Note
The library has also print versions of Canadian legislation, as well as related materials. Official print versions of federal statutes are found in the most recent Revised Statutes of Canada (RSC 1985 in force on December 12, 1988) and in the annual volumes of the Statutes of Canada published after 1985. To find these Search the Library. Tip: Also try Acts of the Parliament of Canada when searching.
Canadian Federal Legislative Materials
Current Legislation & Previous Versions: Statutes and Regulations
- CanLII: The Canadian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
Statutes and Revised Statutes Compilations
- HeinOnLineContains annual Statutes of Canada and historic Revised Statutes of Canada in "Session Laws Library."
Historical Legislation
- HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. University of Alberta faculty, staff, and students are able to access full-text material that is in the public domain (as determined by the Hathi Trust) or copyright cleared.
- Martin's Annual Criminal Code
PLEASE NOTE: This publication (formerly titled Martin's Online Criminal Code) must now be selected from the Text and Annotations section of the CriminalSource database. Follow Access Datatabase link above.
Regulations
- Consolidated Regulations - Justice Laws WebsiteThe online source of the consolidated Acts and regulations of Canada. The consolidations are generally updated every two weeks.
- Canada Gazette, Part II1998 onwards
- Search the Consolidated Regulations of Canada1949 and 1955 available
Gazette
- Canada GazettePart Ⅰ: Notices and Proposed Regulations
Part Ⅱ: Official Regulations
Part Ⅲ: Acts of Parliament
Bills and Debates
- LEGISinfoCoverage starts with 35th Parliament, 1st session. Includes: the text of the bill at various stages Government press releases and backgrounders (for government bills), important speeches at second reading, votes, coming into force data
- House of Commons Debates (Hansard)Available from 35th Parliament, 1st Session (1994) onwards (scroll down to find access to older sessions).
- Debates of the Senate of Canada (Hansard)Available from 35th Parliament, 2nd Session (1996) onwards.
- LipadFull text searchable, downloadable, and interactive transcript of the Canadian House of Commons Hansard Debates, 1901-Current.
- Historical Debates of the Parliament of CanadaIncludes all debates from Parliament 1, Session 1 (1867) until coverage on parl.gc.ca begins. Find debates under Parliamentary Business.
Orders in Council
- Orders in Council DatabasePrivy Council Office, 1990 -
- Orders in CouncilLibrary & Archives Canada, 1867 - 1916