What's Coming from Alberta Education
The K-12 Arts Education curriculum is currently undergoing revision. Check the Program of Study at Alberta Education to see what's new.
Alberta Education Documents
Alberta Education's Programs of Study identify what K-12 students are expected to learn and do in all subjects. The documents below describe the musical concepts and skills to be taught in all divisions.
- Junior High General Music Curriculum GuideAvailable in print in the Curriculum Historical Collection: MT 10 A327 1988 gr.7-9 CURR GD
- Junior High Instrumental Music: Wind, Percussion, Strings Curriculum GuideAvailable in print in the Curriculum Historical Collection: MT 170 A329 1988 gr.7-9 CURR GD
- Junior High Choral Music Curriculum GuideAvailable in print in the Curriculum Historical Collection: MT 936 A329 1988 gr.7-9 CURR GD
- General Music 10-20-30: Guide to ImplementationAvailable in print in the Curriculum Historical Collection: MT 10 A335 2000 gr.10-12 CURR GD
- Instrumental Music 10-2-30 Teacher Resource ManualAvailable in print in the Curriculum Historical Collection: MT 170 A329 1991 gr.10-12 CURR GD
Authorized Resources
Find student textbooks and authorized teaching resources that are approved for use in Alberta schools.
- Authorized Resources Database Link to the Authorized Resources Database available through Alberta Education.
LearnAlberta
- LearnAlberta Curriculum-based online resources. * For LearnAlberta ID and password see conditions.
Provincial Achievement Tests (PAT)
- Provincial Achievement Tests (PAT). Alberta Education. Information for students, parents, teachers and administrators concerning Achievement tests in grades 3, 6 and 9. Includes released test items, examples of standards for student writing, and access to Quest A+ - Alberta Education's digital testing solution.