Popular Legal Databases
- Westlaw CanadaProvides access to legal materials from Canada. It contains Canadian primary law, legislation, and court decisions as well as secondary materials, the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest and case summaries from the Canadian Abridgement.
Note: Law students and faculty can set up individual access to Westlaw Edge Canada. To obtain a registration key please contact Tim Young timy@ualberta.ca. These accounts are not through the library.
- Lexis+ Academic PremiumContains case decisions and legislation from every province and territory of Canada, including unreported cases, as well as expert commentary, legal journal articles, current legal news services, and case history information. It includes Halsbury's Laws of Canada and also covers international content from the US, UK, and Australia.
Note: Law students can set up individual access to Lexis+ Canada. These accounts are not through the library.
- CanLIIProvides free access to authoritative versions of Canadian case law and statutes, and includes some commentary. CanLII publishes cases, statutes, and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions and also publishes rulings of some tribunals.
- HeinOnLineIncludes legal journal articles, government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and other legal research collections.
- Legal SourceOffers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment.
Legal Research Guides
- An Introduction to Legal ResearchThis University of Alberta Library research guide is intended to be a general introduction to legal research. It is broken down into sections covering the Canadian legal system, how to do legal research, legislation, legislative research, case law, Indigenous knowledge, Artificial intelligence (AI), and citations. Use the Resources section to find more information about how to do legal research.
Legal Abbreviations
- Cardiff Index to Legal AbbreviationsUse the Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations to search for the meaning of legal abbreviations.
Please note: the website is currently under construction and may not be up to date as you need it to be.
- UBC - Law Report AbbreviationsAbbreviations for law reports
- CanLII - Primary Law DatabasesThis page presents a list of CanLII databases with a set of details about their scope. It also includes explanations for abbreviations.
For more information visit the Legal Citation page.
Library Research Consultation
To book a consultation (in person or virtual) with a law librarian please email them or fill out the Book a Consultation form.
