Alberta Assessment Consortium
- Alberta Assessment Consortium
Includes authentic performance assessments, rubric materials, scaffolding materials, and sefl-directed PD resources.
- Click on 'Login' in the upper right hand corner
- First time users, must select the 'Create Account' link option and use a @ualberta.ca email address to create an account.
Test Materials
The University of Alberta Library does not collect test materials. However, we do provide a number of bibliographic, index and review sources that provide access to and information about a great variety of educational, psychological, and business test instruments. The ETS test collection database may help identify and locate relevant tests.
Evaluation & Testing
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation
In an era of curricular changes and experiments and high-stakes testing, educational measurement and evaluation is more important than ever. In addition to expected entries covering the basics of traditional theories and methods, other entries discuss important sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice. Textbooks, handbooks, monographs and other publications focus on various aspects of educational research, measurement and evaluation, but to date, there exists no major reference guide for students new to the field. This comprehensive work fills that gap, covering traditional areas while pointing the way to future developments. Features: Nearly 700 signed entries are contained in an authoritative work spanning four volumes and available in choice of electronic and/or print formats. Although organized A-to-Z, front matter includes a Reader′s Guide grouping entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of education research, measurement, and evaluation to more easily locate directly related entries. (For instance, sample themes include Data, Evaluation, Measurement Concepts & Issues, Research, Sociopolitical Issues, Standards.) Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; and a detailed Index. Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross References to related entries. The Index, Reader′s Guide themes, and Cross References will combine to provide robust search-and-browse in the e-version.
ISBN: 9781506326153
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5-TR
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR) features the most current text updates based on scientific literature with contributions from more than 200 subject matter experts. The revised version includes a new diagnosis (prolonged grief disorder), clarifying modifications to the criteria sets for more than 70 disorders, addition of International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) symptom codes for suicidal behavior and nonsuicidal self-injury, and updates to descriptive text for most disorders based on extensive review of the literature. In addition, DSM-5-TR includes a comprehensive review of the impact of racism and discrimination on the diagnosis and manifestations of mental disorders. The manual will help clinicians and researchers define and classify mental disorders, which can improve diagnoses, treatment, and research.
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: RC 455.2 C4 A512 2013ISBN: 9780890425770
Encyclopedia of Evaluation
The Encyclopedia of Evaluation is an authoritative, first-of-its-kind who, what, where, why, and how of the field of evaluation. Covering professional practice as well as academia, this volume chronicles the development of the field--its history, key figures, theories, approaches, and goals. From the leading publisher in the field of evaluation, this work is a must-have for all social science libraries, departments that offer courses in evaluation, and students and professional evaluators around the world. The entries in this Encyclopedia capture the essence of evaluation as a practice (methods, techniques, roles, people), as a profession (professional obligations, shared knowledge, ethical imperatives, events, places) and as a discipline (theories and models of evaluation, ontological and epistemological issues).
Call Number: H 62 E529 2005ISBN: 9780761926092
Evaluation Essentials, Second Edition
Thoroughly revised and updated, this engaging text has given thousands of students and new evaluators the practical information and expert advice needed to conduct or use evaluations. In 26 concise sections, the book describes how to articulate answerable evaluation questions, collect and analyze data using both quantitative and qualitative methods, and deal with contingencies that might alter the traditional sequence of an evaluation. Special strengths of the text are its attention to individual, organizational, and community culture and emphasis on building collaborative relationships with stakeholders. An in-depth case study and related end-of-section exercises (including group activities) help students put themselves in the evaluator role. Other pedagogical features include section titles written as questions, bulleted recaps of each section, "Thinking Ahead" and "Next Steps" pointers, cautionary notes, and suggestions for further reading. New to This Edition *New and expanded topics: evaluation contracts, budgeting, surveys, data visualization, qualitative coding and memoing, factors affecting evaluation use, and context-sensitive evaluation. *Revised case study with extended exercises that guide the reader to complete a simulated evaluation. *End-of-section "Quick Read" links to recommended American Evaluation Association blog posts. *Four entirely new sections (such as "How Do You Strengthen Relationships with Stakeholders?" and "How Do We Plan a Process-Focused Evaluation Design?"), plus other changes and additions throughout.
ISBN: 9781462532438
Handbook of Test Development
The second edition of the Handbook of Test Development provides graduate students and professionals with an up-to-date, research-oriented guide to the latest developments in the field. Including thirty-two chapters by well-known scholars and practitioners, it is divided into five sections, covering the foundations of test development, content definition, item development, test design and form assembly, and the processes of test administration, documentation, and evaluation. Keenly aware of developments in the field since the publication of the first edition, including changes in technology, the evolution of psychometric theory, and the increased demands for effective tests via educational policy, the editors of this edition include new chapters on assessing noncognitive skills, measuring growth and learning progressions, automated item generation and test assembly, and computerized scoring of constructed responses. The volume also includes expanded coverage of performance testing, validity, fairness, and numerous other topics. Edited by Suzanne Lane, Mark R. Raymond, and Thomas M. Haladyna, The Handbook of Test Development, 2nd edition, is based on the revised Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing, and is appropriate for graduate courses and seminars that deal with test development and usage, professional testing services and credentialing agencies, state and local boards of education, and academic libraries serving these groups.
ISBN: 9780415626019
Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing by
These testing standards are a product of the American Educational Research Association, the American Psychological Association (APA), and the National Council on Measurement in Education (NCME). Published collectively by the three organizations since 1966, it represents the gold standard in guidance on testing in the United States and in many other countries. In the past 15 years, important developments have occurred in the field of testing, requiring significant revision. Five areas, in particular, receive attention in the 2014 revision: Examining the accountability issues for the uses of tests in educational policy. Broadening the concept of accessibility of tests for all examinees. Representing more comprehensively the role of tests in the workplace. Taking into account the expanding role of technology in testing. Improving the structure of the book for better communication of the standards. Among the problem areas addressed in this revision are the following: The chapters on assessment, program evaluation, and public policy have been rewritten to address the uses of tests for educational accountability purposes. A new chapter on fairness in testing has been added to emphasize accessibility and fairness as fundamental issues in testing. The topics formerly addressed in several chapters are now combined into a single, comprehensive chapter, more broadly cast to support appropriate testing and valid score interpretations for all examinees. Specific concerns about fairness are threaded throughout the book. The chapter on workplace testing and credentialling has been reorganized to clarify when a standard is relevant to employment or credentialling. The impact of technology has been considered throughout the volume. To improve readability, individual standards are now organized under themes, and each chapter in the Foundations section now has an overarching standard. While teams of experts collaborated in developing and crafting this updated edition, each of the three organizations assumed responsibility for reviewing the work to ensure quality standards that are robust and applicable across educational and psychological contexts in which tests are developed, administered, and used.
Call Number: LB 3051 A693 2014ISBN: 9780935302356
APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology by
This three-volume handbook is a comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education. It begins with an in-depth portrayal of psychometrics: the quantitative underpinning of testing. It then provides thorough, up-to-date and informative chapters related to five general application areas of testing: industrial/organizational psychology clinical psychology (including health psychology) counseling psychology school psychology educational testing In each of these five areas, this handbook is probably the most comprehensive review of the use of testing and assessment in the subfield.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: BF 176 A63 2013 v.1-3ISBN: 9781433812279Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Educational Assessment
Psychoeducational assessment and report writing, 2nd ed.
Summary:
The second edition of this textbook provides expanded and updated guidance on the process of psychoeducational assessment and report writing for children in grades K-12. It casts the entire process within a newly proposed evidence-based psychoeducational assessment and report writing framework, and explains how to convey results through detailed, well-written reports. The new edition guides readers, step by step, through the assessment process - collecting data, writing reports, and communicating conclusions - for students with conditions spanning the range of IDEA classifications. Chapters offer a broad understanding of assessment and communication skills as well as the ethical, legal, cultural, and professional considerations that come with psychoeducational evaluation. In addition, chapters significantly expand on the coverage of learning disabilities, autism spectrum, intellectual disabilities, gifted, and other health-impaired and emotional disturbance assessment. The text updates sample reports from the previous edition, offering annotated commentary in the report explaining salient points and major decisions, and incorporates additional report samples to demonstrate fully the assessment and report writing process. Key topics addressed in the revised and expanded edition include: Psychoeducational assessment and report writing in school and clinic settings. Interview formats from various perspectives, including caregivers/parents, teachers, and students. Assessment of culturally and linguistically diverse youth. Assessment of social, emotional, behavioral and mental health difficulties that may affect students educational functioning. Common academic difficulties, including reading, writing and mathematics. Common recommendations and accommodations for behavioral, social, emotional, and learning needs. Incorporation of response-to-intervention/curriculum based assessment data into the psychoeducational report. Psychoeducational Assessment and Report Wri ting, 2nd Edition, is an essential textbook for graduate students as well as researchers, professors, and professionals in child and school psychology, educational assessment, testing, and evaluation, social work, and related disciplines.
ISBN: 9783030446413
Clinician's Handbook of Child Behavioral Assessment
Given the vast amount of research related to behavioral assessment, it is difficult for clinicians to keep abreast of new developments. In recent years, there have been advances in assessment, case conceptualization, treatment planning, treatment strategies for specific disorders, and considerations of new ethical and legal issues. Keeping track of advances requires monitoring diverse resources limited to specific disorders, many of which give short shrift to child assessment, overlooking developmental considerations. Much of the existing literature is either theoretical/research in focus or clinical in nature. Nowhere are the various aspects of child behavioral assessment placed in a comprehensive research/clinical context, nor is there much integration as to conceptualization and treatment planning. The Clinician's Handbook of Child Behavioral Assessment was created to fill this gap, summarizing critical information for child behavioral assessment in a single source. The Clinician's Handbook of Child Behavioral Assessment provides a single source for understanding new developments in this field, cutting across strategies, techniques, and disorders. Assessment strategies are presented in context with the research behind those strategies, along with discussions of clinical utility, and how assessment and conceptualization fit in with treatment planning. The volume is organized in three sections, beginning with general issues, followed by evaluations of specific disorders and problems, and closing with special issues. To ensure cross chapter consistency in the coverage of disorders, these chapters are formatted to contain an introduction, assessment strategies, research basis, clinical utility, conceptualization and treatment planning, a case study, and summary. Special issue coverage includes child abuse assessment, classroom assessment, behavioral neuropsychology, academic skills problems, and ethical-legal issues. Suitable for beginning and established clinicians in practice, this handbook will provide a ready reference toward effective child behavioral assessment.
ISBN: 9780123430144
Assessment in Educational Therapy
Assessment in Educational Therapy offers essential grounding, skills, and ethical approaches for understanding and conducting assessments in the context of educational therapy. Six clear, straightforward chapters guide graduate students and trainees of the field to use scores, observation, and hypothesis testing to create strengths-based assessments and intervention strategies that can be delivered orally or in written reports. The book is the first to describe and critique all the standardized assessment instruments that qualified educational therapists can use to measure skills in reading, written expression, mathematics, and processing. Real-world case studies, practical takeaways of key concepts, resources for self-study, reflective questions, and other readers' tools enliven this comprehensive yet accessible reference.
ISBN: 9781000769913
SAGE Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment
The Sage Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment provides scholars, professors, graduate students, and other researchers and policy makers in the organizations, agencies, testing companies, and school districts with a comprehensive source of research on all aspects of K-12 classroom assessment. The handbook emphasizes theory, conceptual frameworks, and all varieties of research (quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods) to provide an in-depth understanding of the knowledge base in each area of classroom assessment and how to conduct inquiry in the area. It presents classroom assessment research to convey, in depth, the state of knowledge and understanding that is represented by the research, with particular emphasis on how classroom assessment practices affect student achievement and teacher behavior. Editor James H. McMillan and five Associate Editors bring the best thinking and analysis from leading classroom assessment researchers on the nature of the research, making significant contributions to this prominent and hotly debated topic in education.
ISBN: 9781412995870
Handbook of Nonverbal Assessment, 2nd edition
The goal of this Handbook is to describe the current assessment strategies and related best practices to professionals who serve individuals from diverse cultures or those who have difficulty using the English language. It will be a valuable resource for school psychologists, special educators, speech and hearing specialists, rehabilitation counselors, as well as graduate-level students of school psychology and child and family psychology.
ISBN: 9783319506043
Databases
Not sure which databases to use? Try these first for measurement and evaluation:
- PISA data/statisticsProgramme for International Student Assessment. Alberta participates under Canada. Full data sets and data explorer on this page.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) Provides access to information on measurement instruments in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.
- PsychiatryOnline Books and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, including the DSM-IV-TR Library, APA practice guidelines for the treatment of psychiatric disorders, and American Psychiatric Publishing textbook of clinical psychiatry.
- TMdbTests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window It covers the international literature in psychology. Topics include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, education psychology, experimental psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology, psychometrics, social psychology and sports psychology. Formats covered by this database are: journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and technical reports.
Ability Testing Reference
The Achievement Test Desk Reference
This reference links the practice of academic and learning disability (LD) assessment across a variety of practitioners, including educational evaluators, LD specialists, and speech/language pathologists, and places it in a validated theoretical framework. Focus is on the use of tests of academic ac
Call Number: LB 3060.3 A28 2002ISBN: 0205325475
Essentials of WIAT-III and KTEA-II Assessment
Quickly acquire the knowledge and skills you need to confidently administer, score, and interpret the WIAT-III and KTEA-II Essentials of WIAT-III and KTEA-II Assessment is the only resource providing practical, step-by-step instruction in the accurate and effective use of the Wechsler Individual Achievement Test, Third Edition (WIAT-III) and the Kaufman Test of Educational Achievement, Second Edition (KTEA-II), two popular measures of individual achievement frequently administered for educational planning, transitional programming for students with disabilities, and vocational guidance. Like all the volumes in the Essentials of Psychological Assessment series, this book is designed to help busy mental health practitioners, and those in training, quickly acquire the basic knowledge and skills they need to make optimal use of a major psychological assessment instrument. Each concise chapter features numerous callout boxes highlighting key concepts, bulleted points, and extensive illustrative material, as well as test questions that help you gauge and reinforce your grasp of the information covered. Offering up-to-date and rich information beyond what is available in the tests' manuals, Essentials of WIAT-III and KTEA-II Assessment includes case studies illustrating how to make optimal use of the tests. In addition, the book is packaged with an accompanying CD-ROM containing a program allowing users to enter KTEA-II data to obtain growth scores; useful files to assist users in the proper administration and scoring of the WIAT-III Written Expression subtests; and a cross-battery approach for both tests. Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.
ISBN: 9780470599983
Essentials of Cross-Battery Assessment
The most up-to-date resource of comprehensive information for conducting cross-battery assessments The Cross-Battery assessment approach--also referred to as the XBA approach--is a time-efficient assessment method grounded solidly in contemporary theory and research. The XBA approach systematically integrates data across cognitive, achievement, and neuropsychological batteries, enabling practitioners to expand their traditional assessments to more comprehensively address referral concerns. This approach also includes guidelines for identification of specific learning disabilities and assessment of cognitive strengths and weaknesses in individuals from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. Like all the volumes in the Essentials of Psychological Assessment series, Essentials of Cross-Battery Assessment, Third Edition is designed to help busy practitioners quickly acquire the knowledge and skills they need to make optimal use of psychological assessment instruments. Each concise chapter features numerous callout boxes highlighting key concepts, bulleted points, and extensive illustrative material, as well as test questions that help you to gauge and reinforce your grasp of the information covered. Essentials of Cross-Battery Assessment, Third Edition is updated to include the latest editions of cognitive ability test batteries , such as the WISC-IV, WAIS-IV, and WJ III COG, and special purpose cognitive tests including the WMS-IV and TOMAL-II. This book now also overs many neuropsychological batteries such as the NEPSY-II and D-KEFS and provides extensive coverage of achievement batteries and special purpose tests, including the WIAT-III, KM-3, WRMT-3 and TOWL-4. In all, this book includes over 100 psychological batteries and 750 subtests, all of which are classified according to CHC (and many according to neuropsychlogical theory. This useful guide includes a timesaving CD-ROM, Essential Tools for Cross-Battery Assessment (XBA) Applications and Interpretation, which allows users to enter data and review results and interpretive statements that may be included in psychological reports. Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.
ISBN: 9781118220764
Essentials of WAIS®-IV Assessment
Quickly acquire the knowledge and skills you need to confidently administer, score, and interpret the WAIS®-IV Coauthored by Alan S. Kaufman, who was mentored by David Wechsler--the creator of the Wechsler scales--Essentials of WAIS®-IV Assessment, Second Edition is thoroughly revised and updated to provide beginning and seasoned clinicians with comprehensive step-by-step guidelines for effective use of the WAIS®-IV. This invaluable guide provides clinicians with a brand new interpretive process, overhauling its system of profile interpretation to be equally powerful across the entire WAIS®-IV age range. Like all the volumes in the Essentials of Psychological Assessment series, this book is designed to help busy mental health professionals quickly acquire the basic knowledge and skills they need to make optimal use of a major psychological assessment instrument. Each concise chapter features numerous callout boxes highlighting key concepts, bulleted points, and extensive illustrative material, as well as test questions that help you gauge and reinforce your grasp of the information covered. The new edition explores timely topics including gender and ethnic differences, as well as the role of the Flynn Effect in capital punishment court cases. Along with an accompanying CD-ROM containing scoring tables and case report material, the Second Edition includes information and advice on how to administer Q-interactive(tm)--the new digital version of the test--for administration of the WAIS®-IV via iPad®. Other titles in the Essentials of Psychological Assessment series: Essentials of Assessment Report Writing Essentials of WISC®-IV Assessment, Second Edition Essentials of WMS®-IV Assessment Essentials of Cross-Battery Assessment, Third Edition Essentials of WJ III(tm) Tests of Achievement Assessment Essentials of WJ III(tm) Cognitive Abilities Assessment, Second Edition Essentials of Neuropsychological Assessment, Second Edition
ISBN: 9781118271889
WISC-IV Clinical Assessment and Intervention
The Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children: Fourth Edition (WISC-IV) is one of the most often used measures to assess intelligence and cognitive functions in children, ages 6-16 years. The second edition of the WISC-IV Clinical Assessment and Intervention will include new information obtained from the clinical use of the WISC-IV in practice. Information on the basic use of the assessment tool is condensed from three chapters into one, with four new chapters discussing how to use and interpret WISC-IV with additional clinical populations. These new populations include pervasive Developmental Disorders including autism, Social and emotional disorders, psychiatric disorders, and medical disorders that may affect intelligence. An additional new chapter discusses intervention planning across patient populations. Each of the chapters (revised original chapters and new chapters) will additionally include case studies including diagnosis and intervention. Overall, the material in the book is 65% changed, new, and updated. These changes make the second edition better able to meet a clinician's needs in using and interpreting this test.
ISBN: 9780123736260- Directory of Psychological Tests in the Sport and Exercise Sciences byCall Number: GV 436 D598 1996Publication Date: 1996
