- UAlberta Home |
- Find a Person |
- ONEcard |
- Bear Tracks |
- Maps |
- Email & Apps |
- eClass
Pain by
The highly anticipated new edition of Pain: a textbook for health professionals (previous subtitle a textbook for therapists) has undergone a major rewrite in order to reflect the rapid developments in the field of pain management. It highlights an effective and evidence-based method, providing the theoretical basis to help with the assessment and management of persistent pain, while also discussing in depth a range of specific approaches. Pain: a textbook for health professionals is written emphatically from a biopsychosocial perspective. In order to set the scene, the introductory section includes chapters on the patient's voice and social determinants of pain. This ensures that the deeply personal and social aspects of pain are not lost among the more technical and biological commentary. These aspects provide an overall context, and are revisited in chapters on participation of life roles, work rehabilitation and psychology. The basic science section includes key chapters on the psychology, neuroanatomy and neurophysiology of pain. This provides a basis for subsequent chapters on specific approaches such as pharmacology, physical therapy and complementary medicine. Pain in specific patient groups, including children, the elderly and those with cancer, are dealt with in separate chapters, as are pain problems such as complex regional pain syndrome and chronic spinal pain. Although the emphasis of the book is on long term pain, acute pain is discussed as a possible precursor and determinant of chronicity. "The book covers a multitude of facets with regards relieving a patients pain, there are sections for pharmacological actions, rehabilitation, manual therapy and exercise therapy to name a few. The book is well researched and gives a very comprehensive overview of the major factors a therapist would require to treat pain." Physical Therapy In Sport, oct 14 Patient-centred approach to care - advocates listening to the patient's voice Covers social determinants of pain Guides the reader from pain psychology to the practical application of psychological interventions Learning aids - chapter objectives, reflective exercises, case examples, and revision questions Emphasizes an evidence-based perspective Written by an international team of experts topics such as pain in children and the elderly, pain education for professionals, disability and medico-legal aspects expanded focus on complex regional pain syndrome, acupuncture and psychology improved layout for a better learning and studying experience
Pain Management by
This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. It deals specifically with the management of potentially chronic l pain, how to assess patients with pain, the factors involved in the development of chronic pain and the setting up and running of a pain management programme. The main focus is on musculoskeletal and fibromyalgic type pain. Cancer pain is not addressed. The authors address not only what is recommended in the management of pain but also whether and why it is done, thereby covering not only the content of interdisciplinary pain management but also the processes involved. Provides extensive background material and covers broad issues which other books lack Focuses on not only what is done with the management of pain but whether and why it is done Includes the nuts and bolts of setting up and running a pain management programme Addresses the application of pain management programmes in a wide range of fields Has a multidisciplinary approach and therefore appeals to a multidisciplinary market Two new co-authors: Kay Greasley and Bengt Sjolund. Major restructuring of chapters and rewriting of content with new authors for many of them. Greatly increased discussion of biopsychosocial management in individual clinical practice. Addresses the needs of the individual practitioners as well as those working in specialised pain management units. Includes more on primary care and secondary pain prevention. Expanded discussion of the clinical-occupational interfaces. Particular emphasis on the identification and targeting of modifiable risk factors for chronic pain and prolonged disability. The following topics stregthened throughout: communication, the nature of groups, medication and iatrogenics. Potential of an evidence-based biopsychosocial approach to pain management highlighted.
Mechanisms and Management of Pain for the Physical Therapist by
Comprehensive in scope and invaluable for both practitioners and students, Mechanisms and Management of Pain for the Physical Therapist, 2nd Edition, thoroughly covers the wide range of issues requiring the interdisciplinary management of pain. Joined by more than 20 international contributors, Dr. Kathleen Sluka provides a practical, evidence-based framework for understanding the basics of pain mechanisms and management. This highly regarded, updated text covers the basics of pain neurobiology and reviews evidence on the mechanisms of action of physical therapy treatments, as well as their clinical effectiveness in specific pain syndromes. The second edition features: Basic Concepts and Mechanisms - provides a clear infrastructure for the rest of the book. Physical Therapy Pain Management - focuses attention on pain regardless of medical diagnosis, using evidence to support clinical decision making. Interdisciplinary Pain Management - includes both medical management of pain and psychological approaches to pain. Case Studies - discuss a series of pain syndromes using an evidence-based approach.
Core Topics in Pain by
Originally published in 2005, Core Topics in Pain provides a comprehensive, easy-to-read introduction to this multi-faceted topic. It covers a wide range of issues from the underlying neurobiology, through pain assessment in animals and humans, diagnostic strategies, clinical presentations, pain syndromes, to the many treatment options, for example, physical therapies, drug therapies, psychosocial care and the evidence base for each of these. Written and edited by experts of international renown, the many concise but comprehensive chapters provide the reader with a guide to all aspects of pain. It is an essential book for anaesthetic trainees and is also an invaluable first reference for surgical and nursing staff, ICU professionals, operating department practitioners, physiotherapists, psychologists, healthcare managers and researchers with a need for an overview of the key aspects of the topic.
Clinical Pain Management by
Clinical Pain Management takes a practical, interdisciplinary approach to the assessment and management of pain. Concise template chapters serve as a quick reference to physicians, anesthetists and neurologists, as well as other specialists, generalists, and trainees managing pain. Based on the International Association for the Study of Pain s clinical curriculum on the topic, this reference provides to-the-point best-practice guidance in an easy-to-follow layout including tables, bullets, algorithms and guidelines.
Evidence-Based Chronic Pain Management by
A genuine evidence-based text for optimum pain relief in various chronic conditions Contributes an important advance in the practice of pain management providing the information on which to build more coherent and standardised strategies for relief of patient suffering Answers questions about which are the most effective methods, AND those which are not effective yet continue to be used Includes discussion of the positive and the negative evidence, and addresses the grey areas where evidence is ambivalent Written by the world's leading experts in evidence-based pain management this is a seminal text in the field of pain
Practical Management of Pain by
Obtain all the core knowledge in pain management you need from one of the most trusted resources in the field. The new edition of "Practical Management of Pain" gives you completely updated, multidisciplinary overview of every aspect of pain medicine, including evaluation, diagnosis of pain syndromes, rationales for management, treatment modalities, and much more. It is all the expert guidance necessary to offer your patients the best possible relief.Consult this title on your favorite e-reader, conduct rapid searches, and adjust font sizes for optimal readability. Access up-to-the-minute knowledge on all aspects of pain management, from general principles to specific management techniques, with contributions from renowned pain management experts. Understand and apply the latest developments in pain management with brand-new chapters covering disability assessment, central post-stroke pain, widespread chronic pain, and burn pain.Effectively ease your patients' pain with today's best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents (such as topical analgesics)."
Knowledge Translation in Health Care by
Knowledge Translation in Health Care is a practical introduction to knowledge translation for everyone working and learning within health policy and funding agencies, and as researchers, clinicians and trainees. Using everyday examples, it explains how to use research findings to improve health care in real life. This new second edition defines the principles and practice of knowledge translation and outlines strategies for successful knowledge translation in practice and policy making. It includes relevant real world examples and cases of knowledge translation in action that are accessible and relevant for all stakeholders including clinicians, health policy makers, administrators, managers, researchers, clinicians and trainees. From an international expert editor and contributor team, and fully revised to reflect current practice and latest developments within the field, Knowledge Translation in Health Care is the practical guide for all health policy makers and researchers, clinicians, trainee clinicians, medical students and other healthcare professionals seeking to improve healthcare practice.
Neuroscience of Pain, Stress, and Emotion by
Neuroscience of Pain, Stress, and Emotion: Psychological and Clinical Implications presents updated research on stress, pain, and emotion, all key research areas within both basic and clinical neuroscience. Improved research understanding of their interaction is ultimately necessary if clinicians and those working in the field of psychosomatic medicine are to alleviate patient suffering. This volume offers broad coverage of that interaction, with chapters written by major researchers in the field. After reviewing the neuroscience of pain and stress, the contents go on to address the interaction between stress and chronic/acute pain, the role of different emotions in pain, neurobiological mechanisms mediating these various interactions, individual differences in both stress and pain, the role of patient expectations during treatment (placebo and nocebo responses), and how those relate to stress modulation. While there are books on the market which discuss pain, stress, and emotion separately, this volume is the first to tackle their nexus, thus appealing to both researchers and clinicians. Represents the only comprehensive reference detailing the link between pain, stress and emotion, covering the neuroscientific underpinnings, related psychological processes, and clinical implications Compiles, in one place, research which promises to improve the methodology of clinical trials and the use of knowledge of pain-stress-emotion effects in order to reduce patients' suffering Provides comprehensive chapters authored by global leaders in the field, the broadest, most expert coverage available
Use the main search box on the library homepage to find many more ebooks on pain. Search for pain (and other terms) in title Once you see the result list, you can easily limit to ebooks (under publication type on left hand side limiters.
Understanding Pain by
Pain is informally defined as the body's way of uncovering a problem. Whether due to an injury, infection, or something else, pain alerts a person that something is not right. Sometimes pain goes along with inflammation and swelling, and when it does, the problem is more evident. Oftentimes, pain is more generalized to the entire body, signaling a viral infection such as a flu virus. Still other times, there is no apparent root cause for a person s pain. Yet, millions of people suffer from some form of pain on a daily basis. Understanding Pain walks readers through the various types of pain, the causes and symptoms, as well as the methods of treatment currently available. From prescription medication to acupuncture and massage therapy, various approaches may work for some but not for others. But handling pain is essential for living well and functioning on a daily basis. Here, the authors provide a comprehensive introduction to the subject, covering self-care as well as caring for others in pain, and addressing alternative as well as traditional methods of pain management."
Managing Pain by
The understanding of pain has undergone extraordinary development over the last 25 years. Half of all medical visits are initiated because of pain. The need for all clinicians and trainees to have a foundational knowledge of pain has become more critically important than ever. Notsurprisingly, most books on pain medicine are almost all written by "pain management doctors," physicians who've trained in "pain medicine" and devote their lives to treating pain. However, the burden of pain extends to all doctors, not just those who treat it every day. Managing Pain: Essentials of Diagnosis and Treatment offers a fundamental guide on the diagnosis and therapy of frequently encountered pain conditions for non-pain physicians and clinicians. Written using easily-accessible language, this book first reviews the basics of opioids and other therapies,including psychotherapy and complementary modalities. The second part of the book presents clinically-relevant cases chosen to reflect those conditions most frequently encountered by primary care providers. Edited by world-renowned experts in pain medicine, with many chapters written by non-painphysicians who are experts in their respective specialties, Managing Pain: Essentials of Diagnosis and Treatment is a useful guide for the non-pain-trained healthcare provider who is on the frontlines treating chronic pain.
Pain Therapeutics
This book presents a contemporary review of the field of pain therapeutics, including the historical medicines which still dominate standard of care treatments, as well as the new mechanisms and combinations/reformulations that have dominated the regulatory approvals over the last decade. In addition, it provides a deep review of the key biological mechanisms currently under investigation for their utility into the treatment of pain, such as ion channels, opiates and others. Additional discussion highlights the current challenges of pain research, covering a range of topics from difficulties in identifying new targets and pre-clinical models to the current regulatory and commercial challenges. This background sets the scene for recent scientific developments in pain research, such as the drive for genetic validation of targets and the derivation of human cell platforms from stem cells. Finally, the book covers the discovery and development stories of two pain products approved in the last decade. These case studies for Lyrica and the Butrans patch, give insight into the discovery and development challenges and successes for both an oral and non-oral product.
Listening to Pain by
In this groundbreaking book, Dr. Fishman shows how communicating better with patients about their pain can help physicians create safer and more effective treatment strategies. Listening to Pain offers physicians a wealth of practical guidance about asking the right questions and assessingpatient responses, including:-What questions to ask pain patients when they first present with pain.-Using functional goals as outcome measures.-Educating patients about the risks and benefits of treatment.-Documenting patient consent and compliance with treatment regimens.-How to manage difficult patients.
