Subject Guides: History: History of Medicine

Key Journals

Images from the History of Medicine
U.S. National Library of Medicine. Over 70,000 images including portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.
Historical Images in Medicine
Duke University. Over 3,000 photographs, illustrations, engravings, and bookplates from the history of the health and life sciences.
Wellcome Images
Wellcome Trust, U.K. Images with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.

History of Science, Technology & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life provides abstracts covering all aspects of the history of Canada and the United States from prehistorical times to the present. Coverage is very broad and takes in many areas including: popular culture, anthropology, folklore, sociology, cultural studies, business, the arts, law, education and genealogy. Published since 1964.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage is very broad and takes in many areas including: religion, anthropology, sociology, cultural studies, political science, the arts, law, education and geneology. Published since 1954.

IndexCat
Index-Catalogue, Library of the Surgeon-General's Office 1880-1961. Can be a useful way of identifying primary sources but no full text or locating/library holdings information included.

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as: |Men's Studies|Women's Studies International| Combines NISC's Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Also includes relevant contributions from NISC's Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases.
PubMed (with links to UofA e-journals) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Same content as Medline above, but searching Pubmed is freely available to all. To limit your PubMed search to History of Medicine citations you can add the words "and history[filter]" to any search. E.g. tuberculosis and Canad* and history[filter]

Alberta Medical History Collection
This site includes photographs, journals and books, web links, medical milestones, as well as profiles of important medical figures in Alberta's history.
Medical Heritage Library
Digitized rare medical books from some of the world's leading medical libraries. Now includes digitized reports from the National Institutes of Health Library.
Early Canadiana Online
This virtual library holds the most complete set of full-text historical content about Canada, including books, magazines and government documents.
Medicine in the Americas
U.S. National Library of Medicine digital library project that makes freely available original works demonstrating the evolution of American medicine from colonial frontier outposts of the 17th century to research hospitals of the 20th century.

Medical Services and Warfare This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.
Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century through material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Collection includes rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera.

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Sperber Library
1-120 Edmonton Clinic Health Academy (ECHA)
11405 87 Avenue NW
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 1C9