Understanding and Avoiding Plagiarism
Plagiarism is when you use someone else's words, ideas, images, or data in your own work without citing them. To avoid plagiarism, keep track of the information you find and include citations to it in your work. The Citation and Reference Management Guide includes resources for citing information sources in different styles.
- plagiarism.orgMore information on plagiarism from plagiarism.org
Selected eBooks
Writing for Science and Engineering by
Learning how to write clearly and concisely is an integral part of furthering your research career; however, doing so is not always easy. In this second edition, fully updated and revised, Dr. Silyn-Roberts explains in plain English the steps to writing abstracts, theses, journal papers, funding bids, literature reviews, and more. The book also examines preparing seminar and conference presentations. Written in a practical and easy to follow style specifically for postgraduate students in Engineering and Sciences, this book is essential in learning how to create powerful documents. Writing for Science and Engineering will prove invaluable in all areas of research and writing due its clear, concise style. The practical advice contained within the pages alongside numerous examples to aid learning will make the preparation of documentation much easier for all students. Written in modular format, so you only need to access the relevant chapter Covers a wide range of document and presentation types Includes easy-to-understand rules to improve writing
Publication Date: 2012
Citation Management Software
Use citation management software to organize, manage and share your references. Citation management software can also generate your bibliography and help you cite as you write.
- ZoteroA free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, store and share all types of references, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
- MendeleyA free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, store and share all types of references, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
- EndNoteThis online version available through Web of Science does not provide all of the features available in the complete (paid) desktop version of EndNote.
Journal Rankings
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR)View journal rankings, impact factors and other metrics of over 11,000 journals. Search by title or subject category.
Measuring Impact
Research Impact
Visit the U of A Libraries Impact page for detailed information on measuring research impact
Author Citation Analysis
Author metrics analysis can be performed in the following databases:
- Web of Science Core CollectionThe original and most comprehensive databases for cited author searching and analysis
Data Management
- Research Data ManagementTools and services from the U of A Libraries to help you organize, share, archive and access research data
- DMP AssistantThe Portage DMP Assistant help researchers create data management plans (DMPs), walking researchers step-by-step through key questions about data management
