Subject Guides: Anthropology: Research Areas

Search Tips

Additional resources for search help

Below are some databases useful specifically for archaeology:

eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as: |HRAF Collection of Archaeology|eHRAF Collection of Archaeology| Cross-cultural database containing descriptive information on archaeological traditions of the world. Source documents include books, articles, and dissertations.
L'Annee philologique This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as: |Database of Classical Bibliography|Année philologique|
Bibliography of classical literature and modern scholarship on classical literature. Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of Indigenous North Americans including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend and literacy.
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.

Depending on your topic, you may also find the following guides useful in your research:

Classics
by Rutherford Library Last Updated Mar 22, 2024 515 views this year
Art and Design
by Rutherford Library Last Updated Mar 22, 2024 435 views this year
Human Ecology: Clothing, Textiles & Material Culture
by Cameron Library Last Updated Apr 17, 2024 465 views this year

Below are some databases useful specifically for biological/physical anthropology:

Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science platform provides online access to their core Citation Indexes, and also hosts a number of subject-specific databases.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as: |Biological Abstracts| BIOSIS Citation Index adds citation analysis functionality to BIOSIS Previews. This analysis is more specific in focus than that provided within the BIOSIS Previews database, and useful for researchers who wish to limit citation analysis to Life Sciences publications. BIOSIS Previews combines the content from Biological Abstracts (Journals) and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, and Meetings).
MEDLINE (1946-present via Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also includes Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Ovid MEDLINE® Daily
MEDLINE (1946 to the present) covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature. The type of information contained in MEDLINE ranges from the basic biomedical sciences like anatomy, physiology, biochemistry to clinical information outlining the nature and course of disease or injury, as well as its treatment.

Depending on your topic, you may also find the following guides useful in your research:

Biological Sciences
by Cameron Library Last Updated Mar 22, 2024 707 views this year
Anthropometric Data
by Health Sciences Library Last Updated Apr 2, 2024 2132 views this year

Below are some databases useful specifically for linguistic anthropology:

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LLBA (1973 to the present) provides access to the world's literature in linguistics and its various subdisciplines. It covers articles and book reviews from journals, as well as conference proceedings, associations papers, and selected dissertations. The database provides descriptive abstracts for most records.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography (mainly abstracts) (1926 to the present) covers literature in English and in other modern languages; linguistics; folklore. It includes books (and chapters in books), journal articles, conference papers, and dissertations concerning general and comparative literature, linguistics in general and of all modern languages, all modern literatures, and folklore. No abstracts are provided, and there are no listings for book reviews.

Depending on your topic, you may also find the following guides useful in your research:

Below are some databases useful specifically for sociocultural anthropology:

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cross-cultural database containing thousands of pages of descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups of the world. Source documents include books, articles, and dissertations. When searching, familiarize yourself with the outline of world cultures list, and outline of cultural materials vocabularies to help identify search terms.
Anthropology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text and streaming video content in |Ethnographic Video Online| and |Anthropology Online| from Alexander Street Press.

Looking for Ethnographies?

Ethnographies can be difficult to locate using library search tools.

Here are some tips for searching for them:

Library catalogues sometimes use the term ethnology, to refer to ethnographies
Identify the correct name of the group you are researching.
- For example, the library catalogue uses Wyandot Indians instead of Huron Indians
Combine this search with either "Social life and customs" or "case studies"

Depending on your topic, you may also find the following guides useful in your research:

Modern Languages and Cultural Studies (MLCS)
by Rutherford Library Last Updated Apr 17, 2024 392 views this year
First Nations, Métis, and Inuit
by Jessie Loyer Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 1677 views this year
Sociology
by Rutherford Library Last Updated Apr 5, 2024 373 views this year

Email Me

Contact:

Rutherford South

snocente@ualberta.ca