Arctic and Antarctic RegionsAccess to this database ended on April 30, 2020 due to budget cuts
Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS)The ASTIS database contains 46,000 abstracts of publications and research
projects about northern Canada, and is maintained by the Arctic Institute of
North America at the University of Calgary. The database includes all subjects,
and covers the period from 1978 to the present. It includes government, academic
and industry publications, as well as research project descriptions based on the
licences that all northern field researchers must obtain.
It includes books, reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, conference papers and book chapters. Subjects indexed include: astronomical aspects of ice and snow, biological aspects of ice and snow, floating ice-sea, lake and river ice, frozen ground/snow and ice engineering, general glaciology, geocryology, glacial geology, glaciological aspects of meteorology, glaciological instruments and methods, land ice, glaciers and ice shelves, physics and chemistry of ice, and snow and avalanches.
PolarInfoPolarInfo (1996 to to June 2004) is a multidisciplinary collection of references to northern and native subjects. All subject areas are covered including health, education, law, business, political science, geology, cold regions engineering, vegetation, and wildlife.
This database is particularly strong in the history of northern exploration and current topics such as native landclaims, native health and educational issues, mining, and the environmental impacts of development in the north.
Types of materials indexed include articles from journals, northern newspapers, native newspapers, newsletters, selected conference proceedings, selected annual and government reports, and other grey literature.
This index is best searched by Keyword.
PolarInfo includes materials published from January 1996 to to June 2004. To access older materials (back to 1972) or more recent materials (July 2004-) use the
Arctic and Antarctic regions database
ArcticStat Circumpolar DatabaseArcticStat is a permanent, public and independent statistical database dealing with the countries, regions and populations of the Circumpolar Arctic.
Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database (CHBD)The database, a project of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Team in Circumpolar Chronic Disease Prevention, contains more than 3100 records describing publications about all aspects of human health in the circumpolar region. All types of publications, both peer-reviewed and grey literature, are included.
International Polar Year Publications DatabaseThe International Polar Year Publications Database (IPYPD) will attempt to identify and describe all publications that result from, or that are about, the International Polar Year (IPY) 2007-2008 and the three previous IPYs.
The IPYPD is part of the IPY Data and Information Service (IPYDIS). The IPYPD has been created by the Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS), the Cold Regions Bibliography Project (CRBP), the Scott Polar Research Institute (SPRI) Library, the Discovery and Access of Historic Literature of the IPYs (DAHLI) project and National Information Services Corporation (NISC).
Nunivaat: the Nunavik Socioeconomic DatabaseThe objective of the Nunivaat database is to establish a permanent, public and independent databank concerning the socioeconomic situation of Nunavik. Sources Nunivaat data comes from Statistics Canada, the Institut de la statistique du Québec as well as various government databanks. Nunivaat also comprises data from special studies, most of which were carried out under the Nunivaat program. The data is accessible on the statistics page.The full studies are available on publications page.