Tips for Finding Research Data
Here are elevent quick tips for finding research data as presented by Kathleen Gregory et al. in her article entitled Eleven quick tips for finding research data.
- Tip 1: Think about the data you need and why you need them.
- Tip 2: Select the most appropriate resource.
- Tip 3: Construct your query strategically.
- Tip 4: Make the repository work for you.
- Tip 5: Refine your search.
- Tip 6: Assess data relevance and fitness -for -use.
- Tip 7: Save your search and data- source details.
- Tip 8: Look for data services, not just data.
- Tip 9: Monitor the latest data.
- Tip 10: Treat sensitive data responsibly.
- Tip 11: Give back (cite and share data).
Citation: Gregory K, Khalsa SJ, Michener WK, Psomopoulos FE, de Waard A, Wu M (2018) Eleven quick tips for finding research data. PLoS Comput Biol 14(4): e1006038. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pcbi.1006038.
Data Sets
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowLimit your search by selecting additional limits and choosing data sets as supplemental material.
- SAGE Research Methods Datasets Collection of teaching datasets that can be used to support the teaching and independent learning of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods used in the social sciences.
- DataCite Commons DataCite is a leading global non-profit organisation that provides persistent identifiers (DOIs) for research data and other research outputs. Organizations within the research community join DataCite as members to be able to assign DOIs to all their research outputs. This way, their outputs become discoverable and associated metadata is made available to the community. DataCite then develops additional services to improve the DOI management experience, making it easier for our members to connect and share their DOIs with the broader research ecosystem and to assess the use of their DOIs within that ecosystem. DataCite is an active participant in the research community and promotes data sharing and citation through community-building efforts and outreach activities.
- American Psychological Association (APA) Links to Data Sets A wealth of shared data are available for use in psychological science research. These data span a wide variety of topics. Below are examples of electronically available behavioral and social science data.
- Inter-University Consortia of Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This data archive is a large-scale, multi-disciplinary repository hosted at the University of Michigan since 1962. It contains U.S. and global studies, datasets and data analysis tools.
- FRDR-DFDR Canadian Research Datasets Search FRDR to find research datasets originating from researchers affiliated with Canadian institutions. Data deposited to other repositories across Canada can also be found by searching in FRDR.
- University of Alberta Dataverse University of Alberta Dataverse is a service provided by the library to help researchers publish, analyze, distribute, and preserve data and datasets.
- IES-NCES DataLab National Center for Education Statistics Data lab
- Dryad The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types.
- Figshare figshare is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner
- ODESI ODESI is a digital repository for Social Science data, including polling data. It is a data exploration, extraction and analysis tool that uses the Data Documentation Initiative (DDI) social science data standard which provides researchers the ability to search for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets. There are both microdata and aggregate data available, in a range of formats.
- UNData UNData provides access to multiple statistical databases developed by various organizations affiliated with the United Nations System.
Statistics
- Statistics on Indigenous Peoples / Carrefour de Données sur les Peuples Autochtones This database provides data on Indigenous communities, including children and families, health and well-being, education, work, language and culture.
- Census of Canada, 2016 Contains socio-economic statistics from the 2016 Census of Population conducted by Statistics Canada. A profile of Canadians is presented, providing general population information as well as statistics on education, income, work, families, and dwellings.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Includes the Digest of Education Statistics and customized tables.
- CANSIM (via CHASS) This link opens in a new window "This database provides access to 600,000+ current and historical statistical time series on a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life as collected by Statistics Canada as well as other government agencies such as the Bank of Canada. CHASS continues to provide updated data and search interfaces for this legacy Statistics Canada product."
- OECD iLibrary The OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
- UNESDOC The UNESDOC database contains the full text and bibliographic records of documents and publications published by UNESCO since 1945 as well as bibliographic records of library acquisitions. These documents and publications in multiple languages are produced by UNESCO Offices and Institutes and cover all areas of its activities: education, natural sciences, social and human sciences, culture, communication and information.
Data & Stats Guides
- Statistics Canada School Closures and COVID-19: Interactive Tool School is considered an integral aspect of the lives of children and youth, shaping their intellectual and social development. Schools can also affect both their physical and mental health. As the COVID-19 pandemic continues to affect communities and families across the country, policy-makers have employed remote learning approaches and temporarily closed schools in order to curb the spread of the virus.
- Statistics Canada - Mental Health of Youth in Canada Physically, young Canadians were in better shape than their older counterparts. But the story is different when it comes to mental health. Adolescence and young adulthood are marked by important changes, decisions and milestones, including studying for years, graduating, searching for a job, working on career development, relocating, finding a partner and starting a family. This can be a challenging time for some people.
- CARE Principles for Indigenous Data GovernanceThe CARE Principles for Indigenous Data Governance are people and purpose-oriented, reflecting the crucial role of data in advancing Indigenous innovation and self-determination. These principles complement the existing FAIR principles encouraging open and other data movements to consider both people and purpose in their advocacy and pursuits.