eBooks

UAL eBook Tips and Tricks

Contact

This libguide is maintained by the Cameron Library public service team. Questions can be directed to sciref@ualberta.ca

eBook Basics

Every ebook collection is different in terms of downloading and printing content; these limits are set by publishers. Some ebooks are made available via the publisher's own e-platform or access to the ebook is facilitated via a 3rd party provider (aggregator). For example ebooks from Cambridge University Press are made available on the my ilibrary (platform) by Ingram (provider/aggregator). So one platform could include ebooks by various publishers. Some ebook collections will allow books to be downloaded to your computer or reader, while others are only available for reading online.  Some collections also restrict the amount of text you may download or the number of pages you may print. 

eBook Downloading, Printing and Troubleshooting

This table includes some (but not all) of the ebook platforms used to provide access to ebooks at U of A Libraries. We've focused on including eBook collections for which there are printing/download/user limits. To see a comprehensive list of all eBooks collections, click here.

For further assistance with accessing ebooks, please do not hesitate to ask us

 ebook platform / provider  Can I download these ebooks to mobile devices or for viewing offline?  

Can I print/save pages? (limits can vary; check each title)

 
 Technical help documentation & notes (if no mention of concurrent user limits then assume unlimited)

  Ebook Central 

  • Business Expert Press 

  • ebrary: As of November 30, 2016, all ebooks the University of Alberta Libraries had purchased on the ebrary platform have moved to ProQuest Ebook Central platform. This new platform maintains all the same functionality as ebrary.

 Yes. Print / Download available on mobile devices. Details here.

Download and print chapter/page limits vary by ebook. 

 Frequently Asked Questions

 EBSCO

 Yes, for unlimited and 3-user limits ebooks.

No, for 1-user limit ebooks.

To download for offline viewing, you need:

1. MyEBSCOhost account

2. For reading on your desktop: download and install Adobe Digital Editions

3. For reading on your device: Bluefire Reader app [iPad/iPhone OR for Android tablet/phone] & Adobe Digital Editions ID

Unlimited and 3-user: Loan up to 14 days

Checkout limit: 50 items

Placing holds: items are held for 1 day for next person in line to download.

For more information see here.

 Limited print / download options

 EBSCO ebooks Support Center;

unlimited, 1- or 3-user limits

Privacy Concerns re. Adobe Digital Editions v.4

· For users wishing to download and then transfer to a dedicated ebook reader (e.g. Nook Touch), EBSCO recommends using an earlier version of Adobe Digital Editions. (ie Adobe 3 Reader)

· For users wishing to download and read on a desktop, EBSCO recommends using Datalogics’ DL Reader or an earlier version of Adobe Digital Editions.

· Users wishing to download  to a mobile device are unaffected and can continue using Bluefire Reader.

  ABC-CLIO

  Yes but download single chapter only via email

  ABC-CLIO ebook Help

 ACLS Humanities E-Book Project

 No

 Limited pages in PDF view

 Search help / FAQ

 ACM Digital Library

 The ACM DL app for Android, iOS and Windows is now available (and free)

 Yes

 Search Help / FAQ

 Blackwell Reference

 

 No

 No limits imposed on printing

 FAQs (including technical issues) /  Help

 Bloombury  

 Yes, as a PDF, and  only a single chapter

 
 Yes, only a single chapter   Help / FAQ

 Books @ Ovid

 

 Yes, only a single chapter  but not entire book.

 

 Book chapters and sections  within a chapter permitted.

 Check Browsing Books section. Unlimited for most, some older books are 1-user limit (for UofA) or 2-3-user limit (shared with HKN) per title

 Books24x7: Business & Finance Collections

 Books24x7: Engineering Collection

 Books24x7: IT Collections 

Yes but limited download in PDF format

 
   Individual account required.
 Brill Online  Yes, as a PDF, and only  a single chapter  Yes, only a single chapter   Help / FAQ
 Cambridge Core

 

 Yes, as a PDF, and only  a single chapter. For  Kindle, use Kindle  Personal Document  Service.

 Yes, only a single chapter  Help / FAQ

 

 dèsLibris

 Open access public documents (PDF) may be downloaded; eBooks are available for online access only.

 Yes, limit unknown.  Create account to add to bookshelf

 MyiLibrary

As of April 25, 2018 all ebooks the University of Alberta Libraries had purchased on the MyiLibrary platform have moved to ProQuest Ebook Central platform. This new platform maintains all the same functionality as MyiLibrary.

 Yes but printing only up to 10%;  Download for multi-user (2 of 3 copies available; 1 held back for viewing online)  Limited print option  

Coutts Help; 1-user limit, multi-user = 3 user limit

 Oxford Scholarship Online

 Yes, print/download available

 Individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph for personal use

 

Take a Tour of Oxford Scholarship  Online, or  Frequently Asked  Questions

 Referex

 Yes. Print  or download individual pages

  Limited print / download options

 About Engineering Village

 Safari

 Yes to print but no download

  Limited print option

 Frequently Asked Questions

10-user limit

 ScienceDirect  Yes, print / download available  Limited print / download options  Help

 Taylor & Francis 

 Yes. Print and download available

  Print limit on DRM  protected  ebooks only

 Advanced Search for UAL accessible collections; 

5-user limit

 University Press Scholarship  Online

 Limited print / download options

 Take a Tour  or  Frequently Asked  Questions