Subject Guides: Augustana Plan for the Integration of Information Literacy (APIIL): Searching as Strategic Exploration

Searching as Strategic Exploration

The resources below relate to the Searching as Strategic Exploration frame of the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. Learning outcomes include, but are not limited to:

Identify broader, narrower, and related terms for key concepts in order to find relevant information on a research topic.
Use basic search strategies including Boolean operators, truncation, and phrase searching in order to find sources efficiently and effectively.
Identify the most relevant databases and search engines in order to research a given topic.
Use database features (e.g., controlled vocabulary, limiters) in order to perform effective searches.
Perform research in subject-specific databases, taking advantage of advanced search functions and limiters, in order to perform thorough searches.

Videos and Tutorials | Instruction and Activities | Assignments

Videos and Tutorials

Introductory

Research 101: Searching is Strategic
Explains how to begin researching a topic, including identifying key terms and revising an initial search.
→ Time: 3 mins

Instruction and Activities

Introductory

Identifying Keywords
Students learn to identify key terms for their research topic and research their topic using a library database.
→ Time: 40 mins
→ Computers: Required
Keywording
Students learn to identify key terms for an example research topic and then develop key terms for their own topics. They also learn introductory database search techiques.
→ Time: 50 mins
→ Computers: Required
Mind Mapping Search Terms
Students learn to create a mind/concept map for their research topic, which helps them to identify key terms for searching.
→ Time: 30 mins
→ Computers: Optional
Describing a Research Topic
Students work in pairs and describe their research topics to each other while their partner writes down key terms. The activity helps students to collaboratively identify the key concepts and terms in their topics.
→ Time: 20 mins
→ Computers: Not required
Pass the Problem
Students complete a collaborative activity in which they identify key terms and relevant databases for a topic and then try researching the topic.
→ Time: 30 mins
→ Computers: Required
Strategic Searching Spreadsheet
Students use a shared spreadsheet to record information about their research strategy. The contents of the spreadsheet are used to initiate a conversation about the search process.
→ Time: 30 mins
→ Computers: Required
Search Strings
Students learn how to combine search terms and use search operators, and they practice creating search phrases and researching their topic. They then complete a worksheet in which they make revisions to example search strings.
→ Time: 45 mins
→ Computers: Required
Creating Search Queries
Students learn how to combine search terms and use search operators by completing a worksheet in which they create as many search strings as they can for example topics. They then practice searching using their own topics.
→ Time: 45 mins
→ Computers: Required
Improving a "Bad" search
Students will learn about quality of a strong search and will improve a provided poor-quality search in a library database in order to find a relevant article.
→ Time: 40 mins
→ Computers: Required
Systems of Organization
Students work in groups to create an organization system for provided shapes. The instructor will use this activity to teach the concepts of metadata and controlled vocabulary, and students will practice searching using controlled vocabulary.
→ Time: 50 mins
→ Computers: Required

Intermediate

Pause for a Station Break: Applying Constructivist Theory to Strategic Exploration
Students visit four "learning stations" to explore search strategies for their research topics.
→ Time: 60 mins
→ Computers: Not required
Database "Speed Dating"
Students will learn about multiple databases using a "speed dating" format, where each student learns about one database and then describes it to their classmates. They then research their topics using the databases.
→ Time: 45 mins
→ Computers: Required
What You Know, What You Want to Learn, and How to Find It
Students complete a worksheet that helps them to reflect on their current knowledge, the focus of their research, and what kind of strategies they might use to find information.
→ Time: 20 mins
→ Computers: Not required
Strategic Searching in a Library Database
Students learn to search a database and use features specific to that database. They complete a worksheet that helps them explore their topic in a sophisticated and strategic way.
→ Time: 60 mins
→ Computers: Required
Database Exploration with Google Docs
In this activity, students work in small groups to explore specific databases, identify useful features, and find relevant sources. Groups create a shared document of database searches and features that the entire class will be able to use as a reference for future research.
→ Time: 45 mins
→ Computers: Required
Library Database vs. Google Scholar
Students will research their topics in a library database and in Google Scholar and will compare and reflect on their strategies and results in each.
→ Time: 45 minutes
→ Computers: Required
Locating Academic Sources
Students work in small groups to identify and locate original research studies being reported on in various popular media sources. Students learn how to recognize the information needed to track down the original source and some of the issues related to media coverage of research studies.
→ Time: 40 mins
→ Computers: Required
Metacognitive Search Strategies
Students think metacognitively as they search to determine good strategies for navigating the search process. They contribute to a collective Search Tips sheet that the whole class can use as a resource.
→ Time: 60-75 mins
→ Computers: Required

Advanced

Literature Review Analysis and Research
Students learn to compose a literature review by examining a published article and by performing advanced searches in subject-specific databases.
→ Time: 45-60 mins
→ Computers: Optional

Assignments

Introductory

Strategic Searching
Students identify key terms in their research topic and then research their topic using two different databases. They compare the results that they get in each database.
Finding Background Information: Wikipedia and the Library
Students use Wikipedia to find scholarly articles and then use library resources to find academic background information. They revise their topics based on what they learn.

Intermediate

Annotated Bibliography Using Different Source Types
Students create an annotated bibliography that uses specific types of sources (e.g., reference book entry, scholarly source, popular source). Each annotation addresses specific questions that help contextualize the source. The assignment has multiple versions to be used for various disciplines (interdisciplinary, fine arts, humanities, social sciences, social sciences).
Subject Headings vs. Keywords
Students perform a keyword search for their topic using a library database and answer questions about their search and results. They then use subject terms to search the same database and compare the results. They answer questions about the difference between keyword and subject searching.
Finding Background Information: Wikipedia and the Library
Students use Wikipedia to find scholarly articles and then use library resources to find academic background information. They revise their topics based on what they learn.

Advanced

Updating a Literature Review
Students find an outdated literature review and perform research in order to update the review.