Subject Guides: Companies: Profiles & Analysis

Analyst Reports

Value Line Investment Survey
Covers Canadian interlisted stocks, especially energy and financial sector stocks•ratings and analysis. print copies: HG 4501 V215 (BARD)

Company Profiles

Suggested Database List
A link to the Suggested Databases list, which are often useful across a variety of company information needs.

Sustainalytics: Historical Datasets This link opens in a new window
Available datasets:
• 2004-2008 (under former title Canadian Social Investment Database)
• 2009-2011
• 2012-2015

PLEASE NOTE: UofA access to the complete, online Sustainalytics database has unfortunately been cancelled, due to an ongoing access issue with the publisher.
FP Advisor (Financial Post)
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides the full text of newspapers from around the world in addition to Canadian and American newspapers, Dow Jones & Reuters newswires, business journals, market research reports, analyst reports and web sites. Factiva also provides American congressional committee hearings, publications of selected U.S. government departments and agencies, The Federal Register and state laws and regulations, publications of U.S. government watchdog organizations, and selected international government publications.
i3 (Cleantech) This link opens in a new window
Also known as: |Cleantech i3| Database of thousands of clean technology companies, investors and executives. Provides instant updates on clean technology investments, IPOs, mergers, acquisitions, business relationships, and other financing activity. Clients have full access to the searchable, filterable, and exportable database of cleantech investment data going back to 2005.
i3 is licensed for only two concurrent users. If you are unable to access the content, wait awhile and try again.
MSCI ESG Direct
Also known as: ESG Research|Global Socrates Provides ratings and analysis of key ESG (environmental, social and governance) factors for global companies and enables comparison of companies within their industry sectors. Includes 4 MSCI ESG collections: AGR, BISR, Controversies, and Ratings-Equities

SWOT Analyses

MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete
Click on Company Information (top blue menu bar) - search by company.
Select SWOT Analyses (left column - Related Information)
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.
Fitch Connect
Global coverage - SWOTs for companies and industries
To access Fitch Connect
- Click on the “Access Database” button above
- Click on “SSO”
- Enter “universityofalberta” (not case-sensitive) as the Organization ID
- Click on “Continue” and this will redirect you to the CCID login page to verify your credentials
- Log in with your CCID
- Select the “Terms of Use” and “Privacy Policy”
- Click “Accept” to access the database
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Company SWOTs available for large global & American companies.
Click on the Companies tab - search for the company name. Select the global or local company profile. Use the Table of Contents to locate the SWOT analysis.
Note: not all company profiles contain a SWOT analysis.