Local Research
- Arctic Institute of North America (University of Calgary) Canada’s first and longest-lived Arctic research institute.
- Centre d'études nordiques (Laval, Université du Québec) The CEN mission is to contribute to sustainable development of northern regions by improving our understanding and ability to predict changes that affect these environments.
Maps & Images
- NWT Archives NWT Archives’ mission is to identify, acquire, make accessible, and preserve unpublished records that document the history of the Northwest Territories.
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Digital Collection This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics. These cultures have occupied, and in some cases still live in parts of Alaska, British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana. Maps are available that show traditional territories or reservation boundaries.
- Joel Martin Halpern Image Archive These images were donated to the University of Alberta by Dr. Joel Martin Halpern, a prominent anthropologist who did extensive work in the northern parts of North America.
Key Library Databases
- SPRILIB Ice and Snow SPRLIB Ice and Snow (1661 to the present) is a comprehensive collection of publications covering all aspects of snow and ice worldwide.
- Canadian Circumpolar Institute: ERA Community The Canadian Circumpolar Institute is an interdisciplinary centre dedicated to promoting, facilitating and conducting research of the highest caliber throughout the circumpolar world. We strive to develop an institute that will contribute to effective decision making, assist in the development of sustainable communities, and advance the understanding of circumpolar regions generally.
- National Snow & Ice Data Center People at NSIDC are key to our data management and scientific missions. NSIDC includes specialists in data program management, scientific research, scientific programming, data operations, data systems, Web technology, information architecture, Center administration, communications, outreach, and user services.
- Nunivaat: Nunavik Statistics Program The objective of the Nunivaat database is to establish a permanent, public and independent databank concerning the socioeconomic situation of Nunavik. Data comes from Statistics Canada, the Institut de la statistique du Québec as well as various government databanks. Nunivaat also comprises data from special studies, most of which were carried out under the Nunivaat program. The data is accessible on the statistics page.The full studies are available on publications page.
Directories & Catalogues
- Directory of European Glaciology This Directory lists research institutions derived from web searches, the glaciology literature and 'Ice', published by the International Glaciological Society
- Directory of Polar and Cold Regions Organisations SPRI is a world-leading research and information centre for the study of the polar and cold regions. Find out more about who we are, what we do, and how we got here.
- Polar Data Catalogue The Polar Data Catalogue is a database of metadata and data that describes, indexes, and provides access to diverse data sets generated by Arctic and Antarctic researchers.
The North
Photo from ERA