- Archaeological Bibliography (enhanced Version of Realkatalog) 1956 to present.
- Bibliography of European Prehistory, Monographs (RGK), 1992-2011.
- Eurasienbibliographie des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts, 1998 to present.

Greek and Latin Text Series

Perseus Digital Library

Reference Sources

The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and Rome

The Encyclopedia of Ancient History

Ancient Rome: an anthology of sources

Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics

The Cambridge dictionary of classical civilization

Thesaurus cultus et rituum antiquorum (ThesCRA)

Reference Resources for Classics

Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window

The Encyclopedia of Ancient History

Oxford Reference Online Premium
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new window
Routledge Handbooks Online
Cambridge Histories Online

World History Encyclopedia

Classics Call Numbers - Browse the shelves

You can browse the shelves in Rutherford Library North to see print books arranged by subject. This can be a useful discovery method, but keep in mind that many books are in off-site storage and many are ebooks, so you will be browsing a sub-set of the collection.
Call Numbers (Click to see list)

Other Guides

Film Studies
Streaming Video Databases