Online Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Meat Sciences
The Encyclopedia of Meat Sciences, Second Edition, prepared by an international team of experts, is a reference work that covers all important aspects of meat science from stable to table. Its topics range from muscle physiology, biochemistry (including post mortem biochemistry), and processing procedures to the processes of tenderization and flavor development, various processed meat products, animal production, microbiology and food safety, and carcass composition. It also considers animal welfare, animal genetics, genomics, consumer issues, ethnic meat products, nutrition, the history of each species, cooking procedures, human health and nutrition, and waste management. Fully up-to-date, this important reference work provides an invaluable source of information for both researchers and professional food scientists. It appeals to all those wanting a one-stop guide to the meat sciences. More than 200 articles covering all areas of meat sciences Substantially revised and updated since the previous edition was published in 2004 Full color throughout
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems, Second Edition addresses important issues by examining topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face. Questions it addresses include: Will we be able to produce enough food to meet the increasing dietary needs and wants of the additional two billion people expected to inhabit our planet by 2050? Will we be able to meet the need for so much more food while simultaneously reducing adverse environmental effects of today's agriculture practices? Will we be able to produce the additional food using less land and water than we use now? These are among the most important challenges that face our planet in the coming decades. The broad themes of food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems are covered in more than 200 separate chapters of this work. The book provides information that serves as the foundation for discussion of the food and environment challenges of the world. An international group of highly respected authors addresses these issues from a global perspective and provides the background, references, and linkages for further exploration of each of topics of this comprehensive work. Addresses important challenges of sustainability and efficiency from a global perspective. Takes a detailed look at the important issues affecting the agricultural and food industries today. Full colour throughout.
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering
The Definitive Reference for Food Scientists & EngineersThe Second Edition of the Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering focuses on the processes used to produce raw agricultural materials and convert the raw materials into consumer products for distribution. It provides an improved understanding of the processes used in
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology
Written by the world's leading scientists and spanning over 400 articles in three volumes, the Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology, Second Edition is a complete, highly structured guide to current knowledge in the field. Fully revised and updated, this encyclopedia reflects the key advances in the field since the first edition was published in 1999 The articles in this key work, heavily illustrated and fully revised since the first edition in 1999, highlight advances in areas such as genomics and food safety to bring users up-to-date on microorganisms in foods. Topics such as DNA sequencing and E. coli are particularly well covered. With lists of further reading to help users explore topics in depth, this resource will enrich scientists at every level in academia and industry, providing fundamental information as well as explaining state-of-the-art scientific discoveries. This book is designed to allow disparate approaches (from farmers to processors to food handlers and consumers) and interests to access accurate and objective information about the microbiology of foods. Microbiology impacts the safe presentation of food. From harvest and storage to determination of shelf-life, to presentation and consumption. This work highlights the risks of microbial contamination and is an invaluable go-to guide for anyone working in Food Health and Safety. Has a two-fold industry appeal (1) those developing new functional food products and (2) to all corporations concerned about the potential hazards of microbes in their food products.
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Food Safety
With the world's growing population, the provision of a safe, nutritious and wholesome food supply for all has become a major challenge. To achieve this, effective risk management based on sound science and unbiased information is required by all stakeholders, including the food industry, governments and consumers themselves. In addition, the globalization of the food supply requires the harmonization of policies and standards based on a common understanding of food safety among authorities in countries around the world. With some 280 chapters, the Encyclopedia of Food Safety provides unbiased and concise overviews which form in total a comprehensive coverage of a broad range of food safety topics, which may be grouped under the following general categories: History and basic sciences that support food safety; Foodborne diseases, including surveillance and investigation; Foodborne hazards, including microbiological and chemical agents; Substances added to food, both directly and indirectly; Food technologies, including the latest developments; Food commodities, including their potential hazards and controls; Food safety management systems, including their elements and the roles of stakeholders. The Encyclopedia provides a platform for experts from the field of food safety and related fields, such as nutrition, food science and technology and environment to share and learn from state-of-the art expertise with the rest of the food safety community. Assembled with the objective of facilitating the work of those working in the field of food safety and related fields, such as nutrition, food science and technology and environment - this work covers the entire spectrum of food safety topics into one comprehensive reference work. The Editors have made every effort to ensure that this work meets strict quality and pedagogical thresholds such as: contributions by the foremost authorities in their fields; unbiased and concise overviews on a multitude of food safety subjects; references for further information, and specialized and general definitions for food safety terminology. In maintaining confidence in the safety of the food supply, sound scientific information is key to effectively and efficiently assessing, managing and communicating on food safety risks. Yet, professionals and other specialists working in this multidisciplinary field are finding it increasingly difficult to keep up with developments outside their immediate areas of expertise. This single source of concise, reliable and authoritative information on food safety has, more than ever, become a necessity.
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition
The Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition, Second Edition is an extensively revised, expanded and updated version of the successful eight-volume Encyclopedia of Food Science, Food Technology and Nutrition (1993). Comprising ten volumes, this new edition provides a comprehensive coverage of the fields of food science, food technology, and nutrition. Every article is thorough in its coverage, the writing is succinct and straightforward, and the work presents the reader with the best available summary and conclusions on each topic. Easy to use, meticulously organized, and written from a truly international perspective, the Encyclopedia is an invaluable reference tool. An essential item on the bookshelf for every scientist or writer working in the fields of food and nutrition. * Contains over 1,000 articles covering all areas of food science and nutrition * Edited and written by a distinguished international group of editors and contributors * Includes 'Further Reading' lists at the end of each article * A complete subject index contained in one volume * Extensive cross-referencing * Many figures and tables illustrate the text, with a color plate section in each volume
Publication Date: 2003
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
89 years of expertise in applied and industrial chemistry - Ullmann's is back in print! Generations of chemists and engineers have relied on the well structured and trusted information from Ullmann's Encyclopedia - and you still can count on Ullmann's with the current 6th edition in print. Ullmann's is a synonym for the world's most current and trustworthy knowledge in everything that relates to the chemical industry, be it processes, chemicals, products, analytical chemistry, pharmaceuticals, biotechnology..........you name it, Ullmann's has it - well over 800 articles on over 30 000 printed pages in 40 volumes. Organized in alphabetical order, the chapters are easy to read and excellent starting points to introduce you to any topic. Over 15 000 tables and 25 000 figures (some of them in color) make it easy for you to quickly find what you are looking for. Countless literature and patent references guide you to the relevant and accessible primary literature. Numerous cross-references point you to relevant chapters in the same context and a well organized index volume enables searching for keywords. Finding what you need is very simple indeed and you won't have to ask for a user's manual for this massive work! Supervised by an internationally acclaimed advisory board, the articles are written by over 3000 international experts from industry and universities, thoroughly edited to uniform style and layout in an in-house office. All figures are re-drawn to give a maximum of clarity and uniformity in style. Compared to the prior edition, almost 60% of the material has either been newly written or thoroughly updated. The rest has been checked for validity and newer references have been added throughout.
Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Food and HealthPublication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Food ChemistryPublication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of Food GrainsPublication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences
Dairy science includes the study of milk and milk-derived food products, examining the biological, chemical, physical, and microbiological aspects of milk itself, as well as the technological (processing) aspects of the transformation of milk into its various consumer products, including beverages, fermented products, concentrated and dried products, butter and ice cream. This encyclopedia includes information on the possible impact of genetic modification of dairy animals, safety concerns of raw milk and raw milk products, peptides in milk, dairy-based allergies, packaging and shelf-life and other topics of importance and interest to those in dairy research and industry. The Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences, Five Volume Set is the only work available that covers in detail the entirety of dairy science, from husbandry of dairy animals, milk production, through the processing of milk into a myriad of dairy products and ingredients, to the effect of dairy foods on human health. The third edition of Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences will retain the split that characterized the earlier editions - one-third primary production, two-thirds dairy food. Unlike earlier editions, in which articles were arranged in alphabetical order by topic, this edition will be optimally organized into 9 coherent sections. This new edition contains 500 articles, the vast majority of which has been significantly revised or is completely new. Only 40 chapters have been retained from the earlier edition as they cover basic science areas still relevant and important today. All articles have been reviewed by specialists in their area. Comprehensive and authoritative introductory articles on all aspects of dairy science from on-farm aspects, to processing, to consumers Content is written and edited by leading authorities from across the globe making this the go-to foundational reference in the dairy science community Articles are intuitively and meticulously organized into 9 coherent sections on key topics, making it easier for the reader to access relevant information quickly
Publication Date: 2021
Online Reference Collections
- Food Engineering SeriesIncludes information for food, mechanical, chemical, and electrical engineers, as well as food scientists and technologists working in the food industry, academia, regulatory industry, or in the design of food manufacturing plants or specialized equipment.
- Knovel This link opens in a new windowIncludes engineering and applied science handbooks, including Food Sciences, You will find reference works such as process and design info, life cycle assessment, standards, interactive graphs and tables, material and substance properties data, and equations and formulations for specific industries.
- ScienceDirect by TopicSearch by topic for reference resources in the area of Food Sciences including, food: additives, addiction, allergies, biotechnology, product and industry info, and more
- Springer Nature Link (formerly SpringerLink)Covers life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics.
- Taylor & Francis eBooksIncludes Taylor & Francis e-books, CRC Press e-books, and Routledge Handbooks Online.
- Wageningen eBooksThis is an ebook collection focusing on topics in Animal and Veterinary, Food and Health, Agribusiness and Rural Studies, Agriculture and Environment. There are also multiple ejournals. Wageningen Academic is part of Brill.
- The National Academies PressAccess to downloadable e-Books in Agriculture, Engineering & Science.
Dictionaries & Handbooks
Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food TechnologyIncludes definitions of over 6,100 terms in nutrition and food technology, as well as nutrient composition data for 340 foods and an appendix on nutrient intake and other useful data.
Handbook of Plant BiotechnologyIncludes the principles and practice of contemporary plant biotechnology : * the techniques of plant genetic modification - applications of plant biotechnology, crop improvement in agriculture and a production system for pharmaceutical proteins * ethics and safety issues - public perception, public relations, scale-up and testing, and legislation within the business of plant biotechnology.
- Dictionary of Food Compounds (within CHEMnetBASE)
Comprehensive information on 69,000 compounds found in food, including additives, flavors, natural food constituents contaminants and nutraceuticals.
Streaming Video
- KanopyIncludes streaming video content from all over the world and covers many nutrition based topics
- Alexander Street - All CollectionsStream audio and video collections on many topics around Food Science and Engineering.
- Latest ThinkingLatest Thinking is an open-access video journal that provides summaries of research findings from several branches of academics, including biology, physics, chemistry, life sciences, physical sciences, and more.
- JoVE: Journal of Visualized ExperimentsIncludes videos of experiments in Science, Education, and more. Note: this database will not be updated with content after Sept. 20th, 2020 due to budget cuts.
eBooks to get you started
Probiotics: Immunobiotics and Immunogenics by
Written by international experts, this book reviews recent, cutting-edge research on the use of immunoregulatory probiotics (immunobiotics) and their bioactive compounds (immunogenics) to prevent disease and improve health. Each chapter provides critical insight, reviews current research, discusses future perspective, and stimulates discussion. The book also dicsusses novel applications of immunobiotics, such as their use in respiratory infections and regulation of the interaction between inflammation and coagulation, as well as their effect on hematopoiesis.
Publication Date: 2013
Food Microbiology: Fundamentals, Challenges and Health Implications by
Probiotics are live microorganisms that beneficially influence human health. The majority of probiotics are found in the gastrointestinal tract and are mainly represented by lactobacilli and bifidobacteria. In this new book, the authors present current research in the study of the sources, types and health benefits of probiotics. Topics included in this compilation include the role of probiotics and dietary fibre on the modulation of human gut flora to a healthy flora; porcine toll-like receptors and their crosstalk with immunobiotics; probiotics in the prevention and treatment of elderly disease; probiotic cheeses; antibiotic resistance and probiotics; and probiotics in maternal and early infant nutrition.
Publication Date: 2016
Food Safety by
This book is designed to integrate the basic concepts of food safety with current developments and challenges in food safety and authentication. The first part describes basics of food safety, classification of food toxins, regulation and risk assessment. The second part focuses on particular toxins like mycotoxins, aromatic amines, heavy metals, pesticides, and polycyclic hydrocarbons. Recent developments and improvements in the detection of these contaminants are described. The third part deals with the authenticity and adulteration of food and food products, a topic which affects food trade on a national and international level.
Publication Date: 2016
Red Meat Science and Production. Volume 1, The Consumer and Extrinsic Meat Character by Publication Date: 2019
Food Processing: Strategies for Quality Assessment by
The aim of the food processing is to ensure microbiological and chemical safety of foods, adequate nutrient content and bioavailability and acceptability to the consumer with regard to sensory properties and ease of preparation. Processing may have either beneficial or harmful effects on these properties, so each of these factors must be taken into account in the design and preparation of foods. This book offers a unique dealing with the subject and provides not only an update of state-of-the art techniques in many critical areas of food processing and quality assessment, but also the development of value added products from food waste, safety and nanotechnology in the food and agriculture industry and looks into the future by defining current obstacles and future research goals. This book is not intended to serve as an encyclopedic review of the subject. However, the various chapters incorporate both theoretical and practical aspects and may serve as baseline information for future research through which significant development is possible.
Publication Date: 2014
Biofuels : technology, challenges and prospects by Publication Date: 2017
