Skip to main content

Anthropology

Bryan/Gruhn Archaeology Collection

The Bryan/Gruhn Archaeology Collection in the UAlberta Department of Anthropology contains more than 10,000 prehistoric and historic objects from around the world. Artifacts include stone tools, pottery, faunal and botanical remains, and other items which help us to understand the role of material culture in past societies.

Notable artifacts include:

  • Bryan/Gruhn Collection of lithic and pottery artifacts from North and South America
  • Paleolithic and Neolithic artifacts collected by Henri-Marc Ami in the early 20th century
  • More than 2,000 stone artifacts produced through modern experiments by researchers, including Robson Bonnichsen, David Young and Don Crabtree

You can access digital images of the collection through the University of Alberta Library's Educational Resource Repository 

Get Background Information & Identify Search Terms

Get familiar with your topic by researching in general anthropology resources, including:

Interdisciplinary Article Databases

Sub-discipline Specific Tips & Tools

Below are some databases useful specifically for archaeology: 

Depending on your topic, you may also find the following guides useful in your research:

Below are some databases useful specifically for linguistic anthropology: 

Depending on your topic, you may also find the following guides useful in your research:

Below are some databases useful specifically for sociocultural anthropology:

Looking for Ethnographies?

Ethnographies can be difficult to locate using library search tools.

Here are some tips for searching for them:

  • Library catalogues sometimes use the term ethnology, to refer to ethnographies
  • Identify the correct name of the group you are researching.
    • For example, the library catalogue uses Wyandot Indians instead of Huron Indians 
  • Combine this search with either "Social life and customs" or "case studies"
  • You can also find many ethnographies here:

Depending on your topic, you may also find the following guides useful in your research:

Subject Librarian

Katie Cuyler's picture
Katie Cuyler
Contact:
1-01L Rutherford Library South
cuyler@ualberta.ca
780-492-9624