First Nations, Métis, and Inuit

Archives Search (limit Collections Search to Archives):

• The online archives research tool of Library and Archives Canada (LAC)
• Allows keyword searching within specific record groups (Indian Affairs - RG10; Interior - RG15)
• Search results include record group numbers as well as series, volume, and reel numbers where applicable.
• Results may also include an access code indicating any viewing restrictions that have been placed on the material.
• Some files have been digitized and can be viewed online. 

LAC General Guide to finding archival material on Indigenous heritage in the archival collections

LAC Guide to Searching Indian Affairs Record Group 10 (RG10)

The records found in RG 10:

• Contain the historical records relating to Indian Affairs created by the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and its predecessors. 
• Include files, correspondence, letters, and transcripts on all aspects of Indian administration for both headquarters and the field offices.
• Are organized into 4 separate series: Pre-Confederation, Headquarters, Field, and Land records

Guide to Researching Métis Scrip Records

General guide to research Metis Scrip in federal archival sources.

LAC Guide to finding Métis Scrip Records in the former Record Group 15 (now R190-0-3-E)

R190-0-3-E is the archival reference number given to the Department of the Interior fonds; the former archival reference number for this fonds is RG 15. You can access the fonds-level description using the Archives Search tool.

The Métis Nation Historical Online Database is the product of Dr. Frank Tough's Métis Archival Project (MAP) Lab in the Faculty of Native Studies. The database contains scrip, census, mission, & Hudson's Bay Company records. 

For more information about the database and the MAP Lab:

Cook, Jordan. (November 13, 2019). Métis Archival Project Lab celebrates 20 years of research and community service.