Soil and Environmental Science DictionaryThe lingo of soil science is a language unto itself. Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary is a glossary of terms used in soil and environmental science, including terms from related disciplines. Designed for teachers, students, researchers and others interested or involved in environmental sciences related to soils, this compilation includes all terms and definitions from the current Canadian Society of Soil Science (CSSS) glossary as well as from various other sources such as the Soil Science Society of America and the Soil and Water Conservation Society. Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary defines terms accurately and clearly for professionals working in areas such as agronomy, building construction, civil engineering, forestry, environmental science and planning, geology, hydrology, petrology, and plant science.
Provides guidelines to promote the development and implementation of consistent methods and standards for conducting soil and land resource surveys in Australia.
Handbook of Soil AnalysisThis handbook is a reference guide for selecting and carrying out numerous methods of soil analysis. It is written in accordance with analytical standards and quality control approaches. It covers a large body of technical information including protocols, tables, formulae, spectrum models, chromatograms and additional analytical diagrams. The approaches are diverse, from the simplest tests to the most sophisticated determination methods.
Environment CompleteCovers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Contains records from domestic and international journals going back to the 1950s as well as from selected monographs. Features an in-depth thesaurus, and author profiles. Also includes full text from a number of publications.
CAB AbstractsAlso known as: |CABI CAB Abstracts (1910 to the present) includes international coverage of all aspects of agriculture, horticulture, animal production and forestry including: crop production, plant protection and breeding; forestry and forest products; soil science, land use and water management; animal husbandry, health, breeding, nutrition and parasitology; dairy science and technology, agricultural engineering; economics; rural development, sociology and education; leisure, recreation and tourism.
GeoRefGeoRef (1785 to the present) includes international coverage of the
earth sciences and all aspects of geology and geophysics including archaeology,
fossils, economics, education, engineering and environmental geology,
expeditions, instruments, land use, landfills, soils, geologic hazards
(avalanches, hurricanes, sunsorts, volcanoes, etc.), maps, magnetic fields, and
medical and military geology.
Canadian NewsstreamIndexes and provides fulltext access to major Canadian newspapers. Full text is available for the articles and transcripts but graphical material (photos, illustrations, graphs, etc.) is excluded. Classified ads, advertisements, and stock market reports are also excluded.
Reference Module in Earth Systems & Environmental Science includes the contents of the following major reference works from Elsevier:
|Treatise on Water Science|
|Encyclopedia of Energy|
|Encyclopedia of Geology|
|Comprehensive Renewable Energy|
|Encyclopedia of Environmental Health|
|Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology|
|Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science| (Second Edition)
|Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment|
|Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science|
|Treatise on Geomorphology|
|Treatise on Geophysics|
|Encyclopedia of Ecology|
|Encyclopedia of Energy, Natural Resource, and Environmental Economics|
|Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences| (Second Edition)
|Encyclopedia of Inland Waters|
|Treatise on Geochemistry| (Second Edition)
|Comprehensive Water Quality and Purification|
Encyclopedia of Soil ScienceSoil as the basis of civilization, is the most important resource of the solid earth that we use. It is the source of most of our food and fiber, much of our building materials, and the repository of most of our wastes. Over the last 10,000 years we have learned to manipulate it for our purposes to such a degree that our ecological footprint has notably modified about two thirds of the soils of the Earth. At the beginning of the 21st century, with the issue of the sustainability of human society, it has never been more important for there to be a global understanding of the soil and its processes amongst the educated public in general, and the scientist and technologist in particular. The Encyclopedia of Soil Science brings together approximately 190 longer articles, together with some 350 definitions of common terms used in soil science. In effect, it is a combination of an encyclopedia and glossary of terms. Furthermore, the book emphasizes the study of soils as an integral part of the earth sciences, and it does this without ignoring the agricultural, environmental and technological aspects of the subject. Individual soil types are keyed to the World Resource Base (WRB) Classification with concordance to soil taxonomy, in order to meet the needs of an international audience. Appropriately an international roster of authors, from North and South America, from Europe, Africa, Asia and Australasia, has been assembled, and the soils and soil landscapes of all continents are considered.
Encyclopedia of Soils in the EnvironmentMore than ever before, a compelling need exists for an encyclopedic resource about soil - the rich mix of mineral particles, organic matter, gases, and soluble compounds that foster both plant and animal growth. Civilization depends more on the soil as human populations continue to grow and increasing demands are placed upon available resources. The Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment is a comprehensive and integrated consideration of a topic of vital importance to human societies in the past, present, and future. This important work encompasses the present knowledge of the world's variegated soils, their origins, properties, classification, and roles in the biosphere. A team of outstanding, international contributors has written over 250 entries that cover a broad range of issues facing today's soil scientists, ecologists, and environmental scientists. This four-volume set features thorough articles that survey specific aspects of soil biology, ecology, chemistry and physics. Rounding out the encyclopedia's excellent coverage, contributions cover cross-disciplinary subjects, such as the history of soil utilization for agricultural and engineering purposes and soils in relation to the remediation of pollution and the mitigation of global climate change. This comprehensive, yet accessible source is a valuable addition to the library of scientists, researchers, students, and policy makers involved in soil science, ecology, and environmental science. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. * A distinguished international group of editors and contributors * Well-organized encyclopedic format providing concise, readable entries, easy searches, and thorough cross-references * Abundant visual resources -- photographs, figures, tables, and graphs -- in every entry * Complete up-to-date coverage of many important topics -- essential information for scientists, students and professionals alike
Encyclopedia of AgrophysicsThis Encyclopedia of Agrophysics will provide up-to-date information on the physical properties and processes affecting the quality of the environment and plant production. It will be a "first-up" volume which will nicely complement the recently published Encyclopedia of Soil Science, (November 2007) which was published in the same series. In a single authoritative volume a collection of about 250 informative articles and ca 400 glossary terms covering all aspects of agrophysics will be presented. The authors will be renowned specialists in various aspects in agrophysics from a wide variety of countries. Agrophysics is important both for research and practical use not only in agriculture, but also in areas like environmental science, land reclamation, food processing etc. Agrophysics is a relatively new interdisciplinary field closely related to Agrochemistry, Agrobiology, Agroclimatology and Agroecology. Nowadays it has been fully accepted as an agricultural and environmental discipline. As such this Encyclopedia volume will be an indispensable working tool for scientists and practitioners from different disciplines, like agriculture, soil science, geosciences, environmental science, geography, and engineering.