Introduction to School Psychology: controversies and current practiceThe discipline of school psychology has been shaped over the course of its existence by a series of professional and scientific controversies, and by how researchers and practitioners have responded to those controversies. Should there be an entry-level degree requirement for schoolpsychologists? What should a school psychologist's role be with regard to student mental health? Should school psychologists work outside of school settings?Designed for students entering school psychology training programs, Introduction to School Psychology: Controversies and Current Practice examines the debates that have influenced the nature and scope of the profession, and that continue to do so today. This edited textbook is divided into fivesections, the first of which describes current practices. The second offers coverage of ethics and relevant legal concerns for school psychologists; cultural competence; and consultation. The third section provides readers with the theoretical foundations of practice and includes a brief chapter ontheoretical orientations. The fourth and largest section of the book examines the controversies that shape practice, presenting chapters on idiographic and nomothetic approaches; diagnostic frameworks; assessment and treatment of behavioral disorders; and much more. The final section of the bookfocuses on contexts and the future of the profession, with chapters on practice in urban and rural communities, technology, and the Futures Conferences.
Encyclopedia of Educational PsychologyThe field of educational psychology draws from a variety of diverse disciplines including human development across the life span, measurement and statistics, learning and motivation, and teaching. And within these different disciplines, many other fields are featured including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counseling, history, and philosophy. In fact, when taught at the college or university level, educational psychology is an ambitious course that undertakes the presentation of many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an "educational" setting, loosely defined as anything from pre-school through adult education. Educational psychology can be defined as the application of what we know about learning and motivation, development, and measurement and statistics to educational settings (both school- and community-based).
Educational PsychologyEducational Psychology, Second Edition offers a comprehensive overview of how key advances in social, developmental and cognitive psychology impact upon the role of educational psychologists working today. Written by leading researchers, the book also explores controversies and dilemmas in both research and practice, providing students with a balanced and cutting-edge introduction to both the field and the profession. Fully revised throughout, the new edition is written to encourage students to integrate their understanding of core psychological disciplines, as well as to consider what 'evidence-based practice' really means. Organized into two broad sections related to learning and behaviour, the book features a selection of vignettes from educational psychologists working in a range of contexts, as well as tasks and scenarios to support a problem-orientated approach to study. By integrating both research and everyday practice, the book is unique in engaging a critical appreciation of both the possibilities and limitations of educational psychology. It is the ideal book for any student wishing to engage with this important and evolving field of study.
Analyzing Paradigms Used in Education and Educational PsychologyIn education, there is an aim to construct an authentic framework of educational paradigms in order to provide a sharing knowledge system as a result of re-examining contemporary trends, educational currents, case studies from the classrooms, and educational psychology directions. It is an intellectual need of meta-comprehension and new educational approaches based on educational psychology outcomes. Analyzing Paradigms Used in Education and Educational Psychology is a critical scholarly book that discusses sophisticated paradigms from academic narratives and educational realities. Featuring a range of topics such as classroom management, lifelong education, and theology, this book is essential for researchers, teachers, educational psychologists, education professionals, administrators, academicians, practitioners, and students.
The International Handbook of Consultation in Educational SettingsThe rapid changes in the composition of school-age youth around the world have catalyzed a growing concern about how to address children's mental health and education. Grounded in this increasingly global perspective, The International Handbook of Consultation in Educational Settings is designed to provide a multicultural/transnational approach to consultation theory, research, training, and practice in educational settings. With chapters written by geographically diverse and prominent scholars across the field of school psychology, this handbook captures the range of ways in which consultation services are trained, implemented, and researched internationally. Written for practitioners, researchers, faculty members, and graduate students in the fields of school psychology, school counseling, special education, and educational psychology, this volume is the first of its kind to provide a comprehensive look at consultation in learning environments across the world. The International Handbook of Consultation in Educational Settings offers various perspectives on models, implementation, training, and research on school consultation. After an introduction to the volume by the editors, contributors to Part II examine school-based consultation around the world to explore how consultation services are implemented in different countries. Part III addresses cross-cultural issues in consultation, particularly at a systems level. Part IV presents themes related to processes and issues in the implementation of consultation by focusing on approaches in various countries. The chapters in Part V focus on consultation training, offering insights into the development of students and professionals into effective consultants in cross-cultural and systemic contexts. Part VI describes how practitioners can contribute to the body of research on consultation through careful planning and implementation of their work. Finally, the editors summarize key concepts and findings in a concluding chapter.
The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference"This book contains much useful information, including professional practice, ethics, cultural considerations, assessment, and intervention. This will be a wonderful addition to the libraries of students and professionals alike... Score: 97 - 5 Stars " --Gary B. Kaniuk, PsyD, Cermak Health Services, Doody's Reviews Praise for the first edition "Marini and Stebnicki have compiled an extremely useful and practical counseling resource covering a variety of topics... U]ndergraduates, graduate students, and new counselors will find this a valuable tool...This unique volume is a great addition for college and university libraries...Highly recommended...." --Choice (Named an Outstanding Academic Title for 2009) This award-winning, bestselling reference for professional counselors and graduate students is extensively updated and expanded to encompass critical developments that are immediately relevant to the counseling professions, including the 2014 American Counseling Association Code of Ethics, CACREP/CORE accreditation standards, the updated DSM-5, the Affordable Care Act, and many other important changes. It reflects the ongoing consolidation of a strong identity for professional counselors and the need to address mental health and other counseling concerns amid marked sociocultural changes. The only resource of its kind, it is an extremely useful guide for counseling students working toward licensure and certification as well as experienced counselors, counselor educators, clinical supervisors, psychologists, and social workers. The second edition offers a unique interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines and features contributions from over 110 highly regarded experts in counselor education, research, and practice. It is based on the core content and knowledge areas outlined by CACREP and CORE accreditation standards and disseminates, in 93 chapters, both contemporary insight and practical strategies for working with the complexity of real-life issues related to assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of diverse clients. New chapters address military and veteran health issues; evidence-based practice for training; counseling transgender individuals, partners, and families; counseling caregivers; social justice; and much more. In addition to being a quick-access resource for all counseling professionals, the second edition serves as a concise, accessible reference for graduate students preparing for certification and licensure exams. It features an expanded, comprehensive self-exam of 340 multiple-choice items based on the CACREP/CORE foundational content and knowledge areas for counselor education and training. New to the Second Edition: Updated and expanded discussion of ethical issues, including the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics Affordable Care Act and its impact on delivery of mental health services Coverage of DSM-5 Promotes an interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines Includes an expanded self-exam with 340 study questions for National Counselor Examination for Licensure and Certification (NCE) and Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE) prep New chapters on military and veteran mental health issues New chapters on evidence-based practices for counseling, social justice, and behavioral health and health disparities in the United States New chapters on counseling caregivers, children with psychiatric conditions, and survivors of natural disasters New chapter on counseling for wellness New information on complementary, alternative, and integrative approaches New information on counseling LGBTQ couples, partners, and families Key Features: Covers all key foundational content for CACREP/CORE-accredited programs within one volume
Handbook of Social Influences in School ContextsThe Handbook of Social Influences in School Contexts draws from a growing body of research on how and why various aspects of social relationships and contexts contribute to children's social and academic functioning within school settings. Comprised of the latest studies in developmental and educational psychology, this comprehensive volume is perfect for researchers and students of Educational Psychology. Beginning with the theoretical perspectives that guide research on social influences, this book presents foundational research before moving on to chapters on peer influence and teacher influence. Next, the book addresses ways in which the school context can influence school-related outcomes (including peer and teacher-student relationships) with specific attention to research in motivation and cognition. Within the chapters authors not only present current research but also explore best-practices, drawing in examples from the classroom. With chapters from leading experts in the field, The Handbook of Social Influences in School Contexts provides the first complete resource on this topic.
APA Handbook of Contemporary Family PsychologyContains: Volume 1. Foundations, methods, and contemporary issues across the lifespan -- Volume 2. Applications and broad impact of family psychology -- Volume 3. Family therapy and training
Research and Evaluation in Education and PsychologyUpdated to align with the American Psychological Association and the National Council of Accreditation of Teacher Education accreditation requirements.Focused on increasing the credibility of research and evaluation, the Fifth Edition of Research and Evaluation in Education and Psychology: Integrating Diversity with Quantitative, Qualitative, and Mixed Methods incorporates the viewpoints of various research paradigms into its descriptions of these methods. Students will learn to identify, evaluate, and practice good research, with special emphasis on conducting research in culturally complex communities, based on the perspectives of women, LGBTQ communities, ethnic/racial minorities, and people with disabilities. In each chapter, Dr. Donna M. Mertens carefully explains a step of the research process--from the literature review to analysis and reporting--and includes a sample study and abstract to illustrate the concepts discussed.The new edition includes over 30 new research studies and contemporary examples to demonstrate research methods including: Black girls and school discipline: The complexities of being overrepresented and understudied (Annamma, S.A., Anyon, Y., Joseph, N.M., Farrar, J., Greer, E., Downing, B., & Simmons, J.) Learning Cooperatively under Challenging Circumstances: Cooperation among Students in High-Risk Contexts in El Salvador (Christine Schmalenbach) Replicated Evidence of Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Disability Identification in U.S. Schools (Morgan, et. al.) Relation of white-matter microstructure to reading ability and disability in beginning readers (Christodoulu, et. al.) Arts and mixed methods research: an innovative methodological merger (Archibald, M.M. & Gerber, N.)
Call Number: LB 1028 M3964 2020
The Routledge Handbook for Advancing Integration in Mixed Methods ResearchThis groundbreaking edited book, The Routledge Handbook for Advancing Integration in Mixed Methods Research, presents an array of different integration ideas, with contributions from scholars across the globe. This handbook represents the first major volume that comprehensively discusses this topic of integration. Perhaps the most fundamental and longstanding question in mixed methods research is: How does one best integrate disparate forms of information to produce the best form of inquiry? Each of the 34 seminal chapters in this handbook accelerates the discussion of integration across a broad range of disciplines, including education, arts-based analyses, and work in the Global South, as well as special topics such as psychometrics and media research. Many of the chapters present new topics that have never been written about before, and all chapters offer cutting-edge approaches to integration. They also offer different perspectives of integration - leading the introductory chapter to offer a new and comprehensive definition for integration, as follows: "referring to the optimal mixing, combining, blending, amalgamating, incorporating, joining, linking, merging, consolidating, or unifying of research approaches, methodologies, philosophies, methods, techniques, concepts, language, modes, disciplines, fields, and/or teams within a single study." The concluding chapter offers a meta-framework that accounts for this definition and is designed to help scholars think more about integration in a way that represents a continuous, dynamic, iterative, interactive, synergistic, and holistic meaning-making process. This handbook will be an essential reference work for all scholars and practitioners using or seeking to use mixed methods in their research.
These databases will get you started to find articles in Educational Psychology. Need more help? Contact us!
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowAlso known as APA PsycInfo. It covers the international literature in psychology. Topics include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, education psychology, experimental psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology, psychometrics, social psychology and sports psychology. Formats covered by this database are: journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and technical reports.
Also known as APA PsycArticles. Provides access to the fulltext of journals published by the American Psychological Association.
ERIC (via EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowERIC (1966 to the present) covers all aspects of education, from preschool to post-secondary and adult education, and all topics within the broad discipline.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)This link opens in a new windowAlso known as: |International Bibliography of the Social Sciences| This database includes bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. There is broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
Dissertations and Theses GlobalThis link opens in a new windowAlso known as:|Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global|. Includes contributions from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities. Coverage begins with the first U.S. dissertation accepted in 1861. UofA theses and dissertations are included from 1954 through 2014, with full text available for many, but not all, titles. NOTE: UofA no longer contributes content to this database. See also: Electronic Theses and Dissertations (University of Alberta).
SAGE Research MethodsThis link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods is a web-based research methods tool that covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up research. Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, and is of potential use to researchers from the social sciences, health sciences and other research areas.
LearnTechLib: The Learning and Technology LibraryThis link opens in a new windowAlso known as: |EdITLib Digital Library for Information Technology and Education|AACE (Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education) Digital Library|Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education Digital Library| Includes fulltext of journals and conference proceedings published by the AACE (Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education).