Skip to main content

First Nations, Métis and Inuit

A guide to searching Archives Search, the online research tool of Library and Archives Canada, with special reference to Record Group 10 and Record Group 15.

Archives Search

Archives Search is the online archives research tool of Library and Archives Canada (LAC), which provides the most efficient access to historical records; it allows keyword searching within specific record groups (Indian Affairs - RG10; Interior - RG15). Search results include record group numbers as well as series, volume, and reel numbers where applicable. The results may also include an access code which indicates any viewing restrictions that have been placed on the material. Some files have been digitized and can be viewed on ArchiviaNet. 

LAC General Guide to finding archival material on Aboriginal heritage in the archival collections

LAC Guide to Searching Indian Affairs Record Group 10 (RG10)

The records found in RG 10 contain the historical records relating to Indian Affairs created by the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and its predecessors. They include files, correspondence, letters, and transcripts on all aspects of Indian administration for both headquarters and the field offices.

Among the activities of the Indian Affairs Program of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development are the management of Indian reserves and lands, trust funds, education, and agriculture. This management has been carried out through a hierarchical structure of band, district, and regional offices across Canada. All records in RG 10 are organized into four separate series: Pre-Confederation, Headquarters, Field, and Land records.

Finding Metis Scrip Records using Archives Search

Guide to Researching Metis Scrip Records

General guide to research Metis Scrip in federal archival sources.

LAC Guide to finding Metis Scrip Records in the former Record Group 15 (now R190-0-3-E)

R190-0-3-E is the archival reference number given to the Department of the Interior fonds; the former archival reference number for this fonds is RG 15. You can access the fonds-level description using the Archives Search tool.